We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willows Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lummi Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Willows Inn
Save
You added Willows Inn to your Saves list
2579 West Shore Drive, Lummi Island, WA 98262   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Lummi Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2006

A great getaway on an easy to access island. Great view north in the San Juans, great food, good accomodations, and nice staff. Had a peaceful time there during a winter stay.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    38
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
10
108
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2006

Has it all. Exquisitely prepared breakfasts and meticulous attention to all the comforts in the rooms. All this and a gourmet restaurant as well, just a 10-minute ferry ride from the real world. This was my second stay at the Willows and I hope to have many more.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2006

We stayed at the Willows for New Year's Eve. What attracted us initially was the location - a small island off the coast of Washington near Bellingham - and the reviews of close friends. I looked into the bed and breakfast and was thrilled to find out that Riley and Judy, the owners, were part of the Slow Food Movement, and dedicated to sustainability. The service at the Willows Inn was amazing. Our food was delicious. Our room was located behind the kitchen, which I initially thought to be a bother, but Judy invited us to enter and exit through the kitchen at any time, breaking the barriers between staff and guests. Our experience there was refreshing, new, serene amidst the beach and adjacent islands, and peaceful. I was amazed to feel we had been there for a couple days after only staying a mere 8 hours. Our next trip will surely last longer. Thank you Riley and Judy for your hospitality, earth friendly, conscious way of being. See their website at: ----

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Wa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2006

If there were a Slow Food Travel guide, this place would certainly be included in it. My partner and I had the good fortune to stay there when the orcas were migrating past. We stood mouths agape as a pod of 20 or more whales paraded past us as we sipped wine from the Willows deck. I'll never forget it, nor will I forget the food we had. The salmon was caught by the owner near the Inn. And breakfast was 5 star as well, with organic eggs gathered that morning.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2006

The Willows Inn was one of the best hotel experiences my boyfriend and I have had. Being students, it's often very difficult to find even a comfortable hotel at our budget, let alone a place that offers an in room fireplace and a delicious breakfast. Though not suprised at the amazing service (and great food!) at the Willows Inn, the price was more than affordable. I would recommend the Willows Inn to anyone traveling in the Northwest (or even elsewhere in the States-- it's worth the trip!).

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lummi Island, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2005

We stayed for a night out about a year ago at the Willows Inn. As a picky eater I am always worried about the food at small Bed and Breakfasts or Inn's. I was pleasantly suprized at how great the food was at the Willows Inn. The setting is very calming and serene then comes Sunday dinner with some very nice wine and I am sold. The service is how I remember it used to be in that it was unobtrusive but available. I send clients and relatives there every chance I get now.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lummi Island
19.4 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
9.8 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#5 of 26 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
#13 of 26 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
19.4 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#10 of 26 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willows Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willows Inn

Address: 2579 West Shore Drive, Lummi Island, WA 98262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Lummi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lummi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willows Inn on Lummi Island has become the Northwest's premiere destination for authentic farm to table dining. Come in and experience the culinary magic of our chef, Blaine Wetzel, and find out what eating from your landscape is all about. Savor wines from our extensive selection. Enjoy our elegantly comfortable accommodations. Drink in the views, watch whales, or relax with a cocktail by a blazing fire. Unplug, recharge and experience the Willows Inn--an authentic and affordable San Juan Islands adventure! Offering romantic beachside lodge rooms, cottage, and guest house accommodations and marine experiences. Organic food from Loganita Farm. A car ferry departs at least hourly for the five minute crossing to this scenic island retreat. Less than two hours from Seattle or Vancouver, BC. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Willows Hotel Lummi Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willows Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.