We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED IT!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willows Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lummi Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Willows Inn
Save Saved
You added Willows Inn to your Saves list
2579 West Shore Drive, Lummi Island, WA 98262   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Lummi Island B&B and Inns
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“LOVED IT!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

I loved the Willows Inn!! We stayed in the Sunset Room and enjoyed the view of the water from the window. The room is small and somewhat rustic, however, it is quaint and very clean. It is the vibe at the Inn that is most memorable. From the organic farm that supports their restaurant, to the fresh, healthy, organic breakfasts, accommodating staff, and water views - there is not much more you could ask for. If you stay at the Inn, definitely make dinner reservations at least one night. It is the best dinner I have ever eaten. Most (if not all) of the food comes from their garden and from local farmers and is carefully prepared in a way that compliments the fresh flavors of each ingredient.

Lummi Island is a hidden gem in the San Juan Islands - not touristy, just a quiet place where locals visit. Lummi Island and the Willows Inn are the perfect combination!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    32
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
7
99
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

A great getaway. We rented out the whole place for a 25-person spring wedding, and were extremely happy with everything about Willows. Lummi is a quiet island -- not a lot going on... but if you want to escape the paparazzi this is a perfect spot: it is a very attractive and well run little inn that never feels stuffy or formal. The views are great, the rooms have a variety of sizes and styles, some are perfect for larger families or groups of couples, all are comfortable and worth staying in. on my first visit i was a little annoyed that it is five steps from the road, but after a few hours i realized about two slow cars go by every hour, so it may as well be a sidewalk. The owner-operators were fantastic to work with. The dining room is beautiful (as is the porch), and, then, there is the food: it is simply spectacularly fresh and tasty and well prepared, without being showy. The little bar in the garden basement is comfy and serves good beer and food, too. A really great spot, a bit off the beaten path, but very well worth it if you want some peace and quiet and some of the best dinners in the northwest.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

We skiied Mt. Baker and then took the ferry to Lummi Island and the Willows Inn gave us spectacular vistas of Rosario Strait.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

We went to the Willows for the third time this weekend for a labor day away, leaving our one-year-old with grandma. Maybe not so imaginative, but at least we knew we'd have a relaxing time and eat very well. Both occurred. Weather was cool and sunny, which was OK for the bike ride we made to Bellingham for the day via the ferry. Saturday dinner is fine dining, while Sunday is more on the appetizer end of things (which is fine by us since two nights of bloating would have left us feeling a little guilty). Breakfast and all the food is of the highest quality. We didn't see Orcas this time around, but we did on our first visit. The rooms are fairly simple, but not overpriced. Best of all is the view from the deck on a warm summer night looking at the view north to Sucia Island if I'm not mistaken. We picked some pounds of blackberries from the side of the road to take home a taste of Lummi to our son and wrap up the weekend. I'm sure we'll be back again.

  • Liked — Food, views
  • Disliked — Rooms are on the smallish side
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

We have stayed and enjoyed incredible dinners at The Willows Inn many times and we have experienced exceptional service with the B&B team and the new Luxury Vacation Home rentals they are now offering. The Willows Inn excels in sharing with you the best of local seafood, farm fresh organic foods, and a wine list that is the best north of Seattle! This is a perfect environment for those who love the Slow Food movement and care about eco-tourism. My husband and I have also savored elaborate meals and meeting new friends at the Willows Inn - Chef Wine Dinners. Be sure to call ahead for wine dinner dates and review their web site for the latest menu offerings and exciting new waterfront vacation home rentals. Call Riley or Judy today, they will take great care of your needs as you retreat to beautiful Lummi Island. Gourmet Magazine has written about them last year, and I know this will bring a great deal of attention to the property. Enjoy this little secret, in paradise.

Galie Jean-Louis, Bellingham, WA.

  • Liked — Waterfront Accomodation Vacation Rental, Food and Wine
  • Disliked — Island is Small
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2007

A rare find for hosting a group for a weekend getaway with full services, unique accomodations, gourmand food, all at an affordable price. Professional, yet extremely personable staff. Attention to details with minimal intrusion. Ability to satisfy foodies and food sensitives with no fuss! A place you'll want to keep as your little secret. (Woodinville, WA Resident)

  • Liked — Each room was unique
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2006

A great getaway on an easy to access island. Great view north in the San Juans, great food, good accomodations, and nice staff. Had a peaceful time there during a winter stay.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Willows Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willows Inn

Address: 2579 West Shore Drive, Lummi Island, WA 98262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Lummi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lummi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willows Inn on Lummi Island has become the Northwest's premiere destination for authentic farm to table dining. Come in and experience the culinary magic of our chef, Blaine Wetzel, and find out what eating from your landscape is all about. Savor wines from our extensive selection. Enjoy our elegantly comfortable accommodations. Drink in the views, watch whales, or relax with a cocktail by a blazing fire. Unplug, recharge and experience the Willows Inn--an authentic and affordable San Juan Islands adventure! Offering romantic beachside lodge rooms, cottage, and guest house accommodations and marine experiences. Organic food from Loganita Farm. A car ferry departs at least hourly for the five minute crossing to this scenic island retreat. Less than two hours from Seattle or Vancouver, BC. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Willows Hotel Lummi Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willows Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.