We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Little Beach House -- Clarke room in the Reefnetter House” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Willows Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lummi Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Willows Inn
Save
You added Willows Inn to your Saves list
2579 West Shore Drive, Lummi Island, WA 98262   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Lummi Island B&B and Inns
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Little Beach House -- Clarke room in the Reefnetter House”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed in Clarke, which is one of two bedroom suites (the other is Barnes) in the Reefnetter House. Picture a larch 3-bedroom beach house where the two upstairs bedrooms that are for rent have been converted into little bedroom suites.

Reefnetter is an easy 15 minute drive from the Willows Inn main property. Across a small two-lane road is a rocky beach. Very East Coast beach feeling.

The Reefnetter feels like an nice beach house. Comfortable, but not very upscale (as is true for most beach houses). It feels like families over the years have spent a lot of time running through the house. We had the whole house to ourselves during our stay, but how you feel about the common area will probably depend on the guest staying in Barnes.

Internet out; dishwasher out during our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    32
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
7
100
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We were guests of the Willows on Lummi Island. We did not stay at the Inn itself, we stayed at the Marina, a large house with 3 separate rooms that is run by the Willows. The house was located directly on the beach, the views were fantastic. However, the house itself was sub standard for the price paid. The kitchen didn't have a working dishwasher, totally under stocked with kitchen items, the dishes were dirty and pots were broken. No foil, saran wrap, baggies or any other kind of storage containers were available. There wasn't one dish towel or dish cloth for dishes. The maid service made the bed, that was it. Coffee pods for the room coffee machine were never replaced, the water container never refilled, the kitchen items not restocked. The house furniture was very run down as was the patio furniture. We did eat dinner at the Willows restaurant, that was a very pleasurable experience, but very pricey. I would give the restaurant a 5, but the Marina a 1.

Room Tip: These rooms are very expensive, the two that are over $500 a night, not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Definitely an experience - went to celebrate our 30th anniversary, didn't disappoint. Stayed in the cottage - private, a beach ambiance, perhaps a little rustic but the bed was quite comfy. Gas fireplace controlled by thermostat, in floor bathroom heating. Nice robes. View from the deck overlooks Salish Sea, Orcas Island, and multiple Gulf and smaller islands, as well as Strait of Georgia; Vancouver was visible in the very far distance. Lots of interesting boat traffic and diving ducks, the beach is quite accessible and pretty.

Of course, the main event is the food, no disappointment there - 8 courses, 7 snacks, 5 beverages - wine, beer, and hard cider - sometimes a little weird but it all worked out well. If they have the smoked sockeye you will understand what is eaten in heaven - but all of the the courses were tasty, service friendly, knowledgeable, and understated. No rushing here, a phenomenal culinary experience.

And don't miss breakfast if you stay...unbelievable biscuits; charcuterie, and fresh carrot juice among other things...a nice way to kick off a day of exploring the island and beaches on foot or by bike.

We also did hot stone massages - extraordinarily relaxing, Melissa the masseuse is a pro, with a firm but gentle touch. And if you get a chance take the tour of Loganita farm, where much of the produce is grown for the restaurant.

Room Tip: The cottage is very private, nice few, but clothes to the main house and dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We went to Willows for our anniversary and stayed in one of their off-site properties. We were in the Marina house which was right on the waterfront. The view faced Mt. Constitution on Orcas Island. One of the main reasons to go to Willows is their restaurant. It was an incredible gastronomic experience. It was a beautifully crafted 8-course meal that also included appetizers and fresh bread. Everything is farm to table and fresh. The restaurant closes from January-March. My only suggestion would be they should install a "grab bar" in the shower and furnish instructions on how to operate the fireplace. We had to call someone out to get it started. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My wife and I traveled from Oregon to Lummi Island because a sommelier we know recommended the restaurant. So we traveled 600 round trip miles for dinner. We were not disappointed.
We stayed one night in an upstairs room. The accommodations were ok though a bit small. The setting is beautiful. Great view of the San Juans, small waves heard hitting the shore 50' away, bald eagles flying by. While sitting in the lobby, reading and nursing a beer, a young lady brought us a bowl filled with rounded stones, with 2 oysters on top. Unbidden!
Dinner was one of the 3 top meals we have ever had, on a par but very different from the French Laundry. Lots of very small plates with 1-3 bites of food each. It reminded me of Kaiseki in Japan. Each course was exquisitely presented: in a wooden box which when opened released fragrant wood smoke, on a barnacle encrusted rock, etc. And each "course", of which there were more than 15 (mostly amuse-bouche) was utterly unique from the others. The seafood and vegetables could not have been fresher unless you were on the boat or grazing at the farm.
We had dishes we had never experienced before, like venison tartare and we are not tartare fans. But it was delicious. Ever had a serving of Halibut skin before? Ditto on delicious. With over 15 arrows, not every one was a bulls eye, but there was a very dense cluster there.
Service was very good. Relaxed, unpretentious, yet attentive.
The only mild disappointment was the wine tasting menu as some dishes did not match the wine served with it (viognier with mushrooms?). Perhaps a better approach would be to spread among each of the diners a matched single bottle of wine with each course, but perhaps this isn't workable.
I doubt that I could enthusiastically recommend the inn as a destination without the meal. And it's not a place for those seeking steak and lobster tails. But If you want to taste new things, experience food as a feast for your taste buds and eyes, this is for you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spokane, washington
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed at one of the Inn separate lodigng locations, Reefnetter, with another couple I knew. The house and location were fantastic....just a short distance from the main Inn. However, no change of linen was tacky and inexcusable for the prices charged. All else was more than adequate, i.e. space, rooms, wi-fi and a beautiful memorable view.

The Restaurant was fantastic with exquisite preparation, beautiful presentation and flavors that defy description. This is a destination or any foodie and was well worth the price. The service was equally great with the actual chef giving descriptions. Chef Blaine Wetzel is worth the visit. Unfortunately, the wine selection and service leaves much to be desired. With a little effort on the part of managment, this place could be a destination without equal in the Northwest.

Also, breakfast is served in a small restaurant close to the Ferry Dock. It is charming, and has excellent food. The service was fantastic and we were well supplied with coffee!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We went to the willows for our 50th anniversary. We will certainly never forget it. The room was large, while the decor was not to my taste, it was nicely furnished in Monterrey Bay style. It was too far from the lodge, up a plain gravel road in a field with little ambience. Warehouse stairs leading to an above the garage room was disappointing. A deck to step outside would have made the difference in our enjoyment. At $300/night, I expected more.
Our dinner added another $300 and with tip and wine pairing, our one night was $1,000. The food was good and gave us something to laugh over as the first course was one (yes 1) mussel each followed by one oyster, one mushroom, etc. There was one of most thing, to say small is an understatement. However, it was prepared well and served beautifully. The wine pairing was too much wine and too pricey. The service was excellent. Maybe foodies would rave, but really just and interesting memory.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Willows Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willows Inn

Address: 2579 West Shore Drive, Lummi Island, WA 98262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Lummi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lummi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willows Inn on Lummi Island has become the Northwest's premiere destination for authentic farm to table dining. Come in and experience the culinary magic of our chef, Blaine Wetzel, and find out what eating from your landscape is all about. Savor wines from our extensive selection. Enjoy our elegantly comfortable accommodations. Drink in the views, watch whales, or relax with a cocktail by a blazing fire. Unplug, recharge and experience the Willows Inn--an authentic and affordable San Juan Islands adventure! Offering romantic beachside lodge rooms, cottage, and guest house accommodations and marine experiences. Organic food from Loganita Farm. A car ferry departs at least hourly for the five minute crossing to this scenic island retreat. Less than two hours from Seattle or Vancouver, BC. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Willows Hotel Lummi Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willows Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.