We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep on coming back...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willows Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lummi Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Willows Inn
Save
You added Willows Inn to your Saves list
2579 West Shore Drive, Lummi Island, WA 98262   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Lummi Island B&B and Inns
San Carlos, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Keep on coming back...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

We went to the Willows for the third time this weekend for a labor day away, leaving our one-year-old with grandma. Maybe not so imaginative, but at least we knew we'd have a relaxing time and eat very well. Both occurred. Weather was cool and sunny, which was OK for the bike ride we made to Bellingham for the day via the ferry. Saturday dinner is fine dining, while Sunday is more on the appetizer end of things (which is fine by us since two nights of bloating would have left us feeling a little guilty). Breakfast and all the food is of the highest quality. We didn't see Orcas this time around, but we did on our first visit. The rooms are fairly simple, but not overpriced. Best of all is the view from the deck on a warm summer night looking at the view north to Sucia Island if I'm not mistaken. We picked some pounds of blackberries from the side of the road to take home a taste of Lummi to our son and wrap up the weekend. I'm sure we'll be back again.

  • Liked — Food, views
  • Disliked — Rooms are on the smallish side
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    35
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
7
102
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

We have stayed and enjoyed incredible dinners at The Willows Inn many times and we have experienced exceptional service with the B&B team and the new Luxury Vacation Home rentals they are now offering. The Willows Inn excels in sharing with you the best of local seafood, farm fresh organic foods, and a wine list that is the best north of Seattle! This is a perfect environment for those who love the Slow Food movement and care about eco-tourism. My husband and I have also savored elaborate meals and meeting new friends at the Willows Inn - Chef Wine Dinners. Be sure to call ahead for wine dinner dates and review their web site for the latest menu offerings and exciting new waterfront vacation home rentals. Call Riley or Judy today, they will take great care of your needs as you retreat to beautiful Lummi Island. Gourmet Magazine has written about them last year, and I know this will bring a great deal of attention to the property. Enjoy this little secret, in paradise.

Galie Jean-Louis, Bellingham, WA.

  • Liked — Waterfront Accomodation Vacation Rental, Food and Wine
  • Disliked — Island is Small
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2007

A rare find for hosting a group for a weekend getaway with full services, unique accomodations, gourmand food, all at an affordable price. Professional, yet extremely personable staff. Attention to details with minimal intrusion. Ability to satisfy foodies and food sensitives with no fuss! A place you'll want to keep as your little secret. (Woodinville, WA Resident)

  • Liked — Each room was unique
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2006

A great getaway on an easy to access island. Great view north in the San Juans, great food, good accomodations, and nice staff. Had a peaceful time there during a winter stay.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2006

Has it all. Exquisitely prepared breakfasts and meticulous attention to all the comforts in the rooms. All this and a gourmet restaurant as well, just a 10-minute ferry ride from the real world. This was my second stay at the Willows and I hope to have many more.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2006

We stayed at the Willows for New Year's Eve. What attracted us initially was the location - a small island off the coast of Washington near Bellingham - and the reviews of close friends. I looked into the bed and breakfast and was thrilled to find out that Riley and Judy, the owners, were part of the Slow Food Movement, and dedicated to sustainability. The service at the Willows Inn was amazing. Our food was delicious. Our room was located behind the kitchen, which I initially thought to be a bother, but Judy invited us to enter and exit through the kitchen at any time, breaking the barriers between staff and guests. Our experience there was refreshing, new, serene amidst the beach and adjacent islands, and peaceful. I was amazed to feel we had been there for a couple days after only staying a mere 8 hours. Our next trip will surely last longer. Thank you Riley and Judy for your hospitality, earth friendly, conscious way of being. See their website at: ----

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Wa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2006

If there were a Slow Food Travel guide, this place would certainly be included in it. My partner and I had the good fortune to stay there when the orcas were migrating past. We stood mouths agape as a pod of 20 or more whales paraded past us as we sipped wine from the Willows deck. I'll never forget it, nor will I forget the food we had. The salmon was caught by the owner near the Inn. And breakfast was 5 star as well, with organic eggs gathered that morning.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Willows Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willows Inn

Address: 2579 West Shore Drive, Lummi Island, WA 98262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Lummi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lummi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willows Inn on Lummi Island has become the Northwest's premiere destination for authentic farm to table dining. Come in and experience the culinary magic of our chef, Blaine Wetzel, and find out what eating from your landscape is all about. Savor wines from our extensive selection. Enjoy our elegantly comfortable accommodations. Drink in the views, watch whales, or relax with a cocktail by a blazing fire. Unplug, recharge and experience the Willows Inn--an authentic and affordable San Juan Islands adventure! Offering romantic beachside lodge rooms, cottage, and guest house accommodations and marine experiences. Organic food from Loganita Farm. A car ferry departs at least hourly for the five minute crossing to this scenic island retreat. Less than two hours from Seattle or Vancouver, BC. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Willows Hotel Lummi Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willows Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.