We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing dining and a nice room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willows Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lummi Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Willows Inn
Save
You added Willows Inn to your Saves list
2579 West Shore Drive, Lummi Island, WA 98262   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Lummi Island B&B and Inns
Seattle
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing dining and a nice room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

The dinner as many others have said is really quite amazing and on par with many of the well known (and excellent) New York fine dining establishments in a much more casual and relaxed atmosphere. Our dinner was really just incredible, all the flavors and textures worked well together and some of the courses were totally unexpected (Venison Heart Ceviche) were delicious and surprising. The wine pairing was a nice match and reasonably priced.

Our room was spartan but nice and I thought priced about right considering the quality of the breakfast you get the next morning.

Already planning a return visit this summer and can't wait to see how the menu has evolved now that more produce and seasonal fish/meat options are available.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    32
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
7
99
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We have been to a number of "foodie" restaurants and lodges over the past 2 years (Herb Farm/Barking Frong, Inn @ Langley) etc and the Willows Inn so far is our favorite.

We stayed there 2 nights and in one of the cottages that the inn owns off property. There are a small number of rooms at the Inn itself, but the also own a few properties within a few miles of the island.

There is really nothing going on at the island at all except this Inn. As you disembark the Ferry there is another location on the island to eat (Beach Store Cafe), but it was closed for renovation when we were there (apparently the Willows Inn purchased or is managing the Beach Store Cafe). So that meant for our 2 night stay we dined at the Inn twice.

We stayed in the Eagle's Flyaway which is in the Marina at Legoe bay. this house right on the water has 3 other rooms. 2 upstairs and 1 downstairs with a shared kitchen and living room. We were there alone for 1 night and had downstairs guests the other. When we were alone it was spectacular and quiet. Just the Puget sound and the San Juan islands to look at along with bald eagles. I could see how when this place was full with guests it could be loud so I would recommend one of the 2 top floor rooms.

Dinner was the highlight of the trip. I would encourage you to read all the other reviews of dinner. We rank this up there with places like The French Laundry. When I typically dine at prix fix meals like this I am looking for a few things. One of the is appropriate length for a meal. This dinner was just perfect. Also attentive staff and servers. Again, this was perfect. Great wine list.... their Wine list is mostly PNW wines, but their prices were very reasonable. Dinner will set you back $135 pp and the Wine Pairing is a bit pricey so we opted to order a bottle of Buty.

We also took the Nettles farm tour which was a lot of fun and I recommend that.

Breakfast was just perfect and I recommend taking advantage of that.

All in all, something you should do if you love food and unique dining experiences as well as some nice quiet with spectacular views.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Willows Inn has smiling, friendly staff and well-maintained grounds. Stayed in the small "sunset" room above the lobby and stared out at the beautiful view of the Puget Sound. Pictures here: http://www.drawn2style.com/willows-inn/ Enjoyed an unforgettable meal at the restaurant, reviewed separately.

Room Tip: If you don't mind small rooms, "Sunset" was quiet and has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We came here for New Yea'rs Eve, which is also our wedding anniversary. The dinner was out of this world amazing -- treat after treat with a beautiful presentation. It was a really special place to be on such an evening. Afterwards, they kept the bar open late for a champagne toast at midnight. The lobby bar is also well appointed with a nice fireplace and tasty cocktails. The room we stayed in was beautiful, but considering that we had to drive from our room to the Inn, I thought it was quite overpriced. Especially on New Year's Eve, I think they should have provided a ride back to the rooms that are not on the main property. Also, if you are staying at the off property rooms, you can use the hot tub but you'll have to bring all your clothes and change in the small lobby bathroom.

Room Tip: The High Tide, Low Tide, and Beach House are right on the beach which is beautiful. However, they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Yes that is a bold statement! As a former Manhattanite (Cipriani, Le Bernadin, Jean Claude, Mr. Chow) and as a former L.A. resident (Spago, Matsuhisa, Mr. Chow), I have been to many eateries whom each make a claim to the top spot. However, Blaine Wetzel steals the cake and my blessing. The servings are abundant (16 snacks, appetizer, main dish and dessert) and tasty. Creativity abounds with each bite transforming your mouth into a dreamy palette. The presentation is equally impressive and stuns the senses.

The setting is relaxed and inviting to a collage of foodies awaiting a common experience. This is a place that is worth the $135 prix fixe price. Book ahead and treat yourself to an experience that will linger in your thoughts forever.

Room Tip: Only the Cottage accepts dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed at the Willows Inn on Lummi Island to eat at the restaurant, and it was a spectacular experience. The Inn has a great location, overlooking the water, and is very quaint. We stayed in the Sunrise room, which was an attic-like room in the main inn right up the stairs from the lobby. It was clean, decent-sized but had no view. I think it would have been nicer to stay in a room with a view, but it didn't bother us too much because we were there for one night. Lounge in the lobby on comfy seats with drinks and snacks from the bar, or sit out on the deck with some wine. The dinner we had was one of the best ever and is pretty much the reason to stay here. (Breakfast was a different matter...although it was delicious, they completely forgot to serve our table and we thought they were just running very slowly.) There is a little private beach a few steps away from the inn which is nice for a stroll. Overall, definitely a place to get to.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sunrise room in the main inn. Decent-sized with a sitting area and king-sized bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, WA.
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Our room was The Haven, which was remodeled this past winter. It is nicely done with a huge bathroom like none you have ever seen before. It has a fireplace and seating if you have quests for 4 people. The staff was more than happy to provide us with glasses for our champagne and even opened the champagne bottle for us. The only downfall to the room was that we could hear the neighbor's voices, singing etc. until 12:30 a.m. I think they need more insulation around the door that has been closed off to the neighboring room.
The 5 course meal was an experience. Three of us thought it was great and one person only would try three of the samples they served, not liking much of anything. However, when it came to breakfast the next morning he ate everything they served and loved it all. There are no open restaurants any other place on the island, so plan accordingly.
The island is mostly private and just the short ferry ride is an experience. It is certainly a lovely spot.

Room Tip: We thought The Haven was a marvelous room, if they give the one wall and doorway a bit of insulation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Willows Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willows Inn

Address: 2579 West Shore Drive, Lummi Island, WA 98262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Lummi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lummi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willows Inn on Lummi Island has become the Northwest's premiere destination for authentic farm to table dining. Come in and experience the culinary magic of our chef, Blaine Wetzel, and find out what eating from your landscape is all about. Savor wines from our extensive selection. Enjoy our elegantly comfortable accommodations. Drink in the views, watch whales, or relax with a cocktail by a blazing fire. Unplug, recharge and experience the Willows Inn--an authentic and affordable San Juan Islands adventure! Offering romantic beachside lodge rooms, cottage, and guest house accommodations and marine experiences. Organic food from Loganita Farm. A car ferry departs at least hourly for the five minute crossing to this scenic island retreat. Less than two hours from Seattle or Vancouver, BC. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Willows Hotel Lummi Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willows Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.