We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MacKaye Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lopez Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MacKaye Harbor Inn
949 MacKaye Harbor Road, Lopez Island, WA 98261   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

this was my first trip to lopez island (we were there for a wedding) what a nice place. owners were very friendly and helpful. great place to kayak or bike-they have both free for guests. if u want peace and quiet ,stay here. we were in blue room which was a little small but worked out just fine. recommend it highly

Room Tip: the harbour suite across from us was bigger and a nicer bathroom for only 10$ more
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

While many destinations and inns oversell themselves as a getaway, MacKaye Harbor Inn is the real thing. With access to a secluded beach, water views from the porch and some rooms, free bikes, innovative breakfasts and easy access to some of Lopez's finest pleasures, the inn is worth every penny of the price tag. In the Pacific NW, weather will play a role in how your trip is assessed and ours was enhanced with bluebird skies - so would recommend trying for peak summer although this is their busiest time. Book well in advance for those July/August months and enjoy. One downside you may want to inquire about is the discontinuation of kayaking at the inn. While the harbor is very protected and often placid, there was a bureaucratic issue that currently prohibits all guests from paddling. We had partially chosen the inn because of the access to kayaking on beautiful MacKaye Harbor and spent much time planning it as a core activity. The innkeeper explained the situation after our arrival and offered an alternative but it was not what we had hoped for. While one of our greatest expectations was not met, we were able to plan around it, use the bikes to explore the beautiful island and in the end it only detracted slightly from an lovely experience in a beautiful, well run inn with congenial hosts.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I always have a little anxiety going to B and B's having had some bad experiences. We decided to try again and were we happy we did. McKay Harbor Inn was a delightful surprise...the setting on this quiet harbor, the wildlife, the camaraderie of the other guests, the wonderful breakfasts and, most of all, the hosts, Robin and Mike, made our three days there an unforgettable getaway. Our hosts displayed a welcoming warmth, helpfulness, and senses of humor that made us feel we've known them for a long time. Their beautiful home was comfortable and easily accessible to many beautiful hikes, bike rides (they provide great bikes and helmets), and wildlife sitings, even from our front porch. We watched an eagle one evening perched on a high branch, amenable to some great photo ops. We stayed in the Captains room which had it's own front porch. An added treat was the Port and chocolate truffles each eveningThis was definitely a place to return to. Robin rightfully takes greet pride in her baking skills and even has an available recipe book. And both Mike and Robin were wonderful conversationalists. This was our first trip to the San Juans and Lopez Island. We will return with our family someday and the McKay Harbor Inn. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Wonderful stay with Robin and Mike - they've enriched the tapestry of this home's history as homestead and inn. An idyllic location at the intersection of relaxation and exploration. The perfect start and end for discovering this island's pristine coasts, waters and wildlife. The gym is in your pedals and paddles - both are fully available on the premises - and the ocean is your pool!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary with two nights at the MacKaye Harbor Inn. What a blessed choice! We will definitely NOT wait another 5 years to return! We had a wonderful stay, and Robin & Mike were the perfect hosts. MacKaye Harbor Inn is situated on the south end of Lopez Island, with close proximity to the island's premier hiking trails and truly world-class kayaking. Mike's "insider tips" helped us explore places that were not listed on the map, and Robin went out of her way to make sure that we had everything we needed to make our stay perfect (including a "to-go" breakfast so we could catch the early ferry). A highlight was sitting across the street -- right on the bay -- watching otters, terns, eagles and other critters come out as the sun was going down. This is truly a remarkable place, and Robin and Mike went out of their way to make sure we had a memorable and comfortable visit. One last comment... our breakfasts were delicious!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Everything was great!!! I don't think you will find a better B&B and we had such a great time.. Robin and Mike will treat you right....This is a once in a lifetime chance for some real honest to goodness fun.. You won't be disappointed...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We chose to spend three nights at the MacKaye Harbor Inn. Our hope was to spend our days there hiking and kayaking. Our hosts, Robin and Mike, took every care to insure that our goals were fulfilled. They were eager to share their knowledge of the area, which was a great help. The breakfasts were great, and the rooms were quiet and comfy.
It was a joy for us to discover that Lopez Island is a hidden treasure of quiet serenity, scenic beauty, glorious water all around, and blessed with wonderfully fresh air. Wildlife abounds. We were blessed with great weather, and every aspect of our visit was a treat.
The Inn’s kayaks live right in the front yard, right on the waterfront. Mike enthusiastically set us up, told us about the high points to see, and we paddled off for hours of fun in the harbor on two different days. The water was crystal clear, the bay was calm, and we relaxed and enjoyed the sights. We photographed river otters, great herons, oyster catchers and deer from distances of 20 feet or less as we quietly floated along. What a treat!
For hiking, Mike recommended Iceberg Point State Park, and what a treat it was to walk through pine forests and emerge into beautiful coastal views as we approached the water’s edge. We had two mellow afternoons trekking there, and we had the entire place to ourselves!
We ate dinner twice at the Bay Café, which was superb. We don’t recommend The Galley.
Our plan is to return again next year! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MacKaye Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacKaye Harbor Inn

Address: 949 MacKaye Harbor Road, Lopez Island, WA 98261
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Lopez Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lopez Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, location, location! Lopez Island's ONLY beachfront bed & breakfast inn. Delicious and plentiful breakfasts, complimentary mountain bikes and rental kayaks. Sandy beach, beautiful sunsets and chocolate truffles! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MacKaye Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added MacKaye Harbor Inn to your Saves list