We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lopez Island Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MacKaye Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lopez Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MacKaye Harbor Inn
Save Saved
You added MacKaye Harbor Inn to your Saves list
949 MacKaye Harbor Road, Lopez Island, WA 98261   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Lopez Island B&B and Inns
Portland, OR
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lopez Island Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary with two nights at the MacKaye Harbor Inn. What a blessed choice! We will definitely NOT wait another 5 years to return! We had a wonderful stay, and Robin & Mike were the perfect hosts. MacKaye Harbor Inn is situated on the south end of Lopez Island, with close proximity to the island's premier hiking trails and truly world-class kayaking. Mike's "insider tips" helped us explore places that were not listed on the map, and Robin went out of her way to make sure that we had everything we needed to make our stay perfect (including a "to-go" breakfast so we could catch the early ferry). A highlight was sitting across the street -- right on the bay -- watching otters, terns, eagles and other critters come out as the sun was going down. This is truly a remarkable place, and Robin and Mike went out of their way to make sure we had a memorable and comfortable visit. One last comment... our breakfasts were delicious!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Townsend, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Everything was great!!! I don't think you will find a better B&B and we had such a great time.. Robin and Mike will treat you right....This is a once in a lifetime chance for some real honest to goodness fun.. You won't be disappointed...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We chose to spend three nights at the MacKaye Harbor Inn. Our hope was to spend our days there hiking and kayaking. Our hosts, Robin and Mike, took every care to insure that our goals were fulfilled. They were eager to share their knowledge of the area, which was a great help. The breakfasts were great, and the rooms were quiet and comfy.
It was a joy for us to discover that Lopez Island is a hidden treasure of quiet serenity, scenic beauty, glorious water all around, and blessed with wonderfully fresh air. Wildlife abounds. We were blessed with great weather, and every aspect of our visit was a treat.
The Inn’s kayaks live right in the front yard, right on the waterfront. Mike enthusiastically set us up, told us about the high points to see, and we paddled off for hours of fun in the harbor on two different days. The water was crystal clear, the bay was calm, and we relaxed and enjoyed the sights. We photographed river otters, great herons, oyster catchers and deer from distances of 20 feet or less as we quietly floated along. What a treat!
For hiking, Mike recommended Iceberg Point State Park, and what a treat it was to walk through pine forests and emerge into beautiful coastal views as we approached the water’s edge. We had two mellow afternoons trekking there, and we had the entire place to ourselves!
We ate dinner twice at the Bay Café, which was superb. We don’t recommend The Galley.
Our plan is to return again next year! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have stayed in many B&Bs, but this is the best yet! Robin and Mike are the warmest, most welcoming innkeepers we have met. We felt like they loved having us in their home. The kayaking is amazing with no-fuss rental of singles after Mike's orientation. We had the room with a balcony overlooking the water -- amazing and well worth a few extra dollars! We highly recommend this as a place to stay on Lopez.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, BC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Mackaye Harbor Inn has to be the best ever B&B with it's situation right across the road from from the beach/harbour and great hosts Mike and Robin. We spent 3 nights there recently and used their bikes to explore as much of the island as we could. The breakfasts were amazing and our room was perfect with lovely decor and fresh flowers. I hope to return sometime soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had so much fun with Robin and Mike,they looked after us so well.
Every little detail is looked after in the hotel generally and especially in the room in which we stayed. The fresh flowers are abundant.
Breakfast was a delight, delicious and fresh and during the day our needs were met with any request.
We used the free bikes each day to tour the island but found the hills to be much steeper than advertised by the Island tourist bureau. We needed an extra day to hike this gorgeous area.
The restaurants are all situated in Lopez Village, a car is a definite requirement.

Room Tip: There is only one room with 2 beds which we needed, quiet but in the back without a view of the harb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Go here only if you want gracious beyond compare hosts at the Inn, a sweet location across from a charming cove, bountiful and delicious breakfasts, the chance to see bald eagles, seals, otters, and starfish from kayaks launched right from the beach across the street, and a wonderful refuge. If you want a place that will produce raves, this is it.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MacKaye Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacKaye Harbor Inn

Address: 949 MacKaye Harbor Road, Lopez Island, WA 98261
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Lopez Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lopez Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, location, location! Lopez Island's ONLY beachfront bed & breakfast inn. Delicious and plentiful breakfasts, complimentary mountain bikes and rental kayaks. Sandy beach, beautiful sunsets and chocolate truffles! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MacKaye Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.