We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed at the dock” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lopez Islander Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lopez Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lopez Islander Resort
Save
You added Lopez Islander Resort to your Saves list
Fisherman Bay Road, P.O. Box 459, Lopez Island, WA 98261   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lopez Island
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Stayed at the dock”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Tied up at the dock and had hotel services like shower, Jacuzzi, pool. laundry and restaurant available. The first night had a strong south wind and the boats on the outer dock encountered lots of wave slapping. Inner dock was fine. Second night wind died and all was quiet. Docks were clean. Power and water were available. showers were cold and cost another $2. Town is about a mile away and a shuttle is available or you can walk. Saturday market was fun (hold a chicken for a $1) and local bakery had a raspberry blueberry Danish to die for.
Channel entrance was shallow (they say three feet at a 0 tide) but fairly well marked. Would not go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    9
    13
    13
See reviews for
20
23
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

The Islander Lopez is rated #1 on the Lopez Island for good reason. It is the only motel on the island. Additionally, any review needs to put the Islander in context with a funky island where “island time” reflects the laid back nature of the place. With that in mind I offer my review.
First, the Islander is not a Four Seasons. But it is a fun place that fits its island environment. It’s not new. The restaurant menu claims they have been serving Lopez Island since 1954. The rooms have been updated but the basic buildings reflect their heritage and age. So set your expectations at the appropriate level.
Our experience? We were first assigned a small, odd shaped room you could barely turn around in. They said that is what we booked but, I doubt that. It is the only room like it in the place since it was next to the maid’s closet. We asked for a change and were offered a “double queen” room for a small price increase. We took it and gained a much larger room that turned out to be a “double double” as the “queen beds” turned out to be doubles. No problem. We survived.
As for the room, the sink plug didn’t function (a trip under the sink solved the problem), the TV remote was missing (they gave us a new one), the room phone couldn’t receive calls (the front desk brought us any messages), the alarm clock was permanently at 12:00 (we unplugged it; who cared what time it was), the neighbor locked three dogs in their car who barked at odd hours (the front desk dealt with it), the hot tub was out of order (fixed by the second night).
The phone was an issue since our T Mobile service was at zero bars all weekend. But they didn’t complain about running messages up to the room. The WiFi required a trip into the parking lot where I stood in a certain place for service. The connection was great in the lobby and at the library down the street.
Does this sound like a bad experience? It was actually very fun in its own funky island way. The staff was always helpful and attentive. The views over the harbor and at sunset are worth the trip. The place is loaded with history. The rooms are updated and clean. The grounds are overrun with rabbits which provide entertainment and a connection with nature, of a sorts.
Would we stay there again? Of course. It’s the only motel on the island.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

My husband, 19-yr old son and I stayed at the Lopez Islander Resort for one night, Easter Sunday. While the location was good and the room was comfortable in itself, we had some major causes for complaint.
The confirmation of our reservation showed that check-in time was 3:00pm. We arrived at 3:10pm, only to find that office staff had phoned our contact telephone number (which happened to be my mother, since we are from England and had no US telephone), wondering "where we were" since the reception was closing at 4:00pm. Not only were we a little put out that we were present very nearly at the exact check-in time, we were surprised that a resort hotel was closing its front desk at 4:00pm. We were not given any contact name or number in the event we may have needed to contact someone urgently after that time.
On check-in we learned that the restaurant and bar/lounge - which were mentioned as resort amenities - were going to be closed that evening AND the following morning, offering us no option for eating dinner or breakfast at the resort. We were not made aware of this before arriving nor were there genuine apologies for the closure.
Given that there were only 4 rooms occupied in the entire building, we were dismayed to learn that two of the other parties were directly next and above us (and those being a family with young children who were up very early the next morning, making a significant amount of noise). The guests could have been spread out a little, given there were so few of us.
Check-out time was 11:00am, and it was disconcerting to see (and hear) that renovation work was beginning on the upstairs walkway well before 10:00am. If we had wanted to sleep in until nearer check out time, there would have been no chance of this with the noise of men and lumber being dragged up the stairs and thrown onto the walkway above our room. The fact that the resort must have known this work was going to start early is another reason that we should never have been put in that room in the first place!
We were extremely disappointed with the level of service at the resort and sent our complaints to the manager on our return to the UK. After three weeks, we have yet to receive a reply. We would not recommend this “resort” to anyone and especially not out of “season”. The closed pool would be the least of your problems.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nealab
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

The view is the only thing this place has going for it. Lopez village is about 1 mile from here, and you could walk. The room was clean, service was poor, and the hot tub did not work. The barbecue looked like it had not been cleaned in a while, and only half of the burners work. I would only stay here again as a last resort.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The view was from our second floor room was gorgeous and we had a pleasant dinner in the restaurant. The bed was comfortable and the room clean. A big plus was the balcony. The pool was not really heated and the hot tub was working. It is an older motel but the setting and view made the stay very enjoyable. I felt it was a bit pricy but there may not be any competition.

Room Tip: Second floor room with balcony for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had a beautiful view of the bay from big windows and a porch. The resort was picturesque with lots of flowers in hanging baskets and pots set on the edge of the bay. There was a nice pool and a big lawn where kids were playing volleyball.

Our room was $200.00 per night. The room itself was nothing fancy; and it smelled of stale cigarette smoke, the sheets were very thin and the pillows were lumpy polyfil. The mattress itself was comfortable. The service was poor. We went to the island for a tour of art studios. We asked for a tour brochure at the desk. We were told by the manager that there was a desk copy only and we might be able to get a copy at the bank (it was Sat) or the grocery store which was a mile away by bike. I asked if the office could make a photocopy. She was " I guess" and continued her tasks. We rode to the store to get our copy. We did not have maid service even though we put out our door hanger. We set up shuttle service to the Ferry and the shuttle left before we arrived (10 minutes early). We sweated it out waiting for the shuttle to return and after asking to talk to the manager, she took us to the Ferry in her truck.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is beautifully located looking down on the harbor and sunset - it's also right beside a cement plant. There's a beautiful enclosure with a "heated pool and hot tub - the pool is not really heated and the hot tub was not working. The room we had was very nicely updated with a comfortable bed, frig,and microwave - there is no screen on the door to the balcony so it can't be left open for ventilation. Overall, we would stay there again.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lopez Islander Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lopez Islander Resort

Address: Fisherman Bay Road, P.O. Box 459, Lopez Island, WA 98261
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Lopez Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lopez Island
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Lopez Islander Hotel Lopez Island
Lopez Island Islander Hotel
Lopez Island Islander Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lopez Islander Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.