We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edenwild Inn

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
Edenwild Inn
132 Lopez Road, P.O. Box 271, Lopez Island, WA 98261   |  
Hotel amenities
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic breakfast - fresh salmon, homemade breads, lots more. Beautiful common areas and furnishings.free use of (Trek)mtn. Bikes -big plus for us. Beds and linens first rate. Will pick you up at ferry if you are not driving. One of the better B and Bs we have experienced. Walk to several neat restaurants.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    6
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
3
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had a very nice stay here. The room was lovely and the location is nice for access to the cute downtown area. The owners were kind and helpful. On our last day the owner heard us having trouble reaching the rest of our party at a house nearby and he offered us a ride - saving us from schlepping our bags the mile down there. We were very thankful! We had a nice stay and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
1 review
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I made a reservation for one night over a year ago with the man who owns Edinwilde. My husband's brother was getting married and my family needed a place to stay. The owner told me that they usually didn't let children under 12 stay there, but that he would wave that for me because the room was at the end of the hall and a little bit more on it's own. I have two girls, one is 16 and the other is almost 4. I thought, fabulous!

Fast forward to last Saturday. When my family and I arrived, we were greeted by the owners of Edinwild, a husband and wife team. He was friendly enough, but she was blatantly rude, asking us how many of us were staying. We were obviously a family of four! When I told her we all would be staying, she looked at me and said that they don't usually allow children under 12 to stay. I told her that her husband had okayed our stay. She told us we could stay, but that she would have to have a talk with him about that and showed us to our room.

The rooms are clean and nicely appointed - no complaints there! Our only complaint was this horrible woman who made us feel very unwelcome. When we went down for breakfast the next morning, after an entire night of whispering, her rudeness was taken up a notch. When my 4 year old went to put a muffin on her plate, the owner pushed her hand away and told her to let her Dad get it for her! When we sat down at the table she had a booster chair waiting in hopes to keep her contained. My daughter doesn't use a booster chair anymore! The owner didn't even ask us if we wanted to use it. It was implied that if we were going to eat breakfast, she would sit on it. As we ate she cast dirty looks at us and then tried to be overtly friendly to an elderly lady sitting by us. She was so mechanical and fake. Our stay at Edinwild was the worst stay in an Inn that we have ever experienced! It's not the Inn itself, but the dragon lady who runs it! She even wiped up a few fallen crumbs while we were still eating! Dreadful!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This B&B was very nicely appointed and furnished. Our stay here was very pleasant. The breakfast was over the top with delicious choices. The coffee could have been stronger. My main criticism of this place was I felt like the owner-ess worked very hard to keep us entertained over breakfast. We would have been fine with our own conversation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed one night. The rooms were immaculate, the shower pressure fantastic, everything was top notch cleanliness wise. We had little chocolates waiting for us too. We got to borrow the bikes and helmets at no charge. They were great bikes and got us around the island well.

The food for breakfast was all delicious and tasted really fresh. We were told she baked her own bread.

There is almost no cell reception for any provider. The wifi works ok, but wasn't working overnight and in the morning it was very slow.

The hosts were welcoming and attentive to our needs, but in more of a mechanical way than in a genuinely warm way. The lady owner did a fantastic job of making sure everything was perfect in our rooms and at breakfast, but we had to do everything her way: no shoes on the bed, we have to use a certain cup for our coffee, that coffee cup must be placed at this position on the table, use the plates in this particular order for the food. She felt a bit overbearing the way she joined in on our private conversations. She was a perfect host without the warmth.

Free water in a communal fridge and free sherry in our rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We arived with 2 girls 10 years of age but well behaved. The owners were gracious enough to allow us to stay even though the rule was a minimum of 12 years of age. The room was clean and had one King and one queen size bed. The breakfast was fantastic with many home baked goods.
We had arrived by boat and the owner was nice enough to pick us up and drop us off at the end of our stay, They also have bikes you can borrow to ride around the island. I highly reccommend this form of transportation. Dont forget to wave. It is an island tradition.

Fisherman's Bay has the best 4th of July Fireworks Show!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We bought an Amazon Local deal for the Edenwild and decided to visit for our anniversary. We stayed in Room 1 (The Veranda) which was on the bottom floor of the property and across from the sitting room. For being in such a central location, it was pretty quiet! The breakfast was top notch and I'm sure it saved us quite a bit from going out - I loved the smoked salmon, quiche and Kris' cheese bread! Yum! Would love to return for another relaxing and rejuvenating weekend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Edenwild Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edenwild Inn

Address: 132 Lopez Road, P.O. Box 271, Lopez Island, WA 98261
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Lopez Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lopez Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Edenwild Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edenwild Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Edenwild Inn to your Saves list