We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant but needn't try so hard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edenwild Inn

Edenwild Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Edenwild Inn to your Saves list
Edenwild Inn
132 Lopez Road, P.O. Box 271, Lopez Island, WA 98261   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Lopez Island B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“very pleasant but needn't try so hard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This B&B was very nicely appointed and furnished. Our stay here was very pleasant. The breakfast was over the top with delicious choices. The coffee could have been stronger. My main criticism of this place was I felt like the owner-ess worked very hard to keep us entertained over breakfast. We would have been fine with our own conversation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    8
    3
    5
    4
See reviews for
5
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed one night. The rooms were immaculate, the shower pressure fantastic, everything was top notch cleanliness wise. We had little chocolates waiting for us too. We got to borrow the bikes and helmets at no charge. They were great bikes and got us around the island well.

The food for breakfast was all delicious and tasted really fresh. We were told she baked her own bread.

There is almost no cell reception for any provider. The wifi works ok, but wasn't working overnight and in the morning it was very slow.

The hosts were welcoming and attentive to our needs, but in more of a mechanical way than in a genuinely warm way. The lady owner did a fantastic job of making sure everything was perfect in our rooms and at breakfast, but we had to do everything her way: no shoes on the bed, we have to use a certain cup for our coffee, that coffee cup must be placed at this position on the table, use the plates in this particular order for the food. She felt a bit overbearing the way she joined in on our private conversations. She was a perfect host without the warmth.

Free water in a communal fridge and free sherry in our rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We arived with 2 girls 10 years of age but well behaved. The owners were gracious enough to allow us to stay even though the rule was a minimum of 12 years of age. The room was clean and had one King and one queen size bed. The breakfast was fantastic with many home baked goods.
We had arrived by boat and the owner was nice enough to pick us up and drop us off at the end of our stay, They also have bikes you can borrow to ride around the island. I highly reccommend this form of transportation. Dont forget to wave. It is an island tradition.

Fisherman's Bay has the best 4th of July Fireworks Show!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We bought an Amazon Local deal for the Edenwild and decided to visit for our anniversary. We stayed in Room 1 (The Veranda) which was on the bottom floor of the property and across from the sitting room. For being in such a central location, it was pretty quiet! The breakfast was top notch and I'm sure it saved us quite a bit from going out - I loved the smoked salmon, quiche and Kris' cheese bread! Yum! Would love to return for another relaxing and rejuvenating weekend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful! This is just the best place to relax and to see some of the best scenery ever! The hiking and biking is the best!! I went on a trip with my mom and stayed here and we had the best time. The Inn is perfect and the island couldn't have been better for us. Wonderful stay and can't wait to visit again!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have stayed at quite a few B&Bs around the world and this was very nice. I agree with some of the comments of the hosts but they were very sweet and just want to help. They had great local music playing durring the day, sweet little dog to see and very clean home. We would stay here again for sure. They made an amazing European style breakfast. It broght back wonderful memories of living in Europe. Also very helpful for different food diets. Gluten Free friendly so that was quite helpful for breakfast items. They even made us a very nice to go breakfast because we had an early departure. We asked a day or two in advanced of they could toss a few extras from the previous breakast in a bag for us. She even sent a Gluten Free cookie for me! Very welcoming in allowing us to havevisiting friends play cards on their patio in the evening. we were there for a freinds wedding.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snohomish
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Good location very near activities. Very quiet with nice views of the water. Breakfast was good but not as good as some other B&B's I have visited. Kris makes beautiful knitted items and hand made art at reasonable prices. Her knit sweaters are $40 which is a bargain if you have shopped Nordstroms lately. She is particular and overbearing in minute directions on everything that might go wrong with the rooms or food service, but I was ready for it, having read past Tripadvisor reviews and I didn't mind it since it was good natured advice. No TV is a blessing. I asked for the room where Lincoln slept, but she said I would have to do with Lily Tomlin, Jonathan Winters, or Tom Skerritt, who originally built the inn in 1990. I have no problem visiting this B&B again.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you have difficulty on stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Edenwild Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edenwild Inn

Address: 132 Lopez Road, P.O. Box 271, Lopez Island, WA 98261
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Lopez Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lopez Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Edenwild Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edenwild Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.