We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edenwild Inn

Edenwild Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Edenwild Inn to your Saves list
Edenwild Inn
132 Lopez Road, P.O. Box 271, Lopez Island, WA 98261   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Lopez Island B&B and Inns
snohomish
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Good location very near activities. Very quiet with nice views of the water. Breakfast was good but not as good as some other B&B's I have visited. Kris makes beautiful knitted items and hand made art at reasonable prices. Her knit sweaters are $40 which is a bargain if you have shopped Nordstroms lately. She is particular and overbearing in minute directions on everything that might go wrong with the rooms or food service, but I was ready for it, having read past Tripadvisor reviews and I didn't mind it since it was good natured advice. No TV is a blessing. I asked for the room where Lincoln slept, but she said I would have to do with Lily Tomlin, Jonathan Winters, or Tom Skerritt, who originally built the inn in 1990. I have no problem visiting this B&B again.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you have difficulty on stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    8
    3
    5
    4
See reviews for
5
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

House is furnished with beautiful furnitures and decorated with handmade art. Room was clean and tidy. The host prepares really special breakfast and is really dedicated. Free bycicle is also included for the guests.
Eli

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The inn is wonderful, the room clean although over the top with Victorian clutter, breakfast was great. The catch was the hostess who has to have things 'just so'. At breakfast she literally moved every single coffee cup after it was put down by guests so it could not possibly drip a spot of coffee on the placemat. Another guest helped himself to coffee using the wrong color of coffee cup. We felt bad for her husband and couldn't get away fast enough. We were glad to be there only one night -- there are more friendly places to stay on Lopez!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My wife and I went to Edenwild on Lopez Island for 4 days, 3 nights. We agreed that this inn was a highlight of our stay. Both Kris and Robert (the owners) took care of our needs and made us feel at home. We enjoyed the great breakfast which was always a surprise in that it must have taken a lot of work to prepare so many different options. They really do put a lot of effort into making you feel welcome.

They have been serving the local Lopez Vineyard wine between 4-5 and its a great time to talk to other guest and the owners outside of the breakfast setting.

Compared to other service on this island, the Edenwild inn was a stand out. the Bay Restuarant - 2 blocks away- was the only other place that meet our expectations on service.

When you come to Lopez, just remember its called SlowPez for a reason. Bring your bike, kayak, etc and enjoy the slow life. Don't expect to be online even though Edenwild has free WiFi but it is slow. We stayed in room 6 and we recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 6 which is upstairs, front side. If you are looking at the front of the home, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

This was my first trip to Lopez Island and so looking forward to a girls bike weekend and staying at the beautiful Edenwild B&B. We arrived half an hour prior to normal check in time and received such a cold welcome we reallly felt like we had done something wrong. We advised that we would not be able to stay for breakfast due to having to catch the early ferry.Response was "Can't help you" We were not looking for them to get up to make us breakfast, maybe a muffin or something? The B&B is VERY quiet, we often found ourselves whispering. We also were surprised that when we left for dinner, someone had been in our room to open windows and turn on the fan..a little odd.We loved Lopez Island, people were so friendly, had a great dinner at The Bay restaurant so needless to say were a bit disappointed with the service/hospitality we received at Edenwild.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011 via mobile

Man, the location is right, the building is well kept, and the price isn't too bad for the high end BnB scene, so why am I giving Edenwild two stars? The hosts. They like running a BnB, they like keeping the house, they just don't like the guests.

A sample:
Following the advice of traveler extrodinare Rick Steves, I ask to take a quick peek at the room before we settle in and run a card. The response?
"You can, but you're gonna pay for it one way or another."
Okay, that is a little awkward and hostile, but let's see if we can't just muddle through. Nope, halfway up the stairs I'm told that, "you know, it is an insult to us to ask to see the room." And in that false cheerful voice that you'd expect from a nervous substitute middle school teacher.
I try to smooth things over with smile and a nice, "well, it is just something we do out of habit, we don't mean anything personal by it." This shouldn't be necessary, but it doesn't even work, as the fake niceness wears off and a blatantly passive aggressive, "well, it is just one of those things that gets to me," gets spat in my direction.

All this said, the rooms really are fine, and the location is quite good. So, if you want a place to stay in Lopez, and don't mind interacting with the hospitality/customer service fail squad, it really is an okay place. If such vibes are gonna make you I'll at ease, I'd skip it and move along down the road.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Spacious rooms, comfortable beds; but the bathtub/shower takes more than a little agility and balance to manage. Great breakfast and good location. The "Victorian" spirit is a bit overdone, but that seems to be a part of most B&Bs.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Edenwild Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edenwild Inn

Address: 132 Lopez Road, P.O. Box 271, Lopez Island, WA 98261
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Lopez Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lopez Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Edenwild Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edenwild Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.