We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Folks Deli

Country Folks Deli
1329 Commerce Ave, Longview, WA 98632-3717
360-425-2837
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 94 Restaurants in Longview
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Kalama, Washington
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Overrated?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I agree with John W about the beer cheese soup reminding me of Velveeta. The service was okay at best. I could have made the pastrami sandwich at home for far less than $9 and I only ate one bite. The rest was taken home for the pup. My husband's club was good. We won't be ordering the potato salad again. The claim chowder was fabulous though. I would highly recommend that. All in all, our lunch cost about $30 and I didn't feel it was worth it. I actually liked Parker's lunch better, but they've left town. We'll give it another try though with choices being what they are. Maybe we just need to figure out our favorites.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Longview, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Downtown Longview favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Classic art deco site in downtown Longview. Great food, friendly service. Also known as Cow Deli. Beer cheese soup is great.


Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Nice find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We were in town because of vehicle problems and where looking for a lunch place. We used our GPS to look for a deli and came across this restaurant. We really lucked out! The atmosphere was interesting - a big open space. A little cold but OK. Service was efficient and fast. The menu had all of the usual items and some very creative items. The food was very fast, hot and good. The cost was also very reasonable. We would definately recommend this restaurant and would go back again if we find ourselves in the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Washington
2 reviews
“Good but dull”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Ate lunch. Don't eat the beer cheese soup unless you like to drink velveeta. Friendly service. Salads and sandwiches are fine. I hear that the Dinner service is better.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, Washington
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beer cheese soup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Love this restaurant for lunch. Beer cheese soup is fantastic. The home made bread and there sandwiches are great. Staff could be a little more friendly, but all in all is a good lunch destination.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Country Folks Deli also viewed

 

Been to Country Folks Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Folks Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.