We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Clean rooms and convenient location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Park Inn at Mount Rainier

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longmire
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
National Park Inn at Mount Rainier
Save
You added National Park Inn at Mount Rainier to your Saves list
Hwy 706, 6 mi E of Nisqually Entrance, Longmire, Mount Rainier National Park, WA 98397   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay & Play Package
Ranked #1 of 1 Longmire B&B and Inns
New Jersey
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Clean rooms and convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in a 2 bedroom suite on our trip to Mt Rainier. The inn is conveniently located at the Longmire entrance to the park - the rangers have a lot of good information about the distance from here to Paradise and Sunrise which also have lodges and hiking paths.

Check-in went smoothly and our room was extremely clean. Our room had two twin beds and 1 queen bed and everyone slept very good.

We had breakfast & dinner at the lodge which were both very well timed. The breakfast was served quickly so we could get out on the trail. The dinner was not rushed but not slow either! We really enjoyed all of the food and the trivia on the table about mt Rainier.

The hotel does not have air conditioning so some people may have trouble sleeping with the window open and the noise outside. It was pretty quiet so this was not a problem for us.

The hotel also has nice front porch with rocking chairs with a beautiful view of Mt Rainier as well as a sitting room with tables, chairs and a fireplace with games and cards for hotel guest use.

We would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at National Park Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your thorough review and kind words! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for another visit.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    65
    35
    8
    8
See reviews for
35
89
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Marquette, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We shipped our baggage (backpacks & gear, etc.) ahead of time to Ashford; was waiting for us by our room when we arrived near midnight! Staff was more than friendly, attentive, way beyond the call of duty! Called us by name! Clean rooms; great service, good food. Even let us do a complimentary load of laundry and provided soap!!!!! (Incidentally, the hotel was completely booked, so they had lots more than us to take care of.) Yes, the front desk folks helped seat and bus tables, but that was very effecient and didn't detract from overall service....probably helped to keep prices so reasonable! Highly recommend National Park Inn if you are headed to Mt. Rainier National Park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at National Park Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time you share your experience and your kind comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for another visit in the near future.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed 8/9/13 and had a great stay. Yes, the hotel is over 100 years old, has creaky floors and thin walls. If you are expecting a new hotel this is not it.

However, we found it a great place to stay. Very comfortable rooms, beds, linens, robes, etc. The room and down the hall bathrooms were very clean.

The setting is truly amazing. Great front porch to see the mountain and easy trails around hotel.

We did not eat in the restaurant but ate at Paradise Lodge and the food was very good.

Service at Longmire and Paradise was excellent.

Having the general store next to the hotel is very convenient.

We will be back.

Room Tip: If you can get one, go with the rooms with a bath, they are larger. However, the bath down the hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at National Park Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the National Park Inn. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for a return visit in the near future.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Although the staff was amazing you could tell they were overwhelmed. Never before have I seen front desk bussing tables. The restaurant while beautiful was thrashed. most of the tables were dirty. the staff was running trying their very best to cope. The food was superb hot fresh tasty. fish and chips ( litereally chips) was flavorful while the philly sandwich was the right amount of greasy goopy and fun to eat. although rather expensive didnt have any other options.

the outside was a disaster. half the christmas lights over the door were burned out. (late july) the grounds were unswept and the pathways were littered in debris. also saw orange flags stating something about dont touch pesticides in use. the single payphone outside next to the picnic tables is the only form of outside anything as there is no cell service or wifi for 20 miles.

The lobby reaked of woodsmoke even tho there was no fire. the floor squeaked and bowed. the bathrooms were dirty and had broken doors.

the room while small and quaint had issues. i swear there was a huge fan behind the wall. late at night and again first thing in the morn. the view was abysmal. the price was painful the linens smelled funky and possibly used.

if your stopping for some touristy stuff and a view its unbeatable. the view from the deck (with clear skies) is beyond words. if your planning on eating and staying the night dig deep into your bank account.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at National Park Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts and feedback on your recent stay. Your experience was certainly not indicative of the standards we hold our team members accountable and we sincerely apologize. Please know that your review will be shared with our entire team as we continually strive to challenge ourselves to improve.

Again, thank you for sharing your comments.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I tried the restaurant after a long day in the park. The staff were really friendly , cordial and attentive. There were two problems though. The food quality was mediocre and it was pricy. However given the remoteness of the place it can be good for a quick stop-over.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, FL
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Overall, this is probably the best place to stay in Mt Rainier National Park. It is quiet, comfortable and away from the crowds. The Inn is old and is a throwback to days gone by which adds to it's charm. We had a double bed room without bath and had to use the bathroom and shower in the hall, which actually turned out to not be a big deal. The room was small and plain but we did have a sink in the room. The front porch offers spectacular views of Mt Rainier and is a wonderful place to sit in the evening and watch the sun go down as well as deer grazing in the front yard. Both the hotel and restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful.

The restaurant was quiet and comfortable but the food was just the average national park fare at high prices.

After we arrived at the Paradise area the next day and saw all the crowds and cars, we were very glad we had stayed in Longmire.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brem
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

First of all I would like to say THANK YOU to the staff of the national park inn Renee, Sam, Cliff, Forrest, Dianne. They were so helpful and understanding. The National Park is a AWSOME PLACE. If you are in the the mood for a good time and a place to just kick your feet up this is the place. National Park Inn has alot of history in it. Nice rooms and a good fire in the evening to go long with tea at 3pm. Good stuff. Again thank you to the staff of National Park Inn. Randy

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at National Park Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Randy,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience and your kind words about our team.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a return visit.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to National Park Inn at Mount Rainier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Park Inn at Mount Rainier

Address: Hwy 706, 6 mi E of Nisqually Entrance, Longmire, Mount Rainier National Park, WA 98397
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Mount Rainier National Park > Longmire
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Longmire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic inn nestled in the forest of Longmire provides a relaxing retreat in Mount Rainier National Park with spectacular views of Mount Rainier from comfortable chairs on the front porch. Open year round, hiking trails are just steps from the front door and winter activities include cross-country skiing and snowshoeing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
National Park Hotel Longmire
National Park Inn At Mount Rainier Longmire, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Park Inn at Mount Rainier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.