We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to eat in Long Beach, with a view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pickled Fish Restaurant

Pickled Fish Restaurant
409 Sid Snder Drive, Adrift Hotel and Spa, Long Beach, WA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pickled Fish Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 36 Restaurants in Long Beach
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Belfair
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best place to eat in Long Beach, with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Loved the atmosphere here. Views of the ocean. This restaurant uses a lot of local food, including goat cheese. The menu consists of small plates. We had oysters, small & lightly breaded, so good. They make their own pickled veggies, yum. The salad was the best! Topped it all off with one of their specialty drinks, made with fresh squeezed grapefruit juice. Want to go back to listen to live entertainment in their adjoining "nightclub".

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    78
    27
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bremerton, WA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Small Plates Only, But Very Tasty Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Think of this as an American tapas bar. Small plates...a little of this and a little of that...no full dinners. We had fried calamari in a cone on a bed of shredded cabbage...very tasty, but a bit over breaded (we prefer floured squid). Then we had halibut poppers and the best plate of the evening: "The Vegetarian"...a large plate of sauteed vegetables with a delicious crispy white bean cake and a fried duck egg on top. It looked sunnyside up and underdone, but it was actually cooked to perfection and tasted sublime! Good little restaurant and right down the hall from our 4th floor room at the Adrift Hotel & Spa.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The best place and view in Long Beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Above par for a restaurant around here. Quality you would find in Portland. Will be back! They have a great view of the ocean. The food was great with quality food and small menu items also so you could try several item and not spend a lot.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Can't recommend the fishy pickle…well maybe the drinks.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Short story – Go for the drinks, if anything. Set expectation meter to “negligible reading” for the dining and you just might be able to choke down the fishy pickle. Probably just a bad night...but twasn't pretty.

Good - Drinks – High point

Cocktails were $10. They had several local wines, beers and distillery makes available. The drinks on the menu (we tried most) were boutique-cocktail bar style, straight from P-Town, all the way down to the mason jars rubbed with burnt cinnamon stick. The bartender was entertaining, jovial, attentive and well-tattooed. Recommending the drinks and sit at the bar.

Bad - Food – Café Meh

My wife and I ate the restaurant a couple times. The Cheese Board was disappointing. The pieces were small (place your index and thumb fingers together tip-to-tip small). “The vegetarian” was the best thing we had and the duck eggs were supper sunny. The grilled Elk sliders were underdone (almost elk tartar) and the fried oyster sliders were slough food. I understand that Long Beach is Oystertown, but you'd think they would kill them at least. Overall we were left wishing we weren’t so adventurous in nature.

Ugly - Service – Left the building

The service was so bad, it was funny. The confusion at the entrance is culpable. You can’t seat yourself, they didn’t have a hostess, and no waiting list, just waiting...so we enjoyed the line.

Eventually, when we were seated by the bus boy, we were walked to a spot that we later affectionately dubbed “the plank”. Literally it was a slab of wood about 8” deep and 2.5’ wide. The whole meal we sat sideways at the table. Ok for sailors and cowboys but just awkward otherwise.

After some confusion and arguing between wait staff, we were approached by the loser of the coin-toss. Since we had been waiting about 20 minutes, my wife and I devised a plan to order everything at once. Not the best move in hindsight, despite the fact that she thanked us for doing so. My only guess was that the information overload sent her careening into a panic and she left for, what was to be one of I guess several, smoke breaks.

Things came pell-mell, and pall-mall, if you can get my drift. After consuming copious amounts of runny duck egg and half-cooked oysters, the only thing that seemed palatable was the check. After my patience whittled to a nub (a good while honestly) I started trying to track her down. When she arrived out of nowhere, I told her that I had been looking for her for a while. She told me she had been there the whole time. This really shed light on things. I supposed she wasn’t wearing an all black outfit because it was a uniform, or to look cool. She used it as camouflage to hide in the dark corners of the room away from the customers.

Short Conclusion – Going to the fishy pickle is a little like spending the night with a domanatrix. You have to be good with the experience your going to get going in.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food, drinks and people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We enjoyed everything about the Pickled Fish. Happy hour is excellent. Local food, wine & beer. Great service. Great view.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pickled Fish Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pickled Fish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pickled Fish Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.