We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castaways Seafood Grille

Castaways Seafood Grille
208 Pacific Avenue S, Long Beach, WA 98631
360 642 4745
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 36 Restaurants in Long Beach
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Seaside, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My husband and I decided to take my two days off and go to Long Beach as it is summer and if you live here on the coast you know you don't take days off:) We decided to go to Castaways downtown Long Beach and grab a table have some dinner and to watch the worlds shortest parade on the worlds longest beach:) ( The rodeo parade... lasted about five or ten minutes). Our server, Courtney was very polite considering how busy they were. My husband decided on the Halibut fish and chips and two beautiful margaritas, I decided on the surf and turf with some ice tea. His fish and chips were good but a bit small for him, great margaritas! My surf and turf was excellent not so hot on the tea, really light not much flavor. Not sure if it was a marinade or a rub that was on the eight oz. top that came with dinner but for once I didn't need A1:) Kudos to the gents that came up with that:) The atmosphere was quaint and beachie. We will make more of an effort to drive the short trip to come again:)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castaways S, Owner at Castaways Seafood Grille, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your surf and turf and margaritas and that Courtney was able to serve you. We hope you will visit us on your next trip to Long Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    77
    32
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
OLYMPIA
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Fresh seafood, and the prices are okay. We usually prefer Hungry Harbor though. Still a decent peninsula lunch place.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Clam Chowder”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Although the clam chowder was very good with lots of clams and flavor some of the other dishes had too much batter on them. The waitress was very friendly and accommodating! A good family place to eat. Good milkshakes.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castaways S, Owner at Castaways Seafood Grille, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We are glad that you enjoyed your chowder and that our waitress was able to make your experience pleasant. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverton, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We took a last minute road trip Saturday July 19. We have never been to Long Beach so we decided to go here based on the good reviews. We weren't disappointed.

There was a line but it moved quickly. The Restaurant was full, but service was quick and friendly.

My husband had the pan fried Willapa Bay oysters and a cup of clam chowder. He said they were excellent and tender. Our daughter age 11 had a bowl of clam chowder and said it was the best clam chowder ever. I had the steamed Willapa Bay clams and they were fantastic. Small. No sand.

Some people say there is to much bacon in their dishes. We didn't find the bacon overpowering any of the dishes so it wasn't a problem. If we go back to Long Beach we would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castaways S, Owner at Castaways Seafood Grille, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hi Brooke,

Thank you so much for the kind words! We are so glad that you and your husband and daughter enjoyed our food! We hope you will come back to Long Beach and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

They have really great food and their chowder is good. Great prices and fantastic customer service. This is one of the best places in town to dine at.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castaways S, Owner at Castaways Seafood Grille, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback! We are so glad that you enjoyed your experience and the chowder. Please come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castaways Seafood Grille also viewed

 

Been to Castaways Seafood Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castaways Seafood Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.