We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful little home away from home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Anchorage Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Anchorage Cottages to your Saves list
The Anchorage Cottages
2209 Ocean Beach Blvd. North, Long Beach, WA 98631   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Long Beach
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A wonderful little home away from home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

What a terrific find this place is!

I understand that each cottage slightly different, so this applies to unit #9. Stepping into this cute little two bedroom cottage is more like stepping into a private home than a vacation rental. We were pleased that the actual place more than exceeded what we were expecting from what we had seen on the website’s photos.

The living room had a full sized couch and chairs - enough seating for six, all around a full sized brick fireplace. There was a flat screen TV with cable, DVD and VHS player and enough movies to keep any family busy during the longest winter storm. They even had a supply of card and board games. There was a large picture window to let in plenty of light.

The kitchen was just like a home with full sized oven/range - refrigerator, microwave, toaster and coffee maker. The cabinets were full of just about everything you would need including pots and pans, (including bakeware and cupcake liners!) hand mixer, flatware, serving tools, cups, glasses and mugs. There was even a hot air popcorn pop popper with a supply of popcorn and cooking staples.

The two bedrooms contained one queen size and one twin size bed, each - so there was sleeping room for 6 people. There were extra blankets and pillows available in the closet and ample drawer space if you wanted to use it. I do have to say I think the box spring on the mattress I slept on was nearing the end of its service-life, but I still got a good nights sleep.

The bathroom had fresh, fluffy towels, handmade soaps and hair dryer.

The cottages are located one street off the main road in town (Pacific Avenue - Rt 103) so there was barely any road noise, and we stayed in the cottage closest to the road. The manager was very pleasant and made sure we had everything we needed. She was aware of our arrival time and had turned on the heat for us before our arrival so we had a warm room to greet us. They have Wi-Fi, and since we were on the outside of the court, it was a bit spotty but we did use it many times throughout the long weekend. The cottage is decorated with numerous prints and photos on the walls. (We did start to wonder who all those people are.)

Every unit was full, yet we really didn’t hear anyone else. The cottages are on the quiet, North end of Long Beach. This is the kind of place I would send friends to, for a quiet few days away from the city. I would have no issue coming back here again, either to cottage #9 or any of the others.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    17
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
16
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

The proprietors were very nice and helpful at The Anchorage Cottages. We stayed in cottage #7. With an open floor plan in the kitchen/dining/living room area, we had lots of room to move around and spread out. The two bedrooms also had ample room and the bed we slept in was pretty comfy. We were also pleasantly surprised by the size of the bathroom, as most feel more like a water closet these days. Everything was very clean and the kitchen was well equipped with items we needed. We had a nice fireplace with a supply of chopped wood, replenished every day. Our cottage also had a private patio, and while we weren't right on the beach, we could hear the ocean from the back porch. The ONLY drawback for us, was how far up the coast it was. We wanted to explore down south to Cannon Beach, OR, and it was a little bit of a jaunt.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

Pros- access to the beach; away from town; pet friendly; kitchen/cooking facility; friendly, accommadating staff; clean; quiet at night
Cons- a constant parade of people walking their dogs by our window through the common area toward the beach; a tiny outside sitting area adjacent to the common area; worn, cheap cookware( if you plan on cooking alot bring your own skillets and cutlery).
Surprises-endless bin of firewood, books, movies, games, puzzles, comfortable bed, fluffy towels

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

Stayed here for three nights with my husband and two sons (4 & 6) in cottage 7. It was perfect for us. The walk to the beach was beautiful and we lucked out with the weather. The cottage came fully equipped with games, books, beach toys and the kitchen was stocked with dishes (even had their special blend of coffee for the coffeemaker). We were able to avoid eating out for every meal, which is a blessing with two young boys.
The only hitch was the lack of wi-fi and the fact that the office closed at 6 (that may be a seasonal thing). Especially loved the fireplace and free firewood.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

This was our second stay at Anchorage Cottages. We stayed both times in #6 and found it exceptionally clean and neat. We love having a kitchen and a fireplace. Our two dogs like the short walk through the dunes to the fabulous beach. And, the staff is so friendly and wecolming. We will go back again!

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

We visited Long Beach for Int'l Kite Festival and we booked one bed room cottage at Anchorage Cottages. They had a full kitchen, DVD players, hair dryers and everything you'd needed for comfortable stay. It is very quiet because it's 1.26 miles away from all the actions, but it was a nice walk back and forth. We will be back for next year!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Anchorage Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage Cottages

Address: 2209 Ocean Beach Blvd. North, Long Beach, WA 98631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Long Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of our immaculate 1 and 2 bedroom cottages have full kitchens and most have wood-burning fireplaces and are pet-friendly, creating the ideal location for families, couples, or the individual. Enjoy our splendid gardens and picnic areas or take the short walk through a young pine forest on our private path and drop easily onto miles of unspoiled beaches. Call today to redefine your beach getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Anchorage Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anchorage Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.