We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Anchorage Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Anchorage Cottages to your Saves list
The Anchorage Cottages
2209 Ocean Beach Blvd. North, Long Beach, WA 98631   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Long Beach
Kent, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cozy and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed in cottage #3. When we arrived on a cold February evening, our unit was toasty warm and inviting with a flickering fire in the electric stove. The place was spotless and very comfortable. I really liked the retro feel.
We did not use the kitchenette but looking through the cupboards it appeared well-stocked with dishes and cooking utensils. The light from the parking lot shone through the window coverings so it was not quite dark enough for us. The front desk staff was very helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    14
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
15
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

This is the 3rd time in 2 years we’ve stayed in cottage #9 which we obviously enjoy. On this trip we also had another couple along with us staing on cottage #8, who brought along their two dogs.

The manager was friendly and helpful as always when I called to verify our reservations made 8 or 9 months earlier. and also checked us in. They just don’t tolerate dogs, it appears they actually welcome them. The floors of the entry, kitchen and living room of both of our cottages was linoleum, perfect for cleaning up after wet paws. There is a lot of grass to walk the dog and play frisbee. The cottages are off the main road, and about a half mile to the beach - so there is plenty of places to walk the dog no matter which direction you choose.

We noticed a few new pictures on the walls in cottage 9, it’s nice to know they update the place from time to time. Everything was in good condition and well stocked with cooking and serving equipment. We really enjoy the full sized, brick fireplace and the ample supply of free firewood.

Since we were in cottage 8, as well - we can now see that each of the cottages really is decorated differently. In cottage 9, there were upholstered sofa and overstuffed chair, a recliner and an Ikea bentwood chair - while over in cottage 8 there was just a futon couch and 2 ikea style bentwood chairs. Cottage 8 did not have the wallpaper or number of pictures on the wall that 9 does. It will really pay you to look at the photos on their website of each cottage closely - to determine what unit will fit your tastes and to know what you will be getting.

Both 8 and 9 are about the same large size. In addition to the kitchen (full sized appliances) and dining table area, the living room area is ample with full sized fireplace and picture window. Each had 2 bedrooms and full bath. They are more like apartments.

We talked to the staff a few times during our week’s stay, they really seem to want to make your trip comfortable and enjoyable and gave us some good restaurant suggestions. Our stay had no unpleasant surprises and we again would recommend this place as being quiet, comfortable and reasonably priced.

The one thing that could stand improvement was the wi-fi signal. In cottages 8 and 9 it was very spotty, almost unusable this year as compared to last year.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

The cottage we stayed in was clean and neat. Some of the furnishings were a little worn--but that made it seem homey. The flower beds were absolutely beautiful and we found the front desk staff to be pleasant and helpful. Parking is tight but each cottage has an assigned place, so if you only have one vehicle, you should be fine. There is a journal placed in the cabin for guests to chronicle their stay and we enjoyed reading the comments from previous guests. One thing that might be important to note is that it is NOT a short walk to the beach at all. I would not want to try it with very young children. Also bring some mosquito spray since you trek through a grove of evergreens and the mosquitoes can be fierce. Be advised that at least at the time we were visiting you were not allowed to swim in the ocean due to dangerous currents.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

This was our third visit to The Anchorage Cottages and we love this place. We stayed at Cottage 1 which is a small one bed room unit but big enough for my husband, our dog and I. It is far enough from all the traffic and we like the tiny trail to go to the beach! We will come back next year again! Only complaint would be the love seat, which was too small for both of us. We liked the couch the room had until last year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Well, where does one start? We had stayed here on a couple of other occasions and loved it. This time, however, it's obvious some changes - which are not in traveller's favor - have been put in place.

First off - we stayed in Cabin #7.

What was wrong? Well, the handle was completely broken off of the refer. (and I made sure to tell the front desk about it) and the rocking chair had massive stains on it (and I also made sure to tell the front desk about this). After mentioning these 2 things to the front desk, what I got was "well, it's hard to do maintenance in the summer because these are always full." That may be but, if so, then give me a discount because you're still charging top dollar (and $10 more for an extra person). Of course, no discount ensued.



Then, oh, let me see..........I had to go get kleenex because the box was out; there were potato chips and dental floss on the floor when we got there; the refer sounded like a Mack truck and my husband (the darling slept on the futon because the bed was miniscule) couldn't really sleep because of it; there is only 1 coffee for you and you must buy extra if you want; you are also asked to leave a tip for the cleaning person (what, am I on a cruise?); and you can purchase extra soap if you want; dishes for our use were chipped (owner saves the good ones for themselves); and towel replacement didn't happen so I had to go troop once again to the office to get them.

Lord............it was a mess...........

It's about 15 minute to the beach.

After I wrote my review on TripAdvisor, the "manager - Beth" contacted me and apologized for all of this and stated that the refer. had been replaced (oh joy) and the filthy rocker had been removed. She offered to give me back one night's stay. I politely responded that since we endured this mess for 2 nights, and there was no offer at the time we were enduring same, that they should really refund 2 nights but to please let me know. About 5 days after initially hearing from "Beth" and not hearing anything else, I called her.

Beth snottily informed me that she just got off the phone with the owner and they weren't going to do anything. She then proceeded to "wish me well."

Yea, this is all quality customer service and makes people want to visit your establishment.

Sadly, this used to be our favorite place. We will now go to our NEW favorite place, Klipsan Beach Cottages - which are much nicer, cleaner, closer to the beach, and completely individual. Check them out!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

When we moved to Vancouver fifteen years ago, we were looking for "pet friendly" cabins on or near the beach in Long Beach, WA, to share with family and friends. We sure lucked out when we found this place. Usually once or twice a year we come out and stay. So far we have stayed in every one of them. All the cottages are very quaint and well decorated. The real fireplaces in most of the cabins are a nice plus, the rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. Our favorite is cabin #7.

The property management people on site are wonderful and always aim to please. We have always had a terrific time and have told many people about staying here, and they have. It is a great place for huge family gatherings as there are 10 cabins. There are other hotels and cabins on Long Beach and we have stayed at a few, but they don't compare. I also don't think that the property management people would rent to "party animals," so you don't have to worry about being kept up all night. You will hear the sounds of children, dogs barking on occasion, music and laughter lingering in the air and the distance sounds of the ocean. What's better than that!

We'll be back.
PJ Antil

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed for two nights, with our kids. This place was very quiet, which was great.
The walk to the beach might be a bit much for families with super small kids, but for ours (12 and 14) it was fine. It was nice to go down to the beach early in the morning and be the only ones down there!
We don't have dogs, but saw a lot of people staying with dogs, but never heard any noise.
The owner was friendly and the room was nice-sized. The tv was small, but that's not something that's important to us. My son loved the jigsaw puzzles in the room.
The kitchen had everything we needed, and the bed was super-comfortable. Next time we'll get a two-bedroom, rather than a 1-bedroom, so our kids have a little more space to spread out.
We really have no suggestions -- loved the sitting area in front of the cottage and played basketball for a few minutes on the basketball court. We liked that it was out of the main drag off Long Beach, but still close enough to drive in quickly. We plan to come back.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Anchorage Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage Cottages

Address: 2209 Ocean Beach Blvd. North, Long Beach, WA 98631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Long Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of our immaculate 1 and 2 bedroom cottages have full kitchens and most have wood-burning fireplaces and are pet-friendly, creating the ideal location for families, couples, or the individual. Enjoy our splendid gardens and picnic areas or take the short walk through a young pine forest on our private path and drop easily onto miles of unspoiled beaches. Call today to redefine your beach getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your The Anchorage Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anchorage Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.