We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adrift Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Adrift Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Adrift Hotel and Spa
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   409 Sid Snyder Drive, Long Beach, WA 98631   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Long Beach
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The good:
Location, Location, Location.
Small-business owned.
Restaurant/Bar on site
Pet friendly
Clean
Friendly Staff
Great coffee (free)
Nice beer/wine selection for purchase in the lobby
Bicycles are free with your stay
Comfortable beds
Super clean rooms
Affordable
Flat screen television
Games/Movies to borrow


We enjoyed our room, and although it was in the older building, we still had an ocean view albiet across a parking lot. Two things that we weren't thrilled with - the noise from the room above us, you could hear ever little footstep (I'm pretty sure has not gone unnoticed as they provided earplugs on the nightstand, good call). The shower--after clamming, I was ready for a long, hot shower. The temperature vacillated between perfect (I like hot), cold, luke-warm, and so unbelievably hot I had to jump out of the shower. I noticed that the temp. was rising in conjuction with the upstairs toilet flushing and shower running. Again, this is older building, and I like that they are going Green, but I can see a more litigious person having a field day with the scalding hot water.

If you are having second thoughts, I would encourage you to check out their website as it really does spell out what to expect. Overall we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    261
    124
    54
    58
See reviews for
190
490
27
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Came up solo from Portland for a midweek getaway at the coast. I stayed in the East building, third (top) floor, in a Queen basic. When checking in the desk person gave me a voucher for the restaurant, but failed to mention it was not open that particular evening, resulting in an unnecessary jaunt over there and a search for another dinner spot in town. Was told I could help myself to the coffee/tea in the lobby, but as this would also require a wet and cold walk across the parking lot to the west building, I took her up on the offer of getting a coffee maker delivered to the room. Arrived in a cute basket outside my door, but the next morning (after finding a place to plug it in) I realized the filter basket was missing and had to call to have someone bring one over.
On to the room. First impression, Lysol/old motel smell. That went away eventually, or I stopped noticing. it. No where to put your bags or put away your clothes as mentioned by others, so your stuff ends up all over the place. Cool-ish decor but also felt cool-cold metal chairs are hard and uncomfortable, and are the only thing to sit on besides the bed. I put a bed pillow on one which helped a little. Hard floors. One table in the room fits a laptop, a book, and a cup of coffee. Not a bag. View: ocean beyond the west building/main and somewhat busy parking lot and road-cars can drive onto the beach here. In the room, earplugs provided came in handy as I discovered at 4 am that the walls were (ahem) quite thin. Bathroom-tiny, older tub etc, but clean. Sink-small, no bar for hand towel, no where to hang travel bag etc. Bed comfy enough-only one nightstand and to turn on/off light on wall above it you have to get out of be to use a switch on the opposite wall. Annoying. Also, only one nightstand (aka wood crate) by the bed.
Overall the place was clean, staff friendly enough. I think the "suites" in the west building might be better equipped (?) but all ocean views look like they would include the parking lot, road, and hotel across the street. Don't know how two people would manage. I'd say this is a budget motel in the middle of a make over, good for people in their 20s and no one with kids. To relax at the coast, I would not choose this place.

Room Tip: Ask about amenities/seating options in the room before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Well I went down for a retreat and didn't have a relaxing time in the hotel. The retreat was great but this was the first time staying there and found it cold. I had no idea the first two floors of the east wing was pet friendly and was not even asked if I had problems with pets (which I do and ended up with a bad allegry attack). The staff should be more informed when helping people: was not told when I checked in about ammenties, or about what rooms where pets have stayed in. Didn't even see signs to inform guest about which floors where pet friendly.

The maid services didn't replace dirty towels, came back in the evening and had to call for clean ones. The only things the maid service did was empty the garbage. We asked for an extra chair and never recieved it (had only one in room with two people / no table).

The idea you have to ask for your ammenties is a little ridiculous-coffee pots, hair dyers and irons should be in the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Creek, Washington
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The name...Adrift Hotel and Spa is a little misleading as it really is more of a motel (their website indicates that they remodeled an old motel building) and they really don't have a spa per say. (It is a downstairs unit/room that is not occupied at all times. Must call someone to make an appointment)

That said, the location is great! Literally steps away from the beach (paved pathway and a boardwalk) as well as close proximity to main street in town. They have two buildings that make up their property: The west building which houses their lobby and restaurant (more on that in a minute) and sits perpendicular to the ocean and has an elevator; The east building is a motel/apartment style building that sits parallel to the ocean with 3-floors but does not have an elevator. (Third floor offers best views)

Rooms are VERY basic but not misleading if you read their website. Nothing fancy and a bit stark but work well for an economical place to stay.

Free coffee/tea in the lobby all day long; Free bicycle use; Free movies/games. After a warm cup of joe, you can grab a bike and ride into town for some great breakfast places.

Staff: Some of the most friendly people we have ever met. From check-in to check-out, every staff member we came into contact with was extremely friendly.

Restaurant: Awesome view of the ocean and they have good food along with some very interesting drinks which are made from freshly squeezed fruits. (Catch their happy hour for a few good deals) Ask for Lydia....she will take good care of you.

Overall, a basic property with friendly staff.

Room Tip: Third floor in the East building, towards the north end = Great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Booked this place because it was cheap with reasonable reviews.
Was a bit dubious when I walked into the room to a funky old hotel smell.

The beds were clean however, room was basic and functional, had a bunk bed in one room and queen in the other. Very easy to accomodate a family on a budget in one room.

Location is excellent, 200m from the sea and the Grey whale skeleton on the beach. Kids enjoyed the stay. Be warned the ladder to the top bunk is constructed from cast iron pipes, so I would not like to trust the under 7's to sleep up there.

We lucked out with a quiet elderly couple in the next room, could still hear there hushed discussions quite clearly though. Would not want to be next to someone on their honeymoon and have to explain that to the kids the next morning. All the sound proofing qualities of a tent.
Would probably not visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We really enjoyed our 2 nights in the Beach Suite. What a fantastic room! The dogs might have had a better time, though, and that's totally due to the dog-friendly hotel and staff. Beautiful path through the dunes and free bike rentals are fun. Coffee and lemon-water in the lobby were exceptional. Great restaurant with a great view, too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

While I admire the owners desire to reduce their carbon footprint and "go organic", I believe the motel rooms were cold and stark. (See photos from other reviewers) Just a few changes could make the room a little more user comfortable and aesthetically pleasing, i.e., hire someone with an artistic bent to paint the murals in the rooms, replace those cold, hard metal chairs and fix the bathroom molding. Also, having exposed wires hanging under the board that is holding the TV and several exposed outlets, seems that it could be a hazard to children. While we had great weather and spent most of the daylight hours outside, there are times at the coast that you would need to spend more time indoors and a nice, cozy, safe room would be appreciated. Also know that, if you are in building B, even on the third floor, as we were, you can see the ocean, but 1/2 of the "view" is of building A. That being said, the price was right (Travelzoo voucher), the staff was friendly, reservations went smoothly, free use of bikes was a plus and the restaurant "The Pickled Fish" was very good. I'm not sure if we would stay here again, but I definitely think it helps to "know before you go".

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side of Building A should have an unobstructed view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adrift Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adrift Hotel and Spa

Address: 409 Sid Snyder Drive, Long Beach, WA 98631
Location: United States > Washington > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Adrift Hotel and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience our modern, ocean front hotel in the heart of the peninsula. We offer a variety of guest rooms, from no-frills studios to ocean front suites; all with updated amenities, a unique style and a focus on sustainability. Adrift is a beachfront experience…some of our many on-site amenities include a small urban spa, complimentary bikes, game tables, and ocean view dining at [Pickled Fish] restaurant, and live music from some of the northwest's most notable musicians at least 4 nights per week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Adrift Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adrift Hotel Long Beach
Edgewater Hotel Long Beach
Edgewater Motel Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adrift Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.