We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adrift Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Adrift Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Adrift Hotel and Spa
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   409 Sid Snyder Drive, Long Beach, WA 98631   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Long Beach
Port Orchard, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We liked it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

I read some of the other reviews for this hotel and not everyone like it. I think you have to look at it for what it is, a hotel that is committed to reuse what they can and make it work. Furniture is a little eclectic, but functional. Rooms are not huge, but big enough for all our needs. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We had a great basket breakfast the morning we left. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: They only have wifi in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    229
    106
    48
    53
See reviews for
157
413
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Ok if you like pallets you'll love this place. EVERYTHING is made out of used pallets. The bed, the bed side tables, shelfs. I thought this place is really cheap....but if you like to stay in a small room with nothing but a view I guess it would be ok. Not very many channels on TV but they do give u a DVD player. No microwave hair dryers, irons, NO CARPET or even a dresser in these rooms. Weak Wifi signal but no comunity computer to use. There are microwaves to use in theyer lounges. There are free bike u can borrow and 1 little wagon u can use for beach coaming. NO POOL OR SPA. I must say though we stayed in a room with beautiful view and VERY cozy bed. I just found the place to be way too minamal for my taste. I like big rooms and lots of amenitys and furniture. I bought the stay on groupon so it was really cheap to stay I also upgraded it for a bigger bed and view. So the price was great for us....but I would not pay full price.

Room Tip: pick the 4th floor better views and less noise from kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I got a livingsocial deal for Adrift Hotel and we had a fantastic weekend getaway. The hotel is remodeled very nicely and they have comfy beds with nice duvets. It's right on the ocean (be sure to ask for a room with a view) walking distance from the boardwalk. They also have a lovely lobby complete with complimentary delicious coffee, citrus infused water, bicycles, and dvds to use in your room. There are plenty of great restaurants nearby as well.

We will definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Some of the good things - the hotel is next to the beach, so it is a very short walk. The staff were nice. Bikes are available for free, as are DVDs and board games. They accept pets (we don't have dogs, but many people did and the hotel seems to cater to that in a big way). They have a lovely breakfast basket available in the morning and the Groupon deal we had included a bottle of wine and a box of organic, vegan truffles. The lobby has some nice snack options as well as coffee and water. You can also buy chilled wine and juice. There were lots of outlets by the bed, so you could plug in your phone and use it as an alarm. You can get a hair dryer and ironing board/iron in the lobby if you need one.

Now the reason why I rated this hotel as poor. The decor is awful. They present themselves as an ecologically minded hotel with a small footprint. There are lots of ways to do that without feeling like you are sleeping in someone's basement that has been decorated by their son's middle school shop class. The pictures on the website don't give you the full feel of how tacky this place is. The bathroom had wood floors that look like bare subflooring. From looking at the responses to other negative reviews, I see that they say they are actually sealed, but you don't get that sense from looking at them and it creates a situation where you wonder how clean they are. The furnishings are wooden crates, plain wooden shelves, a platform for the bed (think futon) that is also made of unfinished wood. The room wasn't very clean. The bed linens were low quality and the pillows were at the stage where we would have tossing them at home. We pulled out the spare blanket and it was rough and uncomfortable. There was one small chair and the design of the room would have made it hard to move the small couch-style lounger to a point where you could see the TV, so we mostly sat on the bed. This also meant perching on the bed, eating the items from our nice breakfast basket off the wooden crate end table.

I had brought a travel hair dryer and had to search for an outlet in the main room that would take that type of plug (standard hairdryer type) - the outet near the bathroom sink was too close to the wall. The shampoo and soap are in refillable containers, a nice ecological touch but given how unclean things felt in general, those weren't very inviting.

At one point a fire alarm went off and we headed to the door to see what was up - we never did find out as the alarm stopped- and I noticed that there was no evacuation map on the door - something I have seen on doors of every one of the hotels I have stayed at in the past (I travel for work, so I've seen a lot of hotel doors). We were near the stairs, so it would have been no big deal for us know what to do, but I was surprised it was missing.

My husband and I were pretty put off until the next day, when, after a beer at the Rogue Pub in Astoria (a great place for lunch, by the way), we realized that it was the type of thing you would find in an episode of Portlandia. The reframe helped us find the humor in the situation. I mean, the lobby chairs are covered in a fabric that looks like duct tape and the art in the room was purposely framed with masking tape.

We had a 4th floor “deluxe” room and it seemed stark and cold - matching the weather outside, so we didn't get the escape of a nice cozy room.

I had read the rave reviews but not the bad ones, nor did I take the time to look at the pictures - if I had I'm not sure we would have stayed there. A lesson for next time.

I have seen some beautiful "green" facilities but these guys are just not pulling it off. If you are looking for a nice comfy stay at the beach, especially in the winter when you may be spending more time in your room, you may want to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: They offer a variety of room types and one building does not have an elevator, so work closely with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Wow. Unbelievable staff/service! Bikes were great. Love the view/location. PET FRIENDLY. Very comfy tempurpedic beds in king rooms. I can't say enough! Bonfire kits for the beach...smores. wow...

Room Tip: Get a king..better beds. It's worth the upgrade!!! Nice showers in king rooms also. And chais...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I love this place. We came to Long Beach in the dead of winter (end of February and early March) to see some winter storm action. I pretty much hate the typical hotel experience one gets everywhere else, but Adrift Hotel is a delightful refreshing departure from that worn out norm. The rooms are clean and simple with a strong bent towards being environmentally sensitive - right down to the toiletries which are refilled with organic products. Every room they offer is pictured on their website, so if you were expecting something different you probably weren't paying attention.

Adrift is located right on the beach and next to a wonderful boardwalk and a long windy paved trail for walkers and bike riders. Their lobby is stocked with a delightful selection of organic foods and a nice selection of wine and beer. Fresh brewed organic coffee is always available. They have bikes available for guests, are pet and kid friendly. They also offer some fun packages like the "bonfire package" to make your vacation even more special.

There is a restaurant in the same building with a great view, but the food is predictable and falls short of noteworthy. I'd definitely recommend trying some of the other eats in the area if you are foodie.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Very enjoyable place. Right on the beach with a restaurant over looking the water. A different style of decoration, a feel of modernism. Large rooms, but a little cold due to the style and decorations.

Friendly staff. Had a humorous conversation with the front desk at check-in.

Enjoyable

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adrift Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adrift Hotel and Spa

Address: 409 Sid Snyder Drive, Long Beach, WA 98631
Location: United States > Washington > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Adrift Hotel and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience our modern, ocean front hotel in the heart of the peninsula. We offer a variety of guest rooms, from no-frills studios to ocean front suites; all with updated amenities, a unique style and a focus on sustainability. Adrift is a beachfront experience…some of our many on-site amenities include a small urban spa, complimentary bikes, game tables, and ocean view dining at [Pickled Fish] restaurant, and live music from some of the northwest's most notable musicians at least 4 nights per week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Adrift Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adrift Hotel Long Beach
Edgewater Hotel Long Beach
Edgewater Motel Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adrift Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.