We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True European-Style Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pension Anna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pension Anna to your Saves list
Hotel Pension Anna
926 Commercial St (Markt Strasse), Leavenworth, WA 98826   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$195 (USD)
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Leavenworth
North Bend, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“True European-Style Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

Everything about the hotel Pension Anna reminds me of my trip through Europe in 1990. We had the unique experience of celebrating Christmas that year in Salzburg Austria at the 600 year old hotel Goldener Hirsch on the Getreidegasse in the old part of town near the birth home of Mozart. What thrilled me so much about the Pension Anna was the many similarities in the style of the rooms, gracious service, and the lovely breakfast room and genuine European-style breakfast. Even the coffee is rich and smooth! For anyone who desires a true European experience without the pricetag of a trip to Europe, I highly recommend Leavenworth, WA and the Pension Anna!! 5-Star Experience in my book!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    49
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
100
288
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duvall, WA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

My wife and I just escaped to Leavenworth for a few days during the memorial day weekend and stayed at the Pension Anna. Gary and Michelle were lovely hosts and our stay was well beyond our expectations. They suggested several activities that worked out perfectly and we only have great things to stay. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

This is by no means a pension hotel but it is beautiful and likely superior to anything in the price range. Very authentic feel.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

My husband and I decided to spend a night in Leavenworth, Washington, while on a trip to nearby Wenatchee. Leavenworth is a town designed to look like a Bavarian village -- and it succeeds marvelously. Most of the hotels and B&Bs have lots of Bavarian touches. However, the Hotel Pension Anna is the most authentic Bavarian inn in Leavenworth. It was built 21 years ago by a local dentist and his wife, who spared no expense in recreating a traditional Bavarian pension. They even went so far as to move a beautiful local church (thereby saving it from demolition) next door, and have converted part of the church to a sensational suite for guests of Hotel Pension Anna. Throughout Hotel Pension Anna, almost all of the furniture was hand-selected from Germany, and much of it is elaborately painted in true Bavarian style. It's gorgeous!

When you first arrive at Hotel Pension Anna, you are greeted by a true Bavarian exterior, and upon entering are immediately charmed by the decor, and feel transported to another time and place. (The dining room, where you will eat breakfast, is absolutely lovely.) Each of the guest rooms is wonderfully decorated, and some even have balconies (although if your room doesn't have a balcony there is a balcony off the hallway on each floor that is accessible to all guests.)

The place was immaculate, with all modern conveniences, including hair driers and flat screen TVs. In the morning, a true Bavarian breakfast (included in the price of the room) is served in the dining room. The owners purchase rolls and coffee cake from one of the local Bavarian bakeries, and also serve a selection of delicious fresh meats, cheeses, fruit, meusli, yogurt, juice, tea, cocoa and coffee. You will not go hungry!

The current owners, Gary and Michele, love keeping a small inn because it gives them time to interact with their guests. We had delightful conversations with both of them (which is how we learned so much about the history of the place.) However, if you're shy or want privacy, don't worry, they're very sensitive to what their guests want. Making their guests comfortable is their first priority.

The location of Hotel Pension Anna is perfect -- one block off the main street of Leavenworth -- so all the shops and restaurants are within easy walking distance. (You'll park your car in the free-of-charge lot on the premises and never have to move it.)

Leavenworth is a beautiful little town, in a spectacular alpine setting. The snow-capped mountains surround you even when it's short-sleeve weather in the village. The views will take your breath away. Nearby, there's a wonderful park with a great walking trail along the river. My husband walked over to the park (while I slept in) and got his morning exercise.

The price was a bit of a splurge for us, but well worth it to be able to have a true Bavarian experience. We loved the Hotel Pension Anna and you will too!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilsonville, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

Pension Anna brought back many fond memories of our stays in Bavaria and Austria. We enjoyed an authentic Bavarian style breakfast in a charming breakfast room right out of the heart of the Alps. The owners greet and chat with their guests, a perfect start to your day. This is a perfect get-a-way and a Must Visit! This is our second visit and we are already planning our next stays...Sound of Music, anyone? Oktoberfest , of course and then there's Christkindl Mart.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

The Pension Anna is a delightful experience in Old World charm and Real World hospitality. The rooms are exquisite, furnished like true Bavarian hotels in Germany. Even the bathroom fixtures mimic what we remember from Europe. Though the Pension Anna is just a stone’s throw from Leavenworth’s quaint shops and eateries, it is located on a quiet street so guests are sure of a good night’s rest.

Breakfast is a treat in itself. Set in a sunny room with amazing hand carved ceilings and walls, the meal is a combination of good coffee, German Brotchen (crunchy rolls), sausage, and cheeses.

And the one-on-one service! It’s been a long time since someone made my favorite soft-boiled egg just the way I like it—and did it two mornings in a row.

We highly recommend the Pension Anna whenever you visit the wonderful city of Leavenworth.

Larry and Carol Henderson

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

Bravo to Pension Anna for great, great attention to detail! Michelle and Gary made us feel so welcome when we arrived, it was as if we were arriving at a friend's house in Bavaria. The rooms are very comfortable and nicely done. All the furniture makes you feel as if you're stepping into a wonderful Bavarian Pension, decorated with beautifully carved and painted beds, armoires and more. Breakfast is included and again, you feel as if you're in Europe! Gary told us, at breakfast, to "walk the halls" in the hotel so we took him up on his offer. Every room was different and special. I already have ours picked out for the next visit! Leavenworth is a special town and Pension Anna beckons you to return! Thanks Gary and Michelle!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pension Anna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Anna

Address: 926 Commercial St (Markt Strasse), Leavenworth, WA 98826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Leavenworth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Leavenworth
#4 Business Hotel in Leavenworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wilkommen! We are the Bavarian Pension (small family owned Hotel)in Leavenworth and have the only true Germnan breakfast in the village. From decor, to comfort, to service, experience Germany without the airfare or a passport. Our goal is that every guest leaves having had a unique experience and a "taste of Germany" --- without the need of a passport.We also market our sister property--Pension Mischi--across the street.These are some of the very finest suites in our village and include a Bavarian breakfast at Pension Anna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Pension Anna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anna Hotel Leavenworth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pension Anna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.