We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again, Met all of my Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pension Anna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pension Anna to your Saves list
Hotel Pension Anna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   926 Commercial St (Markt Strasse), Leavenworth, WA 98826   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Call Hotel direct
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Once again, Met all of my Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

It was refreshing to be met by the owners Gary and Michele. No worries pulling into the parking lot, it was bare asphalt. The walkways were clear of ice and snow as well.The setting was great "Bavaria" with a foot of snow. Well lit at night. Custom rooms. It's great staying in a different room each time because they are all so individually unique. We plan on coming back and staying in a diffeent room each time we visit.

Room Tip: the high end rooms are worrth every penny. Check out the honeymoon package they offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary-Michele T, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Oh! thank you.. we have many goals but meeting expectations is at the top!! Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to the next time?
Thank you staying and until next time?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    49
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
104
296
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Having just moved to Seattle within the last year, we enjoy exploring what Washington has to offer. We have heard so much about Leavenworth and researched where we should stay. The reviews for Pension Anna led us to this selection and we were NOT dissapointed.
The property is charming and has a very stronge Bavarian feel to it, without feeling fake and touristic. The woodwork is beautiful, you can tell a lot of love goes into this place.
Gary and Michelle were the perfect hosts. So welcoming and interested in everyone that passed through the front door. We really enjoyed visiting with them each morning.
We stayed in the Pfaffenwinkl room, in the chapel. it was so charming and spacious. Pension Anna had all the features we were looking for, including a fantastic location, one street off the main street so it was nice and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary-Michele T, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind input. The room you stayed in is all imported from Austria and solid Walnut. Really a great place to get away. We are and our staff thank you for joining us and we appreciate your picking us as yoiur place to stay. It was indeed our pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephrata, Washington
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Very sad to see one of my favorite spots will no longer be. My wife and I have many memories and pictures to keep us going. Leavenworth will not be the same place without you. The rooms and the views along with all he staff and can't forget the soaking pool all the best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Very clean and a great breakfast! However I felt mislead in that we were told on the phone we would have a "ground level" room but it was actually in a basement. There was just one small window, no air circulation and it was really dark and stuffy. Some street noise. We asked to change rooms but weren't accommodated even though there did appear to be other unoccupied rooms. Not a bad place and nice decorations, but it seemed pretty overpriced, especially for such a dark basement setting. I wouldn't recommend the room we were in, but others may be nice.

Room Tip: Be specific in your request if you don't want to stay in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary-Michele T, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We are so sorry you did not have the best of experiences with us. We do have some rooms we assign for familiy and children use. The lower level rooms are often preferred for the quiet and ease of access both outside and in. However, we did not meet your expectations and without knowing more details all we can do is apologize and ask you contact us directily for your next stay. We appreciate your input. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was our first trip to Leavenworth, and we chose the Hotel Pension Anna based on the reviews we read on Trip Advisor. We weren't disappointed.

We decided to splurge and stay in the Alte Kapelle suite, which was a great decision for our family - my wife and I stayed in the bedroom on the first floor, and the kids got the choir loft. The suite was tastefully decorated (including the Christmas decorations that we were happy to see were still up) and the room, in my wife's words, was "the cleanest she's ever stayed in".

The real reason we'll come back to the Hotel Pension Anna isn't the room, though - it's Gary, Michele, and the staff. They made all the difference - smiling faces as we arrived for breakfast, and plenty of tips on where to eat, what to do. But two suggestions really stood out - going to the tubing hill earlier than we planned to avoid the crowds, and taking a detour on our trip back to see the local country. This really made our trip memorable and we can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary-Michele T, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to reply. We strive to give you the feel of the small family owned hotel. We always appreciate the mention of our staff and the excellant job they do in preparing your room. Thank you and ... until next time?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Not only is the pension picturesque and luxurious, but the hosts and employees are as charming, professional, and helpful as I have ever encountered. Our suite was an absolute fairy tale dream, and the Bavarian breakfast was elegant and diverse, with very personal attention. The "egg cozies" were a family favorite! I must mention that the free parking in the middle of this crowded town was a significant benefit, especially considering the easy walking distance from every place we wanted to go. A perfect stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary-Michele T, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for joining us. We are greatful you chose us and had a good experience with us. Our goal is have each stay as good as we can make it for you. Thank you for choosing us and when you come back--the eggs will be waiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We selected Gary and Michele's cozy 'pension' for a few nights in Leavenworth before Xmas, to get us in the mood for the festive season.

We weren't disappointed - the pine clad room, the traditional breakfast and the 3 feet of fresh snow made for a wonderful experience. The hosts and all their staff made us feel like guests in their home, and were never too busy to chat or to offer ideas for things to do.

The room was comfortable, homely and welcoming and was very close to the real thing, as I have stayed in Bavaria a number of times.

Already are looking forward to staying again this coming Christmas. Would thoroughly recommend Pension Anna to anyone asking! It is the place to stay when visiting the quaint village of Leavenworth.

PS - Michele makes a mean boiled egg, and Gary's legs look great in leiderhosen ;o)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary-Michele T, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We feel when you live in paraidse it always easy and exciting to share with our many fine guests. Thanks for joining and us and until next time?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pension Anna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Anna

Address: 926 Commercial St (Markt Strasse), Leavenworth, WA 98826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Leavenworth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Leavenworth
#5 Business Hotel in Leavenworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pension Anna 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wilkommen! We are the Bavarian Pension (small family owned Hotel)in Leavenworth and have the only true German breakfast in the village. From decor, to comfort, to service, experience Germany without the airfare or a passport. Our goal is that every guest leaves having had a unique experience and a "taste of Germany" --- without the need of a passport.We also market our sister property--Pension Mischi--across the street.These are some of the very finest suites in our village and include a Bavarian breakfast at Pension Anna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Pension Anna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anna Hotel Leavenworth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pension Anna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.