We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in December!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pension Anna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pension Anna to your Saves list
Hotel Pension Anna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   926 Commercial St (Markt Strasse), Leavenworth, WA 98826   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Call Hotel direct
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Argyle, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great stay in December!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We booked the Alte Kapelle room, which is in the former Catholic Church, and were VERY impressed. The pictures online do not do it justice. When they say suite, this is more like a mini-apartment minus the kitchen. The bedroom is nice and roomy with a big king sized bed, the living room is all decked out for Christmas with it's own full sized Christmas tree along with other Christmas decorations, there is an entry way, and the upstairs loft (formerly the choir loft) has its own sink and two twin sized beds and a little mini Christmas tree to boot! The location of the hotel is very convenient. It is on Commercial Street which is the next street over from Front Street where all the action is. Everything is within a 5 minute walk. We will definitely stay here again the next time we're in Leavenworth!

Room Tip: Book early! These rooms can fill up a year in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary-Michele T, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your super review. We and our great staff stive aleways to give you our valued guest what we can in showing you the best of Leavenworth.
Thanks you for choosing Pension Anna and
Until next time?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    49
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
104
296
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

It was our first Xmas together in Leavenworth. It was a bit expensive for a young couple of us, but it was a wonderful experience. The owners were wonderful, we arrived very late the first night but they gave us wonderful direction and was super helpful!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary-Michele T, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
As always, the pleasure is all ours. We have the best guests anywhere and what a treat it is for us and our staff to show the best that Leavenworth has to offer in activities, dining ,etc.
You maka our day special when you appreciate what we hope to do for you.
Thank you for chooisng us and we look for ward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Our family enjoys visiting Leavenworth every December for the Christmas lighting festival. In years past we've stayed at the Enzian Inn. This year we decided to branch out and try a Pension. Pension Anna is a Boutique B&B built in the Chalet style. Furnishings were brought over from Germany including super comfy beds and toasty down bedding. The generous Bavarian breakfast had plenty of options. A special treat were the fresh hot rolls the bakery delivered each morning. The owners also have a special musli made just for their B&B, delicious! They should sell it.

Pension Anna has the best hotel location in Leavenworth. Easy stroll to shopping, Blackbird island, gazebo, and all the restaurants. It is just far enough removed that the festival noise does not reach the Inn. They also offer a coveted place to park your car in town.

The owners decorate every inch in Holiday decor. It looks like you've landed inside a Christmas fantasyland snowglobe. You can't beat Leavenworth for a white Christmas.

Pension Anna is so much more comfortable and welcoming compared to Pensions we've stayed at in Germany and Austria. It is the best of both worlds.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary-Michele T, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you do much for your wonderful review. Yes, we have wonderful location and can afford you easy access to all that we have to offer in Leavenworth.
Thank you for choosing us and until we see you again?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Step into another world as you cross the threshold of Pension Anna. Magically you'll be transported across a continent and an ocean into an authentic German/Austrian inn where they have woven "cozy" with elegance.

The typical Bavarian building exterior is understated, giving little hint of the luxury that awaits you inside. Visually I felt as if I had been dropped into a fairytale. Attention to detail is an understatement. There were so many different textures from wooden Austrian and German antique cabinets, a carved dining room ceiling, to intricate lace tablecloths, to rich brocades draped majestically over stately beds. Crisply ironed down white comforters just made you want to forget about sight-seeing and instead jump in and "snuggle under".

We had come to Leavenworth for the famous Christmas lighting ceremony and a quiet romantic pre-Christmas celebration. Pension Anna fully reflected the holiday season with four full sized firs decorated in traditional German style. Each suite was tastefully finished with loving holiday touches. I heard it from the grape vine or in this case, the beer garden, that Michele our hostess, spent over three weeks perfecting the spirit of Christmas.

Although we were only visiting for one night we received a genuinely warm welcome from hosts Gary and Michele Thebault. With great pride they gave us a private tour of Pension Anna. The European breakfast with extensive. Cheeses, meats and locally baked rolls and homemade coffee cake and smooth full-bodied coffee was a great beginning to any day.

Honestly I cannot imagine a more perfect home away from home to spend Christmas than Pension Anna. We can't wait to return any time of the year!

Coming down to earth, when visiting Leavenworth, skip the lights initially being turned on; consider choosing mid-week instead. This way you can avoid being crushed in the long and narrow boutiques. You'll actually be able to see the goodies being offered. The lights are illuminated throughout the holiday season and beyond.

Room Tip: Each room has it's own unique decor. The church would be ideal for a family or to be totally se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty Lake, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We are already planning our next trip to Pension Anna! Our room was lovely, and the staff was delightful. Such a great location! Walking distance to all the action. We we so pleased with our experience that we plan to make our trip an annual event with the entire family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in the Tuxertal room for the Christmas Tree Lighting Festival. The entire hotel was decked out for Christmas. Very nice and clean room and the staff was extremely friendly and provided helpful hints for navigating the festival as well as the Leavenworth area. Conveniently located just a short walk (less than 5 minutes) from all the activity on Front Street. Definitely the place to stay if you want a more authentic and personalized Leavenworth experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary-Michele T, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for choosing Pension Anna! We are all pleased, Owners and Staff, When we can give what you expect. It truly makes our days wonderful and worthwhile.
Thank you!
And until next time?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Just returned from a two-night stay in Leavenworth at Hotel Pension Anna. It was a truly delightful experience. We stayed in the Ottman suite. The room included a bedroom and a sitting room with a wood-burning fireplace and a jacuzzi tub. There was a private balcony off of the sitting room and an additional balcony off of the bedroom. The room was beautifully (and comfortably) appointed with antique furniture. We were there on Thanksgiving and the day after. The weather was cool and a bit damp so we really enjoyed having the fireplace.

The wonderful staff enhanced our stay. Gary and Michele and their phenomenal staff made us feel very welcome. They served a very nice bavarian-style breakfast in the charming dining room.

The hotel was conveniently located just one block off of the street with all of shops and restaurants. Everything was in walking distance. Yet the room was very quiet. We're already looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary-Michele T, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Oh! Thank you so much for your thoughts. The Ottman suite is special and we are so glad that you had a great stay. We appreciate your choosing us and we all look forward to yoiur next stay.
Have a great Holiday Season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pension Anna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Anna

Address: 926 Commercial St (Markt Strasse), Leavenworth, WA 98826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Leavenworth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Leavenworth
#5 Business Hotel in Leavenworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pension Anna 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wilkommen! We are the Bavarian Pension (small family owned Hotel)in Leavenworth and have the only true German breakfast in the village. From decor, to comfort, to service, experience Germany without the airfare or a passport. Our goal is that every guest leaves having had a unique experience and a "taste of Germany" --- without the need of a passport.We also market our sister property--Pension Mischi--across the street.These are some of the very finest suites in our village and include a Bavarian breakfast at Pension Anna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Pension Anna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anna Hotel Leavenworth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pension Anna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.