We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not close to DT” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Icicle Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Icicle Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Icicle Inn
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   505 Highway 2, Leavenworth, WA 98826   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #7 of 20 hotels in Leavenworth
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not close to DT”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We didn't stay here but i made a reservation as it said online it was walking distance to downtown. It is but not stumble distance or in and out of hotel on foot distance it looked like probably a fifteen minute walk from the strip. Though the ffront desk was very accomidating when I complained when we pulled and let me cancel my reservation without the 48 hour notice and it did look pretty nice inside.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    149
    39
    7
    5
See reviews for
158
142
7
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in February and had no complaints. We stayed in a standard room, it was average. No pay per view movies on the TV, which would have been nice. The pool looked nice but it is definitely a better bet in the summer as it is outdoor. They had a tent over the pool to keep it warm enough to swim in. I did like the adults only swim from 10:00 to 11:00 PM.

Complimentary breakfast was very good--scrambled eggs, salsa, hot sauce, waffles, biscuits and gravy, and all the other usual contintental items. Horrible coffee, but that was to be expected. Someone should sue Seattle's Best Coffee for the false advertising in the name. Seattle's Worst Coffee would be much more appropriate.

I don't know that I would recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway as it was very busy with lots of loud families, but if you have kids it's great. There is a lot of things for kids to do at the hotel and the complimentary breakfast can't be beat.

It is about a mile from the main part of town but it wasn't an issue. We needed some excercise.

Overall I would recommend this hotel. I think it might be better in the summer with the outdoor pool and hot tub and the open air deck off the dining room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 4 nights July of 2012. The staff was great as a Best Western Diamond member we where upgraded to a 2br suite near the pool. This was certainly a nice treat. Breakfast each morning was great with the usual choices to select from. I would recommend this hotel for all travelers the only draw back is the location its a bit of a hike to the main tourist area of Leavenworth.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chehalis, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We spent a wonderful two nights at the Icicle Inn. The staff was wonderful and the room was great. They have free movie DVDs to loan at the desk, a nice little touch. The free breakfast was darn good. It wasn't bottom price, but the amenities made up for it. One little additional wonder was the view of a snow covered mountain looming up right outside the front door. The only thing that could have made it perfect would have been if the front desk had robes and slippers available, so we could have gone to the inviting outdoor hot tub without chilling down on the way out and back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie509, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Icicle Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hello, thank you very much for your kind words, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Having slippers and robes available maybe a good idea we will discuss that and see what we can do. See you again soon. Sincerely,

Karl Ruether
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Spent Valentines Day in Leavenworth and the night at Best Western as a Living Social gift. Hotel was ok, disappointed by the used cups in the bathroom, obviously hadn't been tossed after the previous tenant had their morning orange juice. Went for dinner, glad to see the restaurant wasn't too busy, and then was subjected to the oddest service and meal I've ever had Ordered the vegetable and quinoa dish, with olives/flatbread/cornchips for an appetiser. Had just started to eat the appetiser when the entree was delivered to our table, all this, meanwhile, with not a word from our server other than grunts and gestures. My partner and I assumed he didn't speak much English until we heard him making conversation with another table. Plates were juggled around to make room, when suddenly the server decided we were done and removed our appetiser! Had to catch his arm and explain we had only just started, more grunts.!!! Appetiser was totally unappealing, overcooked soggy vegetables, sprinkled liberally with parsley and dried cranberries, with a warm side of unskinned pineapple and strawberry half. Very odd concoction! Decided to leave it, and try out the yummy sounding decadent gluten free chocolate cake, which appeared after a 10 minute wait, and was still frozen, covered in an unappetising red drizzle. Cut the cake into pieces to help the defrosting process when the same server came and tried to take it away!!! What the heck? Had enough at this point, asked for the check and was greeted with the same pointing and grunting. I am positive this server, at best, is usually a busboy or something because he had absolutely no serving or social skills at all. I understand that this is not a high class hotel, and you get what you pay for, but seriously this was laughable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie509, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Icicle Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Wow very strange indeed. Please accept my sincere apologies, I am not sure what happened here but it was most certainly not up to the standards customers have come to expect from JJ Hill's Fresh Grill. I will locate your dinner ticket and issue a refund to you as soon as I can. Thank for your candid review, I hope we will see you again in the future. Thank you.

Karl Ruether
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The evening was a special gift from friends. We all went together and stayed 1 night, had dinner at the restaurant and breakfast at the restaurant. The place is warm and has nice atmosphere but definitely family oriented. Not the fault of the hotel but ignorant lazy parents, noisy children were running the halls and yelling for most of the early morning and also in the evening hours. Unfornately our rooms were located right next to the "game" and computer area which undoubtedly contributed to the noise level. If you have kids, this might just be the perfect place. It is a short walk to the main part of town, so it is conveniently located for just leaving the car in the hotel parking lot. The room package came with movie tickets, but the movie playing was definitely for young children - we gave our tickets to a young family so they didn't go to waste.

Room Tip: Rooms on east side overlook parking lot, west side rooms may have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie509, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Icicle Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking your time to write this review. I am sorry it was a little too noise during your stay. With lots of families and kids staying here enjoying our amenities the excitement sometimes gets the best of them and it can get noise. Please accept my apologies if you were disturbed. Thank you for your kindness of gifting your movie tickets to another family to enjoy that is just wonderful. Perhaps we will see you again in the future and not during a time when schools are on break, it is nice and quite here then. Thank you.

Karl Ruether
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

There are not enough words to describe our fantastic experience at the Icicle Inn! We planned our Leavenworth destination wedding for February in hopes of a soft snowy ceremony and a cozy romantic reception and that is exactly what we got! The staff at the Icicle Inn were most helpful! Their event coordinator was always quick to get back with us via email/ phone to answer our millions of questions. The hotel and grill catered to all of our family, friends, bachelorette party, bridal room, reception, and morning breakfast. We couldn't have asked for a better experience.

We look forward to returning next year to celebrate our anniversary.

Room Tip: Rooms with fireplaces were ideal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Icicle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Icicle Inn

Address: 505 Highway 2, Leavenworth, WA 98826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Leavenworth
#6 Family Hotel in Leavenworth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Leavenworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Icicle Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Icicle Inn at the Icicle Village Resort is Leavenworth's full service resort hotel with in-house dining, evening room service, day spa with individual and couples services, activities center, cinema, seasonally and enclosed swimming pool. Enjoy complimentary hot breakfast buffet and much more. With full service catering and over 7,200 square feet of meeting space groups find the resort to be a perfect gathering spot in the center of Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Icicle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Icicle Hotel Leavenworth
Best Western Icicle Hotel
Best Western Leavenworth
Leavenworth Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Icicle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.