We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun family stay in the heart of downtown!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Obertal Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Obertal Inn to your Saves list
Obertal Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   922 Commercial St., Leavenworth, WA 98826   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Leavenworth
Seattle
1 review
“Fun family stay in the heart of downtown!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

My family stayed in December as a family getaway for the Holidays. The Obertal Inn was perfect for them! Not only was the location downtown the best in town, but the staff was helpful and very friendly. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the beds were great!. Nobody expected fancy, and would have paid a lot more in Leavenworth especially during the holidays. They had a fridge, microwave, and coffee pot in the rooms and the continental breakfast was plenty for us. The breakfast was great especially the French toast! They also had juice, oatmeal, cold cereals, bagels, and english muffins. There was something for the adults and the kids. The people at the Obertal went all out with their Christmas lights and decorations, wow the building looked great! One thing really appreciated was the sleds they provide for the kids if they want to sled the hills in town. Nice touch!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    223
    68
    11
    2
See reviews for
181
335
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

Staff was very helpful and friendly. A lot of " attention to detai" that I've come to expect from other hotels were lacking though, especially for the price of the room. There were cigarette butts in the planter outside our door, and the room had a distinct smokey odor, which obviously came from the soot that covered the rock wall from the fireplace to the ceiling. Someone had apparently started a fire without opening the damper...the wall needs to be scrubbed and the ceiling repainted. There was a hot tub on site which we didn't try, although I did see a maintenance tech with chemicals. They do provide extra towels for you upon request at the desk, but make sure you bring shoes and a heavy robe to wear for your walk to the tub. Fire logs are provided and were replenished daily. There are identical prints on the same wall of the bedroom - not sure why a decorator would do that. The included breakfast was nothing more than juice/coffee with toasted bagels...chairs in the breakfast area are very uncomfortable, apparently meant to drive you out quickly. The bathroom window was out of alignment, making it very cold and drafty - the repaired it when we notified them, but my contention is that housekeeping or management should have noticed that on their own - this was not a minor defect. Bed was comfortable. The location was great, just a block or two away from the heart of downtown - there's a great spot for breakfast just down the road (5 min walk) - Cafe Verona.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

Our church seniors group (PrimeTimers) have stayed at this motel the last two times we have gone to Leavenworth. The first time (2007) we had 24 in our group and the second time (2009) we had 15 guests. Jessica and her staff have been most helpful and easy to work with. This is a terrific location for seeing the town and for closeness to restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. Rooms are neat and clean. Very good complimentary breakfast. I highley recommend this motel. I know that all of those in our group feel the same about the Obertal.

Stayed August 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Creek, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

I have a Group Tour company and have taken groups to the Obertal several times. Jessica and her staff make my job incredibly easy. The rooms are comfortable and the continental breakfast has plenty of choices for everyone. As soon as you arrive it's like you are visiting friends. Jess and her staff are so accommodating. They know almost everyone in town and are a great source to find out what there is to do, they are also happy to help with restaurant reservations and tickets for the various concerts and events. I cannot say enough about how well they treat their guests. I am looking forward to our visit this December and many more in the years to come.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

We have used this hotel for many years now and find the services and people to be GREAT! The location is great; right in the heart of town. The only possible negative is that there is no elevator, but our people don't seem to mind. We almost always sell-out our tours, year after year. That says a lot!
Jessica and her crew make our visits more enjoyable each time we come. The enhanced breakfast is wonderful! We cannot say enough nice things about them. Try them. You should like them a lot!

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

We haven't had the best of luck with local hotels, but the Obertal Inn was the exception. We had a spacious room with a refrigerator and microwave, a good computer desk, good internet access, and a good reading chair (something important to me, and too often missing in rooms). Everything was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was not elaborate, but perfectly adequate for us.

The lodging is within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. Leavenworth is a small town with a Bavarian theme throughout, and some places can be quite pricey. This place was reasonable for the area, however, and better than some of the national chains we've stayed in.

We'd certainly stay here again, and highly recommend the Obertal Inn.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

While this property could use a bit of a "face lift," the rooms are very clean and it is especially convenient right in the downtown area. You can leave your car parked on the hotel premises while walking around the entire downtown area with no problem. I felt it was a bit pricey at $114 per night which included tax, but as with any hotel in a major tourist town, I'm certain it's to be expected. The continental breakfast provided is also very basic with cereal, bagels, and or French toast along with oranges and juice, tea, or coffee. The front desk lady was very personable and provided helpful hints on where to eat along with what to see and do. The town itself is just beautiful and definitely makes you feel you're in a European Bavarian Village. If you're looking for great latte, baked goods, and great deli sandwiches visit the Gingerbread Factory which is just down the street from the hotel. I'd not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others. I would suggest, however, if you're more into saving and not convenience, I'm sure you could find similar motels at thirty to forty dollars less in Wenatchee which is only about 22 miles east of Leavenworth.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Obertal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Obertal Inn

Address: 922 Commercial St., Leavenworth, WA 98826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Leavenworth
#4 Family Hotel in Leavenworth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Leavenworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Obertal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please accept a heartfelt welcome as we invite you to spend a night (or two or three) at the Obertal Inn; we are one block from everything in downtown Leavenworth, also known as "Little Bavaria." Explore the shops, enjoy fine European cuisine and soak up the tranquility of our beautiful village.Our tastefully appointed guest rooms have two Queen or one King bed. All rooms have a small refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, coffee maker, and LCD TV. High speed wireless internet is free for hotel guests and is available in every room. All King rooms have electric or wood burning fireplaces and have a 37” LCD TV with a Blu Ray DVD player. Two King rooms have Spa Tubs in the room to enjoy a luxurious soak after your busy day. Wake up to breathtaking mountain views and enjoy a wide variety of foods on our breakfast bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Obertal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Obertal Hotel Leavenworth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Obertal Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.