We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continuous Improvement and it shows!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Obertal Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Obertal Inn to your Saves list
Obertal Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   922 Commercial St., Leavenworth, WA 98826   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Leavenworth
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
“Continuous Improvement and it shows!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Loved the place, breakfast offerings, staff, coffee, location, location, location. Highly recommend staying here. AAA discounts offered.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    269
    80
    12
    2
See reviews for
232
412
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

From the outside the Obertal looks like a bavarian motel. I was a little worried why I was spending $200 + on a motel room even if it was during the Lights Festival. I had a large deluxe room which I believe they consider a suite. It was surprisingly clean (especially given dogs are allowed in the rooms). The bed was very comfy - I slept great. The breakfast was better than your standard continental and all the staff was very friendly. The location is great - within walking distance to everything but not noisy. The only complaint was I could hear everything in the room above me; heels, muted talking and barking dogs. I called the front desk about the dogs and they had the owners return to the room to quiet them. I'll definetly be staying here again!

Room Tip: If stairs aren't a problem ask for a third floor room - less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed in one of the suites and were satisfied. The staff was friendly. Yes, it had a jacuzzi and a king size bed.... But some of the down sides; the walls seem paper thin. I've never heard through the wall of a hotel like this one, we could hear every foot step. Also the carpet was so dirty it was disgusting, it was a dark blue carpet too, so that means it was really stained. The outside looks Bavarian but the inside of the room didn't have a touch of bavarian-ness. We wanted the bavarian feel like the Alpine Rose Inn, we stayed there before and like it better.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans M, Owner at Obertal Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
We appreciate this guest's feedback.

The reviewer is right, the inside of the rooms is not really Bavarian, however, we have invested over $100,000 last year to upgrade our rooms. All our rooms have flat screen LCD TV's, fully upgraded premium bedding package, new comfortable chairs in every room and bedlamps as well as in-room standing lamps are all new.

Our next big project is the bathrooms. we are working on giving those an update and expect this project to be completed by April 30th of this year. We continuously invest in our Inn and our intent is to make this a very special place in Leavenworth. We have ownedthe Inn now for a little over 1 year and are pleased with our progress sofar, while realizing that the improvement never really stops.

Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

The room was pretty mid-range and the public areas were nothing special, but there are so many special touches to Obertal that we're likely to come back. It's about a block from all the winter wonderland action on Front Street and the hot tub is a nice treat after long cold walks around town. The complimentary breakfast is GOOD--fresh make-them-yourselves waffles with an array of sauces, including strawberry ginger. The thick cinnamon french toast is lovely. Hans recommended Mountain Springs Lodge for sleigh rides and snowmobiling and was kind enought to handle the reservations for us. It was wonderful--and he made it so easy. The tickets were waiting for us at the front desk along with directions to get there. He also recommended taking my son to Ski Hill for tubing, and it was awesome. We couldn't have had a better time both days.

Room Tip: Let Hans help you make arrangements for side trips--he's knowledgeable and very gracious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We had a great stay at the Obertal Inn. The lady at the counter was very friendly and helpful, our room was ready early and it was clean, comfortable and quiet. But the best part was being able to bring our elderly small dog. It gave a peace of mind knowing we didn't have to leave him home - so we thank you for that! We will be recommending the Inn to friends and family and will stay again on our next trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans M, Owner at Obertal Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
We are so thankful to all of our guests who post such encouraging comments on our Tripadvisor page.

We want everyone to know that we take our business very seriously and that every guest's satisfaction is our primary concern. Our goal is for you to have a great time while you are visiting Leavenworth and we are glad that the vast majority of our guests like what we do.

Thank you for making 2011 such an amazing year for us.

Hans Mulders
Inn Keeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Obertal Inn this weekend. We were warmly greeted by two ladies in the office who gave great advice as to what do to around town, restaurants, etc. The decor may come across as dated, but the room was very clean, had a comfortable bed, and had a nice Blueray/ flat screen combo. The complimentary breakfast downstairs looked delicious and full of options (waffles, oatmeal, cereal, fresh fruit, etc.), but because of our plans, we did not take advantage of it. You cannot beat the location - it is not on the main road so it is quiet, but in the heart of downtown and close to everything. Thanks for a fun stay, Obertal Inn! I will definitely recommend you if anyone asks about good Leavenworth accommodations!

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so if you have mobility concerns, you should request a ground level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, Washington
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

SIster and I stayed for a sisters trip. Kim was awesome with suggestions and giving us a great room. THe owner was very friendly and personable. They have the best continental breakfast I've had and I used to travel for work. Close to everything.... hot tub...... . They are still working on rooms and have great plans now that they are the new owners. The beds and pillows were wonderful.... very quiet room....We will be back AND THEY TAKE DOGS!!!. That is kudos in our book.
Thank you and see ya again.

Room Tip: I imagine it may be quieter away from hot tub deck if they are booked full but didn't stay near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Obertal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Obertal Inn

Address: 922 Commercial St., Leavenworth, WA 98826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Leavenworth
#4 Family Hotel in Leavenworth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Leavenworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Obertal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please accept a heartfelt welcome as we invite you to spend a night (or two or three) at the Obertal Inn; we are one block from everything in downtown Leavenworth, also known as "Little Bavaria." Explore the shops, enjoy fine European cuisine and soak up the tranquility of our beautiful village.Our tastefully appointed guest rooms have two Queen or one King bed. All rooms have a small refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, coffee maker, and LCD TV. High speed wireless internet is free for hotel guests and is available in every room. All King rooms have electric or wood burning fireplaces and have a 37” LCD TV with a Blu Ray DVD player. Two King rooms have Spa Tubs in the room to enjoy a luxurious soak after your busy day. Wake up to breathtaking mountain views and enjoy a wide variety of foods on our breakfast bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Obertal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Obertal Hotel Leavenworth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Obertal Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.