We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, Great setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Home Lodge Restaurant

Mountain Home Lodge Restaurant
8201 Mountain Home Road, PO Box 687, Leavenworth, WA 98826
800-414-2378
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 69 restaurants in Leavenworth
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, Great setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Chef Ron cooked a delicious chicken meal with asparagus and potatoes topped off with chocolate cake for dessert our night there. The beautiful dining area with the views of the snow-capped mountains made it even better! Brad recommended a great wine to complement the meal. All in all, perfect!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schmidtmhl, Owner at Mountain Home Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Our intimate dining experience in the evenings is special we agree. The setting is amazing and Chef’s culinary offerings only add to the natural beauty. We are pleased to know your evening was so enjoyed. We will look forward to welcoming you to the lodge when visiting the Cascades in the future. With appreciation of your business, The MHL Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    31
    1
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The food was excellent, the people were great, the atmosphere was incredible. Giant windows surround the dining room with views of the cascade mountains, feels like you're dining in the clouds!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schmidtmhl, Owner at Mountain Home Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your appreciation of your dining experience earlier this month at the Lodge. Chef Ron is an excellent chef and full of creative ideas and delicious creations. Mother Nature deserves all the praises for the unmatched and amazing setting we have here in the Cascades. We will welcome your return in the future. Cheers, Brad and Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, NC
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We were staying at one of the cabins at Mountain Home Lodge for a special weekend and decided to dine in the Lodge each night. After 2 dinners and 2 breakfasts, our only wish was that we had more room to eat. The food was excellent - prepared with a great flow through the multiple courses, and very generous portions (almost too much - a great problem to have). The second night we were the only couple in the small dining room and our Chef brought us out each course himself - what a personal experience! Highly recommend eating here for anyone in Leavenworth, even if you aren't staying in the lodge - just an amazing experience all around.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schmidtmhl, Owner at Mountain Home Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Your review of your dining experiences at the Lodge is appreciated. Having unbiased opinions from guests is important to other traveler’s as they decide where to dine and stay when visiting a new area. The many accolades our guests share about MHL are humbling and inspiring to our small team of talented staff. You are one of the lucky ones who stayed with us in the quiet month of April as the Cascades transition from winter to spring. You were able to reap the added award of fewer guests for mid-week dining and we are thrilled the experience was magical for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It was good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed in one of the cabins and wile checking in, the guy who ran the place kept telling us that their restaurant was 4 star (maybe he said 5), but he kept saying it. He spoke in a condescending way about other Leavenworth eateries...repeating again that his is the only 4 star dining experience..(or was it 5 star...well no matter) you will find in Leavenworth. Not sure about that. While we did eat breakfast here, we were put off by the intro given us, feeling that it might be a stuffy place to go, or that our expectations might now be too high. So we dined elsewhere. The breakfast was good.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schmidtmhl, Owner at Mountain Home Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review from your visit nearly a year ago. We are appreciative of your valid comment. We hope when visiting the area you will have an opportunity to try our cuisine and our dining experience in addition to the inclusive breakfast.

Sincerely,
Brad and Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
301 helpful votes 301 helpful votes
“Tasty home cooked dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We chose this restaurant based on the TripAdvisor reviews and were not disappointed. Pay attention to the driving directions on the website, turn right just after the bridge leaving Leavenworth heading east and immediately turn left uphill on Mountain Home Road. The two miles seem to take forever but there are several signs indicating that you are on the right track!

The appetizers and complementary wine before dinner was a nice touch and the owners along with their sixteen year old daughter mingled and served us. The feeling was that of being invited to someones home for dinner rather than a restaurant.

The fixed menu was tasty and nicely presented, again cooked and presented in the home cooked style not fussy gourmet. The view is spectacular and far removed from the touristy bustle of downtown Leavenworth.

In summary, The Mountain Home Restaurant is ideal for a romantic meal in a home setting in a beautiful mountain location fifteen minutes drive from downtown Leavenworth

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schmidtmhl, Owner at Mountain Home Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
We are glad to read your evening dining experience at the resort while visiting our area was well received. With seating to only 9 private tables we hope to provide guests with a relaxing, intimate and satisfying meal using the freshest ingredients available to highlight the bounties of the Pacific Northwest. We are pleased we met your expectations and look forward to your return visit if you travel to our area from Canada again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Home Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mountain Home Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Home Lodge Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.