We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and service, but pricey!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baren Haus

Baren Haus
208 9th St, Leavenworth, WA 98826-1402
509-548-4535
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 71 Restaurants in Leavenworth
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Dessert, German, Hamburgers, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Dessert
Description: The oldest family-owned restaurant in Leavenworth! Our recipes are original and the preparations are made right here. We make our own sauces, brines, and dough and our breads are fresh-baked everyday. When you dine with us, you enjoy the kind of food that only a professional can take the time to prepare. We serve authentic German cuisine, pizzas, pasta, sandwiches, and more. Enjoy!
Maple Ridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good location and service, but pricey!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Even though we aren't huge fans of German food, we decided while in Leavenworth that we should have some. Chose this place because of the menu variety. Lots of different choices! Service was great, and the location was nice, but the food is very expensive compared to other restaurants in town. Really large portions!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    41
    31
    19
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Closest thing to authentic German food in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

In a town that bills itself as a replica of a Bavarian village, this place is the closest thing we found to authentic, both in terms of the menu, the beer selection, and the decor. It's fairly expensive but the plates are large. If the town were actually full of Bavarian restaurants, I would have given it an average rating, but since it appears to be the only option I give it five stars. Undoubtedly some people will disagree with me, but keep in mind one of our friends who ate with us at the restaurant that day is actually German. You may not like it, and perhaps they could be prepared better, but these are German dishes.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Shores, Florida
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Delicious Schnitzel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

On a recent visit to Leavenworth I sought out the best place to get schnitzel. In the past I have been disappointed with some 'authentic German' restaurants. Not so at Baren Haus , I asked our waiter how it was cooked to make sure I wasn't getting a shriveled piece of pork. It came out golden brown and cooked perfectly. The red cabbage was especially good, but a little too much caraway in the sauerkraut for me. My husband had the sauerbraten, delicious gravy which was also very good. The portions were huge and we ended up taking half of it home for later.
The server was very friendly and patient with my questions.
There is a nice selection of beers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Expensive and ready made food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were quite disappointed with our meal at the Baren Haus - it was quite expensive at over $17 a meal and the food looked and tasted like it had been pre cooked a d heated in the microwave. I had the German sausage platter which was ok but my partner ordered the schnitzel which was soggy and covered in a tasteless gravy. We were one of three tables and the waitress asked us if we wanted desert before we had even finished our main meal and then presented us with our bill! There are far better places to eat in Leavenworth.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great variety of choices!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great location. Staff are very friendly and attentive. Large food portions and great variety of choices.....one of the best restaurants we ate at while in Leavenworth.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baren Haus also viewed

 

Been to Baren Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baren Haus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.