We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Leavenworth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn Leavenworth to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Leavenworth
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   405 Highway 2, Leavenworth, WA 98826   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Leavenworth
Redmond,WA
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

This was a good example of a plain ordinary hotel which simply offers good value for money without too many frills or frippery.

Rooms are spaciously large and well furnished, and have a fridge and microwave as well as a coffeemaker.

A desk and chair (desk too high/chair too low; something that is so common) made for a great work area, and a comfortable two seater sofa provided a leisure area for relaxing in. Free Wi-fi was a bonus.

The beds were comfortable and the pillows excellent.

The only problem in the room was lack of adequate lighting.

The free continental breakfast was about as expected, with reasonable coffee, and a fresh waffle maker as a bonus. Staff were friendly and helpful.

The hotel is located 0.4 miles from downtown - an easy level walk away. One side of the rooms fronts out onto Hwy 2, which can be very noisy due to trucks passing, but good sound insulation on the windows solved that problem, just so long as you keep the windows shut.

All in all, a good hotel that I'll be pleased to return to.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be similar, although some apparently have fire places - that might be worth as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    85
    60
    40
    24
See reviews for
85
92
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

This is an older hotel. We stayed here midweek and liked the great AARP rate for a non/smoking room with a king size bed, microwave, fridge and coffee pot. The room was very large, very clean, and comfortable, but a little dark. The bed was great, so was the bedding. The bathroom was also rather large with a good counter. We can't comment on possible noise from other guests as no one was above us or next to us. The breakfast, served in a comfortable room, was the typical fair, with waffles being the food de jour. The one negative might be that the hotel is squeezed between the major road through town and a neighborhood road. For us the double windows and leaving the fan on took care of any outside noise. The AC was great and rather quiet. The staff was very friendly. We gave it an average rating because of age and location.

Room Tip: Try to get the top floor when more guests are staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duvall
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My wife, and I had just come from the Oregon coast, as it was 60, and foggy, while the rest of the N.W. basked in sun, so we left the coast for the mountains. I checked out all the places to stay, to look for one with an out door pool, and came up with this Howard Johnsons. I made the perfect choice... Lucia, Angelica, and Emily were all very helpful, friendly, even calling us after checking in to make sure the room was ok. Not only was it "ok", it was clean, the beds were new, as was the bedding, and very comfortable. I have a bad back, and I slept better here then in my own expensive new bed. The A/C was cold, which when it is 100 degrees out, was great. Everything went very well while the there, and the pool was at 82, and when it is hotter then "H"---- outside, the pool was perfect. We found it convenient for shopping, and for resturants. We will come back to this one, as we do travel a lot, and when you have staff like Lucia, and Angelica,...well you can't go wrong.. T&A

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Nice hotel for the price. Everything worked great. Only thing we didn't like was the drunk in 102. I think he lived there and his loud (usually drunk) and annoying friends always hanging around wasn't great for the family experience. I would still recommend the hotel though.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Close to Businesses, Restaurants, and a real cool river park.
Nice place to visit in the summer, as well winter.

Room Tip: ask for Quiet and non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We attended a wedding and stayed two nights. The room was spacious, had a microwave, fridge and coffee maker and was VERY CLEAN.
The only negative was the under-building parking was way too narrow for three spaces and, as a result, people parked in the middle spaces only. There is adequate outdoor parking in non-snowy situations.
We booked several weeks in advanced and paid $63.96 plus tax per night. Friends who booked later paid close to $100 per night!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

They didn't have hot water for showers or washing our faces and hands. They claimed to serve breakfast until 10am but the first day they were out of coffee and 9 and no one was around to refill/no supplies to do it ourselves. Second day no juice. The walls are paper thin so when everyone gets up at 5a to snowboard or ski you hear them. We specifically we're looking for wi-fi but couldn't get in friend's room so his g/f couldn't do her homework...plus they had taken the laptop all the way over there that. No one is English speaking or they act like they don't understand so it was useless to complain. The website says there's a jacuzzi but it's actually at their sister hotel next door, the Fairview. The beds are uncomfortable and the towels old. Gosh other than the good location to town it was the worst hotel I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Leavenworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Leavenworth

Address: 405 Highway 2, Leavenworth, WA 98826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Leavenworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Leavenworth 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Leavenworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn Leavenworth Hotel Leavenworth
Howard Johnson Leavenworth
Leavenworth Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Leavenworth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.