We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty cookies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gingerbread Factory

The Gingerbread Factory
828 Commercial St., Leavenworth, WA 98826
15095486592
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 71 Restaurants in Leavenworth
Price range: $1 - $8
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Located on Commercial St, right behind Front St. Come check out the quieter side of town and beat the long lines on front st.Serving Cafe Mela Coffee, a local coffee roaster!
Olympia, WA
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Tasty cookies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Small house tucked behind the main street, with really good gingerbread cookies. The basic round cookies were very good--crispy on the outside and soft on the inside, not too sweet. We also shared a gingerbread heart with peppermint buttercream frosting--the frosting was really good. The staff were very friendly and attentive. We felt very welcome and enjoyed the stop.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    33
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Hot cocoa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

All nine of our family - made 2 visits to the Ginerbread Factory. The cookies are reasonably priced. It was croweded, but, that made it all the more fun.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyle, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good cookies!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I thought there would be more variety here but the selection is limited. However, what they did serve was really super yummy! I'm not a big frosting fan but the frosting on both our gingerbread cookies and sugar cookies was really good, creamy, and not too sickly sweet.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Yummy gingerbread”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stopped here to get my special Santa face decorated gingerbread...next time I might try the butter icing gingerbread.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delicious Cookies--wish I'd tried it sooner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I go to Leavenworth at least once a year and don't know why I've always walked by and never stopped in here. I've really been missing out!

I'm pretty picky about cookies. I tried 3 different types of cookies here and they were all good. These were soft and fresh unlike many places that over bake their cookies. I don't even like gingerbread and I liked their gingerbread! I tried a holiday cookie that was really good. They said it was chocolate, but it tasted more like gingerbread to me. It was heart-shaped and had the most delicious white frosting with bits of peppermint in it. This frosting is to die for! It's not too sweet or rich; it was really unlike any frosting I've ever had--probably had a powder sugar base because it wasn't too thick or sugary. I also liked the heart-shaped sugar cookie I got with green frosting on top--delicious! Also tried the chocolate chip cookie and it wasn't bad, but paled in comparison to the other ones. The workers were very sincere and friendly. It's so important to make your customers feel welcome and they get that.

Gingerbread Factory if you read this, please keep that frosting coming and sell it in jars. You guys are awesome and so is your frosting.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gingerbread Factory also viewed

 

Been to The Gingerbread Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gingerbread Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.