We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I already want to go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7375 Icicle Rd., Leavenworth, WA 98826   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Calling All Green Thumbs!
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Gig Harbor, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I already want to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

My family of five went to Sleeping Lady for the Christmas weekend and what a treat it was! Location is excellent--3 minutes from downtown Leavenworth, enough to immerse in the Bavarian ambiance only when you want to, and not drown in it. Accommodations could not be more perfect. My young kids thoroughly loved their own loft and practically had to be peeled off their little playworld for us to go anywhere. Service was first class all the way. But the biggest highlight of all was the food--breakfast and dinner were included in the room rate and wow, were we blown away! Delicious gourmet food served as an elegant buffet--what else could a mom need for a vacation? We already are planning our next trip back. I am sure this place is just spectacular in any season.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    72
    29
    9
    9
See reviews for
122
134
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2009

We planned an overnight trip to Leavenworth to see the Christmas lighting - that was a bit overrated but we loved Sleeping Lady so much we ended up staying an extra night!

We'd originally picked Sleeping Lady because it had a room large enough to hold my boyfriend and I, my mom, and the boyfriend's teenage son- and most importantly of all - they took dogs that were not just teeny tiny. We have a 45lb dog and I was having trouble finding accommodations in Leavenworth that would take him but Sleeping Lady's Canine Companion program fit the bill. Included a dog bed and dishes for him to use while we were there)

Rooms are smallish with no place to sit and relax aside from the bed, but the beds are comfy with soft sheets and thick down comforters. There are plenty of other places around the resort to sit and relax so that didn't bother us either. Having no TV in the room was rather restful - even for the bf who tends to like to watch TV.

I could go on forever but basically the place was wonderful - beautiful property, very friendly and helpful staff, plenty to do and GREAT food! I wasn't sure how I felt about the fact that breakfast and dinner were included in our room rate but I had no more doubts after the first meal! This place is a foodie's delight!

This resort would be great for many kinds of people, couples wanting a romantic weekend, families with children of all ages, friends wanting a gourmet getaway, a business meeting or retreat, outdoor enthusiasts and DOG OWNERS!

GO THERE!!!!

(disclaimer - my dear mamma uses a walker and the resort was sizable - thankfully they have wheelchairs that you can borrow if need be but this did not seem like the best choice for someone with mobility issues - especially during slippery winter months)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

The setting, amazing. The service, unsurpassed. The food, unparalleled. The cocktails, fabulous. The amenities & services, comprehensive & complete. This has got to be the most overlooked conference retreat in Washington State that everybody should experience at least once. Perfection, a truly remarkable & professional staff.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

It's nice. It's somewhat laid back, unless there are large conferences going on. This seems to be whom they really cater to. Dinner hour too early for my liking but the food was ok. The staff was for the most part terrific! Hostess at dinner was unbelievably rude and caused a lot of stress for my wife and I.

Probably wouldn't go back. Seems too structured to relax. Great for conferences but not for couples.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

We were really anticipating this vacation - we had a gift certificate worth $630 for two nights, so I was expecting a romatic getaway. But we were really disappointed. Our room was dark and had no view except the next buildings. We walked all around this conference center and could see that most of the rooms looked out over meadows to the mountains, or to beautiful granite rocks. But a few just looked at the back side of things. We checked out the room next to ours the next morning as the folks were leaving, and it was cheerful and pretty. We showed them our room and they couldn't believe how dark it was. You had to wait a minute for your eyes to adjust.

When I called the front desk and asked if there were any rooms with a view, the receptionist acted as if she could not understand the question. "What do you want a view of?" I told her the mountains, and she said all those rooms were taken.

We knew that the room would be rustic, but it was also uncomfortable. There was a queen sized bed with a sagging mattress - every time one of us moved the mattress bounced, so I finally got up and slept in the bunk bed. There was only one chair, next to the desk. We were planning to spend the evenings reading, but the only place to read was on the bed with the saggy mattress. You could not sit up on the bunk bed without hitting your head on the upper bunk. There was a library; it had one sofa which was already occupied. The other sofa was in the main office, but it was also occupied. The only other place to go was the family room with the ping-pong tables, which was noisy and not very romantic.

There was supposed to be wireless internet connection but that did not work.

We stood in line one hour for dinner and about 1/2 hour for breakfast. The food for dinner was not hot, and for breakfast the food had cooled by the time we got through the line to our table. The next night we got there before the line opened and that was better.

This place is supposed to be environmentally sensitive, but we did notice several things that made us wonder, The lights had regular bulbs, the shower was full-flow, and there was no automatic way to turn off lights and heat that I have seen in many other places.

The Sleeping Lady was obviously designed as a conference center. The conference rooms had gorgeous views and cozy little nooks, and cabins were in clusters around the conference and seminar rooms. Probably for conferences people did not use the rooms except to sleep. I would gladly return for a conference (if a company was paying for it!!)

On the positive side, the setting is lovely, the cross-country skiing is right across the street and the creek runs along the edge of the property. The walkways are nice and the adjacent music center with it's little practice cabins looked like a lot of fun. The dining area is bright and open, overlooking the creek or the pines. The breakfast cook was very friendly.

  • Liked — nice location
  • Disliked — dark room and noplace to sit and read
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phelsel, General Manager at Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2009
I appreciate your feedback of what we can do to improve your stay, as well as on what we are doing well. Recommendations such as these allow us to make changes to enrich our guest experience.

Regarding the comfort of the room and furnishings, I would like to mention that we are in the beginning stages of remodeling our guest rooms, which will consist of replacing our existing mattresses, providing more adequate reading light, low-flow shower heads (which do not sacrifice water pressure), and more sumptuous duvets, towels, sheets, etc. These are only a few of the luxurious upgrades that we have in store of our guest rooms.

We are also in the planning phases of remodeling our dining lodge which will include addressing the lengthy “cafeteria” lines. It has long been a concern that our guests are not receiving service levels that match the quality of the food that we prepare. We are aware of this issue and are working to attend to it expediently. The architectural drawings are complete and the remodel will begin this spring.

Your input is appreciated and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the type of service that reflects our high standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steilacoom, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2007

My sister recommended this place, and it has changed our view of the season. We went in the first week of December - snow and ice everywhere, quiet, even for the weekend, and utterly spellbinding scenery - magic even. They had a "Christmas Carol" play in the chapel, that not only set the mood for the Christmas season, but was a wonderful memory for my children. Many have asked why families with children would want to stay here - simple. For the same reasons adults want to get away. No TV's - for our family, that trancends into no video games, CD's, I-pods, cell phones, pagers, etc. The game room and library are used for what they were intended. Board games and reading. Meals are exceptional, and you talk to each other, instead of at each other- talk and connect your whole visit. A little pricey, but when you consider the value of the meals included, worth every penny. The children have stated that it is our new family tradition, to go every year. And when your children would rather turn in their electronics and friends and trade for time with each other and parents, that is something treasured and special--like magic.

  • Liked — The atmosphere
  • Disliked — We didn't get lunch included too!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2007

My husband had stayed at Sleeping Lady for the WA State Cultural Congress gathering, and he loved the experience so much, he wanted to share it with me. He especially requested a cabin by one of the water features, but when we got there (in Feb.), he realized his mistake. 2 feet of snow covered everything, including the fountain (turned off for the winter)! Oops. I appreciated the thought and let my imagination fill in the ambience.
As we intentionally picked an off-season date with no special events attached, the place was quiet and perfect for our romantic getaway. We enjoyed walking the paths to discover where they led and enjoyed finding so many works of art scattered around the property.
The room was very comfortable and reminded me of a cabin my grandparents owned, so I was enveloped in a sense of "home" throughout our stay. We enjoyed The Grotto bar, sitting in the "cave" section, visiting the library and the cathedral. The food was simply amazing, as many others have stated, but by far, our *favorite* part of the stay was lounging in the hot tub that feels like it was carved out of the side of the mountain. On snowy evenings, we shivered our way up the path to the hot tub, our swimsuits covered by the bathrobes provided and slipped into the steaming water, giggling like children. Getting OUT of the hot tub, hastily donning plush robes and hurrying back to the warm cabin is an adventure in itself.
For us, the fact that the room had NO TV was a plus, and we had brought a book along for the pure purpose of reading to each other. Overall, a truly enjoyable experience! From what others have said, I would recommend going during the off-season and enjoying the property/accommodations the way we did!

  • Liked — The food, the scenery, the sculptures and art, the hot tub
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
3.1 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 20 in Leavenworth
5.0 of 5 stars 627 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Icicle Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Icicle Inn
#9 of 20 in Leavenworth
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Pension Anna
Hotel Pension Anna
#3 of 20 in Leavenworth
5.0 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mountain Home Lodge
Mountain Home Lodge
#2 of 20 in Leavenworth
5.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
3.1 mi away
Obertal Inn
Obertal Inn
#6 of 20 in Leavenworth
4.5 of 5 stars 889 reviews
2.9 mi away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#4 of 20 in Leavenworth
4.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort

Address: 7375 Icicle Rd., Leavenworth, WA 98826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Leavenworth
#2 Business Hotel in Leavenworth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Leavenworth
#8 Family Hotel in Leavenworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The breathtaking beauty of Washington's Cascade Mountains, superb cuisine and accommodations in harmony with nature create a destination like no other. Located just two hours from Seattle and nestled into the forest on the banks of Icicle Creek, Sleeping Lady offers inspiring outdoor venues, art, beautiful guestroom and gathering places - the ideal backdrop for events, adventures and escapes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleeping Lady Mountain Hotel Leavenworth
Sleeping Lady Mountain Retreat Leavenworth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.