We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent retreat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boatyard Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boatyard Inn
200 Wharf Street, P.O. Box 866, Langley, Whidbey Island, WA 98260   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Langley B&B and Inns
Kent, Washington
1 review
“Excellent retreat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had an amazing weekend stay! The staff was awesome, and the accommodations were perfect. We had no choice but to relax, unwind and enjoy some much needed family time. Highly recommended to all! Very romantic, peaceful and beautiful location! Looking forward to staying there again very soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
I am pleased that you and your family had such an enjoyable time at the Boatyard Inn during your recent stay. Due to the recent cold weather, I doubt you spent much time outside on your deck. So we would love the opportunity to welcome you back sometime this spring or summer when your kids can hunt for treasures on the beach out front during one of our low tides or you can all rent kayaks (singles and doubles available) and launch them in front of the inn. We appreciate your choosing the Boatyard Inn for your family retreat and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with other travelers.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
91
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is now the second time we have stayed as the best kept secret in Langley! So romantic, so charming and a fantastic value - the property being right on the water - as in the beauty of the sea and soothing sound of the water practically lapping at the elegantly appointed Driftwood Suite. The sunset stunning and now we know this property is as much of a treat in the Winter as well as in the Summer - we can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Driftwood suites are definitely the best for a couples get away! Plan to cook dinner in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you so much for letting us know about your recent experience at the Boatyard Inn and for taking the time to share your thoughts with others. The secret is definitely out! We built the two luxurious Driftwood Suites a year ago, and they have quickly become our most popular rooms for couples looking for a quiet, romantic getaway right on the water's edge. You are right that summer is ideal for steaming up a Dungeness crab purchased right off one of the boats in the marina next door. But equally sublime in winter is to walk up to the Star Store in Langley and purchase fresh Penn Cove mussels, reputed to be among the best in the world---not just the Pacific Northwest. You can then easily bring them back to your room, cook them up in olive oil, garlic, chopped tomatoes, wine and fresh basil and voila: a feast to remember! Just one correction to your comments: You mentioned the stunning sunset. I assume you meant sunrise, which especially this time of year can be jaw-dropping.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This Boatyard Inn is one of the most spectacular jewels I've ever had the pleasure of experiencing. From Mynda, one of the most breath taking, kind, accommodating Inn Keepers of all time (& she makes a mean latte) to the out of this world suites, the phenomenal views, the charming town of Langley and it's float scramble, to the delicious food everywhere to turn, to the adorable shops. The beaches, the boats, the games! Each little detail was met with thought and care. If I was a wealthy lady, I would go every weekend! Thank you Mynda and Boatyard Inn for bringing life back I to my weary soul and a smile that still remains on my happy face.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
I am so pleased you chose the Boatyard Inn and Langley as your place of respite. I don't know whether you came to Langley specifically to take part in the Sea Float Scramble or whether the event just happened to coincide with your visit. Whatever, it sounds as though you thoroughly enjoyed yourself. Did you take home a glass float? Last weekend was the second annual Sea Float Scramble sponsored by Callahan's Firehouse, Langley's glass-blowing studio where novices are encouraged to blow their own glass marine floats. For the Scramble, Callahan's donates hundreds of hand-blown glass floats and "hides" them in plain view along the waterfront starting at the Dog House and continuing along the Langley Waterfront Park. At the blow of a horn, participants scatter to collect the colorful glass balls (similar to an Easter egg hunt). This year over two hundred locals and visitors (many who made hotel reservations almost a year in advance) participated in the hunt, with almost everyone taking home a float. Best of all, there is no charge for all of this fun.
I wanted to acknowledge your kind comments about our innkeeper, Mynda, who has so adeptly managed the Boatyard Inn for fourteen years. We are so fortunate to have Mynda at the helm, and she is now joined by Sherri, our new Assistant Innkeeper, who shares Mynda's vision and goal to create the best guest experience possible.
You don't need to be wealthy to return to the Boatyard this winter and spring when rates are reduced. We would love nothing more than to help you retain your happy face!

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellingham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful past weekend in Langley, made assuredly comfortable by staying at this great property. It was quiet, so comfortable, friendly and affordable. I woke up in the morning to a view of the snow-capped cascades sparkling beyond the waters of Saratoga Passage. In the lobby Mynda made us complimentary lattes each morning which we took with us to the little beach to gaze out at the beauty beyond us. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Boatyard Inn. I'm so glad you were able to experience the inn during a respite in the weather. Though I am sure you were bundled up, lattes on the beach sounds pretty good! I was staying at the inn myself a few days ago and literally jumped out of bed just after 7 a.m. when the fiery reds and oranges of what turned out to be a most spectacular sunrise started appearing. Winter is a special time at the inn for exactly that reason. Yes, Hawaii has its sunsets (and it may be just a tad warmer this time of year!), but few places can beat sunrises over the Cascade Mountains and Saratoga Passage in the winter. We hope you will come back later in the year when the sun rises early, stays out later, and you can enjoy your lattes on the beach or on your deck...with fewer layers of clothing!

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We spent two quiet nights here on an after Christmas get away. Our room was fantastic: comfortable with a kitchenette, great bed and very roomy. We were on the ground floor - the advantages: easy load-in and load-out plus a spectacular deck immediately above (as in 3 feet) the beach with an incredible view. The (only) disadvantage: the family above us seemed eager to clomp around until well past 11pm, but that was a small price to pay!

We've stayed in other inns at Langley but this is easily our new favorite!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a favorable review of the Boatyard Inn, in spite of the noise caused by our upstairs guests. Needless to say, you...and we...would have hoped instead that you'd have been lulled to sleep by the sound of waves just outside your windows. We appreciate your letting our innkeeper know about the noise while you were there so that she could ask your upstairs neighbors to "tread more gently," which I understand they did. We are honored to be your new favorite place to stay in Langley. We will do our very best to exceed your expectations on each and every visit.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We visited this beautiful place between Christmas and New Years. It was beautiful! very clean and spacious for a family of 4. the view is spectacular as the property is right on the ocean. Very quiet at night time...so is you are looking for some r and r this is the place to be. iit is also within walking distance to all the quaint little shops. Also, there is alittle cafe that serves the best Burgers I have ever had!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We so pleased your family of four enjoyed the Boatyard Inn during the holiday season. I am assuming you stayed in one of our loft units that includes a bedroom area downstairs (where you can lay in bed and watch the sunrise over the Cascade Mountains...I hope the sun was out during your stay!) and an upstairs loft bedroom with an additional bathroom. We are in the process of upgrading the lofts in Units 6 and 8, including built-in king-size beds upstairs (instead of the current queens); this project will be completed by the end of January. Yes, many of our guests comment on how quiet the inn is. Often the only sound you will hear is that of waves on the beach a few feet out front and the occasional screeching of a Great Blue heron "fishing" along the waterfront.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We spent two nights for my birthday in mid-December in a waterfront suite at the Boatyard Inn. Didn't spend any time on the deck because of the weather; but it was very relaxing listening to the waves roll onto the beach. Very nice kitchen and other amenities (bed & bath). Excellent restaurants in Langley.

Room Tip: Choose room 5 waterfront suite. Excellent view of Puget Sound and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Happy birthday! We are delighted you chose the Boatyard Inn for your celebration. And although the weather was a bit soggy, I'm pleased you enjoyed the beachfront setting which can be both dramatic and serene, depending on the day this time of year. We hope you will allow us to welcome you again next year as you celebrate your special day.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boatyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boatyard Inn

Address: 200 Wharf Street, P.O. Box 866, Langley, Whidbey Island, WA 98260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Langley
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Langley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WATERFRONT! You'll be lulled to sleep by waves lapping along the beach in front of your room and awaken to spectacular sunrises over the Cascade Mountain Range at this 12-unit waterfront inn on Whidbey Island. Every oversized room celebrates the Pacific Northwest and the magic of the sea, with large living areas, galley kitchens, and private decks above the beach. Just a block up the hill is the charming village of Langley, with restaurants, shops, and galleries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boatyard Hotel Langley
Boatyard Inn Langley, Whidbey Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boatyard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Boatyard Inn to your Saves list