We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Birthday Get Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boatyard Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boatyard Inn
200 Wharf Street, P.O. Box 866, Langley, Whidbey Island, WA 98260   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Langley B&B and Inns
Federal Way, Washington
1 review
“Excellent Birthday Get Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We spent two nights for my birthday in mid-December in a waterfront suite at the Boatyard Inn. Didn't spend any time on the deck because of the weather; but it was very relaxing listening to the waves roll onto the beach. Very nice kitchen and other amenities (bed & bath). Excellent restaurants in Langley.

Room Tip: Choose room 5 waterfront suite. Excellent view of Puget Sound and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Happy birthday! We are delighted you chose the Boatyard Inn for your celebration. And although the weather was a bit soggy, I'm pleased you enjoyed the beachfront setting which can be both dramatic and serene, depending on the day this time of year. We hope you will allow us to welcome you again next year as you celebrate your special day.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
91
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We spent Christmas in a waterfront suite at the Boatyard Inn. It was quiet, cozy, and relaxing. Splendid views of the sound and distant mountains. It was too cold to spend much time on the small deck but with the windows open a little, we could hear the lapping waters and birds. Lovely! Comfortable bed and furnishings, a minimalist kitchen but enough to get by on, very friendly inn keepers, great location for walking into town. A little spendy but worth it.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review of your Christmas stay at our inn. The holidays are such a festive time of year in Langley, when the whole town "decks the halls." In fact, businesses try to outdo one another, competing for the honor of being chosen Best Decorated. We hope you will revisit us later in the year when weather will beckon you to spend hours outside on your own private deck watching the seascape just a few feet in front of you. If you come in the spring, you can enjoy the richness of island life while taking advantage of our reduced rates.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed two night in early December and the Boatyard was the perfect spot to relax. Very close to all the shop and restaurants in Langley. The kitchen facilities are very nice, but we didn't really take advantage because there are so many great restaurants in Langley. We did bring pizza back to our room one night and watched a movie (the innkeeper has a great selection to borrow from). With the fire going, it was romantic and cozy place to spend a December evening. The bed was comfortable, the room was very clean and there were some nice decorating touches. My wife really appreciated the blanket by the fire to wrap up in. Definitely would stay there again!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. With the high ocean tides typical this time of year, many of our guests hate to leave the comfort of their suite and instead use the kitchen facilities for their meals. "Eating in" by getting pizza from the newly remodeled Village Pizzeria a block up the hill is also a great choice. As you may have discovered, winter storms generate waves right up to the bulkhead in front of the inn. Ten of our twelve rooms feature beachfront decks where you can literally feel the sea spray on your face as you watch the pounding waves just inches away. Winter is also a great time to take advantage of our reduced rates. We appreciate your taking the time to write a review.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed at the Boatyard for our annual first weekend of December family trip. Had three rooms, a loft suite, handicap suite and single. Love the improvements. The kitchen areas are so much more functional, the new carpet and furnishings are so nice and love the new showerheads and toilets!!! Oh, and the complimentary pastries in the morning were a real nice treat!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
First of all, thank you for being a loyal guest of the Boatyard Inn and for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your enthusiastic endorsement of the improvements we made to the property this year. We will continue to upgrade in 2014, beginning with placement of king-size beds in the loft units. You mentioned the complimentary pastries. This is something we just started experimenting with on the weekends. As you know, our rooms are more condo-like (600-900 square feet) than merely a hotel room, each including a large living area, separate sleeping area, kitchen and dining areas. Our guests typically prefer to make breakfast in the room to take full advantage of the waterfront experience. Your feedback will help us assess the success of this program as we continually seek ways to enhance the guest experience.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I often book 3 day getaways around the Puget Sound, and the Boatyard Inn was a wonderful place to stay. Literally located on the water in the quaint town of Langley, the accommodations were welcoming and lovely! The staff was very friendly, and the town was fun to explore! I would highly recommend this establishment to anyone! We will return!

Room Tip: Room 2 was quiet, private and had plenty of view windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at the Boatyard Inn and hope you will return again next year to see the changes we will be making to some of the two-bedroom loft units such as the one you stayed in including replacing the upstairs queen beds with built-in kings. You are right! We are literally on the water, especially this time of year when tides are high. Winter or summer, some guests have confessed to never leaving the inn and instead spending the entire day out on their private deck (ranging from 8' to 18' long and 5' to 8' wide), watching the sunrise over Saratoga Passage, waving to kayakers gliding by, and spotting bald eagles circling above. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, cA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Langley is a warm, friendly coastal town with great views, great food and overall beautifulness at every turn. We stayed at the Boatyard Inn for 3 nights with our mini Doxie. We knew it was a cool place because our neurotic pet was completely at ease from the moment he entered the suite. We had the "partial view" - which was a direct sight line of the water from the entire suite. Its really the size of a good sized condo and the kitchen and bath are huge, stylish and most importantly functional. The inn keepers were very helpful and when we mentioned the bed was a tad firm for our taste, a foam pad was immediately installed - heaven! Everything is in the kitchen to cook if you want and the local market has a delectable deli. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
We are glad you and Doxie enjoyed your stay at the Boatyard Inn. We are one of the few inns in Langley that accommodate small dogs, and we have earmarked the suite you stayed in, #9, as our one "pet friendly" unit. I am so pleased that you mentioned your preference for a softer mattress to our innkeeper so that we could respond to your needs. We hope you will bring Doxie back next year so the three of you can once again enjoy the incredible views of Saratoga Passage and the Cascade Mountain Range from your private deck.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Fell in love with this place after stepping into the room. We called the Boatyard Inn the morning that we needed a room and they were able to accommodate us in spite of the short notice and our request for only one night. (Our original trip plan was Mt. Ranier for 4 days/3 nights. With the government shutdown, we decided on Camano Island for 2 nights and then we had one night to fill and several people recommended Whidbey Island as our next destination, specifically Langley.)

I gave this background because despite our request for one night only, the minute we walked into our room (#7), we asked if it was available for a second night and upon finding out it was, called our hotel in Seattle to change our reservation.

Parking is readily available, the office has a great walking map of Langley, the room had everything that you would need (fridge, tea kettle, pots, two burners on the counter, plates, cups, dish soap, sponge, coffee maker, coffee and tea, blow dryer, fireplace, extra blanket, books on Langley both historical and one of current places). There was a queen bed, but we opted to sleep one in the bed and one on the couch, which felt just like a bed. Oh and while minor, the shampoo and conditioner provided were great as well!

In addition to the table and two chairs on the balcony overlooking the water, there is also a little wooden seating area on the balcony where you can sit comfortably with your legs criss-crossed. If you stay here make sure to sit on whatever balcony you have and take nice long deep breathes, the air is just amazing.

Overall all three staff that we spoke with during our stay were friendly and very helpful. I would love to stay here again and would recommend the boatyard inn to anyone that will listen!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an enthusiastic review. We were so please to be able to accommodate your request to extend your stay. We hope you will return next year and stay even longer, taking advantage of the kitchen area typical of all rooms that allows you to prepare your own meals. This time of year, as well as mid-summer, our guests often walk down to the marina next door and purchase live Dungeness crab from local fisherman right off their boats. They then run up the hill to the Star Store for salad fixings and fresh-baked bread, and retreat to their condo-like suite to steam the crab. In the summer, that dining experience is often outdoors on your private deck where, sharing a nice bottle of Pinot Grigio, you can toast the bounty of the sea and your good fortune to be experiencing the best of island life.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boatyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boatyard Inn

Address: 200 Wharf Street, P.O. Box 866, Langley, Whidbey Island, WA 98260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Langley
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Langley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WATERFRONT! You'll be lulled to sleep by waves lapping along the beach in front of your room and awaken to spectacular sunrises over the Cascade Mountain Range at this 12-unit waterfront inn on Whidbey Island. Every oversized room celebrates the Pacific Northwest and the magic of the sea, with large living areas, galley kitchens, and private decks above the beach. Just a block up the hill is the charming village of Langley, with restaurants, shops, and galleries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boatyard Hotel Langley
Boatyard Inn Langley, Whidbey Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boatyard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Boatyard Inn to your Saves list