We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“24 hour pool and free breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma South - Lakewood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma South - Lakewood to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma South - Lakewood
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11751 Pacific Hwy SW, Lakewood Pierce County, WA 98499 (Formerly La Quinta Inn & Suites Lakewood)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“24 hour pool and free breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We found this location by luck on the way back home to Canada. Right off of I5. It used to be a La Quinta Inn before. The price was much better than other hotels and motels farther up north. We found it with our GPS. Great staff, super clean, large room, good breakfast including eggs, ham, pancakes, fruit and juice. The thing that will have me back and the high light is the 24 hour pool and gym. The pillows were great too. You have the choice of soft or firm. Great stay. We are fully refreshed and ready to head home.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEALAManager, Sales and Marketing at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma South - Lakewood, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Knight66,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel after your stay with us on your way home to Canada! We really appreciate your kind words, and are so thrilled that we were able to give you a place to relax while on your road trip, along with a great breakfast, amenities, and comfy pillows! Our staff is so thankful for your wonderful feedback, and we hope to have you as our guest again when you're in the area. Thank you again!

Sincerely,
Amanda F
Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    20
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
18
10
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The reservationist was very helpful. Unable to stay where I initially wanted because properties were full. The reservationist recommended this property. The facility was clean and comfortable. Upon check in, the agent was efficient, helpful and professional. Pool and exercise room were accessible all day. The breakfast was filling. I would recommend this property. I feel that it offered good price value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEALAManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma South - Lakewood, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear jumpa23,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review! We really appreciate your kind words and are so glad you enjoyed your stay and found our staff friendly and helpful. We would love to have you as our guest again if your travels bring you back to the area!

Sincerely,
Amanda V
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This hotel has a lot of potential. The staff is friendly and for the most part things are clean and tidy. Its the little amenities that drive you crazy. The exercise room is ok but I had to complain to management when 4 out of 5 machines were inoperable. The manager got right on it but does it really take a guest to know that your stuff is broken? If you are a business traveller beware. The internet is horrific at best. This hotel regularly saw speed tests of 12-15K which is a far cry from the high speed internet it claims. I could hardly keep the VPN working. Dont even think about Netflix. Breakfast is a crapshoot. They have the usual HI Express fare but one day the pancake machine will be out of batter right in the middle of the breakfast period ( the other one was off ). Some days you dont have bagels or well you get the picture. One item that usually bothers me is room service. I leave in the morning and expect that I will return after work to a serviced room. It bugs me when they are running behind and are still working rooms at 5PM. My room was in the middle of the floor so I just cant figure that one out. So, management challenges. All the pieces are there for a good stay, they just have to be fine tuned. Oh, and if you do like the cookies.. get there early as they dont last and there isnt refills coming. The Dennys is right next door which is convenient if you like them but if you have a look at the activity in the parking lot late night its a bit bothering. There are a good selection of other restaurants in the area of usual fare. Overall I might go back but being so close to the highway and with all the other hotels in the area, I probably would just try another next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma South - Lakewood, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear SATCOM ,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. It is regrettable we fell short of your expectations this particular day. Please be assured that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Again, many thanks for the feedback and our apologies for the shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hotel was easily accessible from the freeway, and it had all the amenities that we have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express: complimentary breakfast and coffee / tea, swimming pool, free wifi, cozy room and comfortable beds. Also, this hotel was the cheapest out of all the HIE in our trip ($119 per night). And this hotel was our last stop before arriving home. I was quite sad that our epic road trip had come to an end. Holiday Inn had been a part of our journey and we really have enjoyed our stay along the way.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEALAManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma South - Lakewood, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Sani M,

Thanks so much for your review! Your kind words mean so much to our staff here and we're all thrilled that we were able to be a part of your epic road trip! We're glad you found our property so convenient and at such a value, experiences like yours are what we strive for with every guest.
Thanks again for your valuable feedback. We hope to have you as our guest again if your travels bring you back this way!

Sincerely,
Amanda F
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

My mother in law is staying at this hotel as we speak... She is up here visiting and got back to her hotel this evening to find that all of her belongings had been gone through, all her food and drinks in the fridge gone and all of her toiletries gone! Horrible! You should not have to worry about someone getting in your room and taking your stuff! Whoever is responsible better be fired on the spot and she better get a full refund along with all of her hotel points back! I will never recommend this hotel again when family comes into town!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma South - Lakewood, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear TiffanyNickle,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma South - Lakewood, WA. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lakewood Pierce County hotels

Oldsmar, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Hotel is right off of highway, yet we had no traffic noise. The place was spotless. We stayed a week and the maid did come late some days but was very thorough. The entire staff was pleasant and helpful, always smiling. Breakfast was good and plentiful, not much you can do with this type of breakfast but they changed it up and it was good. I would recommend and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEALAManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma South - Lakewood, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear hrlycrzy,

Thanks so much for writing a review of our property after staying with us! It's always great to hear how we're doing, and we're so glad you found the hotel spotless and the staff so friendly and professional. We look forward to having you as our guest again if you're in the area!

Sincerely,
Amanda V
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Mandy at the front desk was great and very helpful even though at the time I checked in she was the only agent but handled the crunch of customers wonderfully.
The room was clean but small and the television remote did not work. Housekeeping and engineering never repaired it or gave me a replacement so I never used the television.
Breakfast was "ok" but nothing to get excited about. I'm not one to enjoy the premade hockey puck type egg omelet with cheese...yuck.
Since it borders the Interstate, it's pretty noisy too..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEALAManager, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma South - Lakewood, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear kernvilledaddy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel after your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, as it allows us to see where we may improve and make each stay memorable!
Our staff loves hearing that they are doing a great job - Mandy is a star at the front desk, and everyone takes pride in being able to handle anything that comes along on a busy night! I do apologize for the maintenance issues you experienced, I hope not being able to watch TV didn't detract too much from being able to relax. We would love to have you as our guest again to demonstrate our true service standards.
Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,
Amanda F
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma South - Lakewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma South - Lakewood

Address: 11751 Pacific Hwy SW, Lakewood Pierce County, WA 98499 (Formerly La Quinta Inn & Suites Lakewood)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Lakewood Pierce County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lakewood Pierce County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma South - Lakewood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma South - Lakewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Lakewood Pierce County
Lakewood Pierce County La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma South - Lakewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.