We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Public Health Hazard & Lying Staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Luca's Pizzeria Ristorante

Luca's Pizzeria Ristorante
430 91st Avenue Northeast #10, Lake Stevens, WA 98258-2534
425 334-2066
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 45 restaurants in Lake Stevens
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Marysville, Washington
1 review
“Public Health Hazard & Lying Staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We were excited to try Luca’s – it had been highly recommended to us. I’m 6 months pregnant and our little family of 3 (husband, me, and 2-year old son) went for a bite. We ordered the calamari for an appetizer and here’s where it went south.
1. On my second bite of calamari, I noticed something cold in my mouth. I started “digging” through the appetizer and found two HUGE globs of completely raw calamari. (The full small squid, not the rings). They were cold, slimy, transparent, and quite obviously NOT cooked.
2. We talked to the waiter and he nonchalantly said, “Oh, I’ll have them heat it up.” I declined and said we weren’t really in the mood for the calamari anymore. Not impressed with such a lackluster response and no apology.
3. A few minutes later, they offered to bring us a substitute appetizer. We said thank you and accepted. The rest of the dinner was good – until the bill came.
4. They CHARGED us $2 more for our substitute appetizer than we would have been charged for the calamari. I was shocked, considering I was served raw squid as a pregnant lady. I talked to the server, and told him I wanted to discuss with a manager.
5. The manager came out and explained to me how the squid was “fully cooked” and there was nothing wrong with our appetizer. The chef and her had looked at it. UM – liars! It was raw, 100%, most definitely raw! After talking to her, she finally agreed to remove the substitute appetizer. While preparing the bill, I remark to my husband (which the server overhead), “They’re not getting one penny for a tip!”
6. The new bill comes back, but now, magically, instead of a table of 3, we are a table of 8, and they have added gratuity. We ask the server if it’s standard practice. He says “yes”. LIE #2!! I ask him to get me a copy of the menu that shows that a party of 3 will be automatically charged. I add that if I get food poisoning, they will have a much bigger problem on their hands.
7. A new manager comes over. We ask him why it shows we are a table of 8, since the first bill did not. He said it’s not based on number of people, but on number of items. YES – that bad of a LIE. Lie #3. (Oh, by the way, even with the appetizer, there were only 7 items, not 8 – count before you start lying and digging yourself a worst hole).
8. After we caught the new manager in this third lie, he just said we could leave. And, we did. And, we will NEVER, ever be back. And, I’m contacting the public health department. I wouldn’t be so upset if it weren’t for the lying and manipulative behavior of at least three of the staff members. Truly the worst dining experience I’ve ever had.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    5
    8
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good authentic italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We've only been here a couple of times, but the food was good and service was good as well. I'm one of those "domestic" Italian foodies, so I don't have the taste for the "authentic" stuff. Cost is reasonable and the staff is very personable. Luca's is really popular and a lot of people love it, so I will add my seal of approval as well.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Stevens, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Food is good, price is high”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We like the food, but think the prices are high for the portion size. Nice staff and very attentive. The pizza is pretty good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

A variety of Italian menu items including pizzas, pastas, salads. A pleasant place with Italian decor. The service was quite attentive, frequently offering to refill water glasses and the bread basket, etc. Flavorful food served attractively. Located near the intersection of two state highways so easy to access.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Food and service both slipping”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Tonight my husband and I joined another couple here for dinner.
The experience was just odd, and it used to be a great little place.
The website is outdated, it mentions a buffet on Sunday but they don't have that any more.
They did offer a 2 for $20 dinner with appetizer, so we ordered that as did our friends.
The appetizer was... one small piece of bruschetta each. That's right, 4 pieces for 4 people. It was like getting a small plate with 4 saltines on it !
The beer they advertized on a sign inside the restaurant they don't carry any more.
The salads, which cost extra, were small pieces of lettuce with maybe 3 croutons and a barely perceptable dusting of dried parmigian cheese.
3 meals came togther, we all waited for #4. They used to ask if you wanted freshly grated cheese but this time we asked and recieved a bottle of parmigian.
The lasagna was actually burned at the bottom, and when we notified the server she literally said "Oh, I'll go let them (who's them?) know that.
She did take $10.00 off the bill (2 for $20) but left the $2.50 meat sauce charge on the bill.
Then she never asked if we wanted separate checks and gave us just one (2 couples, seems obvious to me but...)
So a very odd exprience and we all decided we won;t be going back soon, whch is a shame.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luca's Pizzeria Ristorante also viewed

 
Lake Stevens, WA
 

Been to Luca's Pizzeria Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luca's Pizzeria Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.