We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not clean” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Lacey/Olympia Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Lacey/Olympia Area to your Saves list
Super 8 Lacey/Olympia Area
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   112 College Street SE, Interstate 5 Exit 109, Lacey, WA 98503-5385   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Lacey
Victoria, BC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not clean”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I checked in for two nights. The front desk staff and the manager were very helpful and great to deal with. The room was very rundown. Window fogged, burns on the carpet, old bathroom fixtures that hadn't been scrubbed in a long time. Being a guy, the first thing I noticed was the tv remote didn't work. Took it to front desk. They gave me new batteries but it still didn't work. Then I started looking at the room. There were drink marks on the night table and table. There was hair on the bathroom floor and toilet was, well...unclean! The toilet was running constantly. My stay was non refundable through Expedia, otherwise I would have left right there. I left a nice note and a tip for housecleaning staff. Explained the remote issue and requested they wipe the tables. When I returned that evening there was a note from housecleaning saying they had fixed the remote. They had also cleaned the tables but that was it! The bed was not made, trash not emptied, bathroom not cleaned, nothing! The next morning I couldn't get the shower to work! Went to front desk where the friendly staff attended the room and yarded the valve to get it to work. Thanked them kindly. After my shower I had trouble shutting it off. Wound up kicking the valve to get it shut off! I forgot to mention the pool. Well I wouldn't swim in it. Would I stay here again not in a million years! Friendly staff, but hotel is a dump. Next night I stayed in a Best Western of the same vintage for $10, what a difference! Clean room, clean sheets! clean toilet, clean shower, clean pool and everything worked!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResvMgr1, Manager at Super 8 Lacey/Olympia Area, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am disappointed to learn of the problems you incurred with your room at our hotel. We are working hard to correct these problems and I can assure you we have made substantial progress over the past few weeks and will continue to focus on the quality of our hotel. I was pleased to hear your found our staff to be friendly and helpful, but that's no consolation for the poor cleanliness and maintenance of your guest room. It is my sincere hope that you will contact us so that we may have the opportunity to provide you with some resolution. Thank you again for your comments, as we continue to work hard to ensure all our guests have a clean and comfortable stay here at the Lacey Super 8 Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    36
    36
    29
    21
See reviews for
61
24
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Checked out of Comfort Inn across the road at $88 a night. Checked into Super 8 at $66 a night. We had a long stay in Lacey and were trying to save money. Super 8 rooms were a dump. Sheets had stains, floor was dirty, bed spring showing with no cover and more stains, beer caps under bed, and tub was never cleaned. I'm not a picky person and love roughing it but come on!! Management service was great and helped us get out of our reservation with refund.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The first room I was in I was locked out of...the door died! second room their was blood on the sheets and pillow. The second room the lights, microwave and refrigerator didn't work and the fourth there was MORE blood on the bed protector and counter. The hot tub wasn't so much a hot tub but instead was a urine tub! This all happened in the first 24 hours of my stay (I had planned on staying four nights). I obviously wasn't a happy guest but with all the frustration and ICK factor the main front desk girl and the night manager were very helpful and wonderful and tried as much as they could to handle the situation the best they could. Would I stay there again....probably not but I wouldn't run screaming from it either. The customer service made all the difference in the world.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResvMgr1, Manager at Super 8 Lacey/Olympia Area, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
I am so sorry to hear about the problems you incurred at our property. I can assure you we have addressed these issues and have taken the necessary steps to remedy them. I appreciate the time you took to bring these to the attention of the front desk supervisor. We will continue to strive to improve so that we may know that we have done our best to earn your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a late night stopover so decided to stay at the Lacey Super 8. We were able to get a quick check-in without a problem.

The room was o.k., nothing to write home about though (older style). Housekeeping could have done a better job in the room.

There was a breakfast included; batter-style waffles (self-serve, you make), pre-peeled boiled eggs (bonus to not have to peel them yourself!), yogurt, etc. The only issue with breakfast was the hard boilded eggs - they were slightly frozen-like on the outside (suspect too close to the ice). Other than that, the breakfast was fine; no complaints. Friendly young staff member to monitor food/breakfast area.

The staff was all very friendly. The staff we saw all seemed on the younger side; all very pleasant.

The room charge was under $80 plus taxes; not bad for not pre-booking. We arrived on July 4th (holiday) so glad we were able to get a place to stay without being charged crazy prices. There was an indoor pool area but we didn't use it due to the purpose of our stay.

We were on the road and needed a place for the night before traveling on. This worked for our needs at the time. The hotel is just off the i-5 and on a corner with other hotels on the block; I suspect this would be the most economical. There was a restaurant next door (Denny's?). We got our rest and were able to carry on our travels the next day. Easy check-in, easy check-out.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Lacey/Olympia Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Lacey/Olympia Area

Address: 112 College Street SE, Interstate 5 Exit 109, Lacey, WA 98503-5385
Location: United States > Washington > Lacey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Lacey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Super 8 Lacey/Olympia Area 1.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Super 8 is located just off Interstate 5 at exit 109. Our property offers amenities such as Free Wi-Fi, SuperStart Breakfast, indoor heated pool and hot tub and of course clean, comfortable spacious guest rooms. Our 24 hour front desk staff is eager to ensure you have a pleasant stay with our own special brand of hospitality. You can pay more somewhere else, but you'll not find a better value than when you stay with the Lacey Super 8 Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Lacey/Olympia Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Lacey/Olympia Area Hotel Lacey
Lacey Super 8
Lacey Super Eight
Super Eight Lacey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Lacey/Olympia Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.