We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat Lovers Only” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Main Chinese Buffet

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Main Chinese Buffet
5580 Martin Way E, Lacey, WA 98516-6326
360-455-8899
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 129 Restaurants in Lacey
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Meat Lovers Only”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Wife and I bumbled into this buffet enroute from Seattle headed south on the I-5. If your food preference is meat,lots of shrimp and crab with loads of butter and a large sushi bar then this is your place, bucko. If you tend to enjoy bok choy, chinese crunchy green beans and all the other wonderful chinese vegetables that were not here then pass on this one. We spent $14.00 a piece for having the availability of food we do not eat. Most of the crowd was Ft. Lewis GIs and their families with some of the GIs very soon to deploy in harms way. So we just kept our head down, loaded up on what we could find healthy and got on our way. Obviously this restaurant is responding to what the majority of their regular customers want. Not our kind of place, but maybe its yours!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    4
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lacey, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bad place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

The food is always luke warm at best, it smells bad, has a reputation for being unclean. Don't go there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey, Wa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“This is all you can eat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

This place had great food and service. It is cheaper than any other buffet in or out of town for it least 15 miles. We eat there at least twice a month which for us that is a lot as we usually dont eat out that much. The stall is also great and are eager to assist you any way they can. Parking is across the street so you can enjoy a all you can eat and then go see a movie. I believe the theater has 15 movies at a time showing. Make sure you visit the Chinese Main Buffet. Again better tasting and cheapest one around.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great variety and nice, but busy, atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Best Asian buffet in the Olympia/Lacey area. They serve a little of just about everything Asian and you don't leave hungry. One could make a great meal just from their sushi bar, but their hot line is impossible to pass up especially when they have duck or braised short ribs.. It's usually packed and for good reason.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“got sick”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

bad sometthing, not even sure what made me sick but not going back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Main Chinese Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Main Chinese Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Main Chinese Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.