We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nell Thorn Restaurant & Pub

Nell Thorn Restaurant & Pub
205 Washington Ave, La Conner, WA 98257
(360) 466-4261
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 26 Restaurants in La Conner
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Always delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We love to stop in for a treat in the pub. We live in town and this is our favorite date night spot. They offer a very sophisticated menu and everything we have tasted here has been This restauran talso has been a great supporter of our local school band, donating much needed money for their trips. We love to support this restaurant because they are so willing to help support our schools! Delicious food and great people!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    79
    44
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stanwood, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous, as usual!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We go to Nell Thorn at least once a month and are never disappointed. We love it so much that we don't even think twice about the 45 minute drive to get there from our home. The food is always fabulous. They offer yummy options for people with food allergies, and for those who are vegetarians. Sadly, I love some of their menu items so much that I always get them and don't venture as many new things as I should. The polenta cakes are the best (covered in a gorgonzola cheese sauce & mushrooms), as well as the endive salad, and panna cotta. My husband's favorite dish is the spicy seafood speghetti. We love this place and highly recommend it. It's our favorite restaurant north of Seattle.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Place, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing eats!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We love Nell Thorn. The food is imaginatively prepared and delicious. Even a basic burger hits new heights.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, WA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Creative Local Food, Cozy Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Nell Thorn is the dining gem in this appealing small town that is filled with touristy food spots. Locals choose this eatery as their favorite because the cuisine features the bounty of nearby farms, plus offers a menu with a wide-range of choices, from pub fare to fine dining. Portions, be forewarned, can be huge and might be better shared.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Really great atmosphere for New Years' Eve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I really enjoyed the jalapeno corn chowder and the crabcakes in the pub at Nell's. Service was really great as well. The pub was nicely decorated and very cute. A great place to take a date.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nell Thorn Restaurant & Pub also viewed

 

Been to Nell Thorn Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nell Thorn Restaurant & Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.