We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, as usual!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nell Thorn Restaurant & Pub

Nell Thorn Restaurant & Pub
205 Washington Ave, La Conner, WA 98257
(360) 466-4261
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 26 Restaurants in La Conner
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Stanwood, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous, as usual!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We go to Nell Thorn at least once a month and are never disappointed. We love it so much that we don't even think twice about the 45 minute drive to get there from our home. The food is always fabulous. They offer yummy options for people with food allergies, and for those who are vegetarians. Sadly, I love some of their menu items so much that I always get them and don't venture as many new things as I should. The polenta cakes are the best (covered in a gorgonzola cheese sauce & mushrooms), as well as the endive salad, and panna cotta. My husband's favorite dish is the spicy seafood speghetti. We love this place and highly recommend it. It's our favorite restaurant north of Seattle.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    71
    39
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
University Place, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing eats!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We love Nell Thorn. The food is imaginatively prepared and delicious. Even a basic burger hits new heights.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, WA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Creative Local Food, Cozy Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Nell Thorn is the dining gem in this appealing small town that is filled with touristy food spots. Locals choose this eatery as their favorite because the cuisine features the bounty of nearby farms, plus offers a menu with a wide-range of choices, from pub fare to fine dining. Portions, be forewarned, can be huge and might be better shared.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Really great atmosphere for New Years' Eve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I really enjoyed the jalapeno corn chowder and the crabcakes in the pub at Nell's. Service was really great as well. The pub was nicely decorated and very cute. A great place to take a date.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Although we didn't have a reservation, we were seated quickly in the upstairs dining room. It was pleasant and not noisy. Service was unobtrusive and professional. Our meal was excellent. We shared house salad, incredibly delicious scallops as an appetizer and a seafood pasta in oil and herbs. For dessert, we had the nicely presented Italian ice cream. The meal was reasonably priced. We would return to La Conner just to stop and eat again at Nell Thorn's.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nell Thorn Restaurant & Pub also viewed

 

Been to Nell Thorn Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nell Thorn Restaurant & Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.