We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Katy's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Conner
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Katy's Inn
Save Saved
You added Katy's Inn to your Saves list
503 Third St, La Conner, WA 98257   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 La Conner B&B and Inns
Deer Park, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We enjoyed our stay, unlike some other reviewers we enjoyed not having the host follow us around (as we've had happen at other B&B's) I found her to have the right balance. We really enjoyed being close to town and spending time by the the fire pit. My favorite thing however was waking up to hot coffee and muffins at our door and sitting on the balcony before we went down for breakfast. Thank you for an amazing stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    6
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
10
16
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victor NY
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Katy's is located in an excellent location for walking to the main streets of LaConner. The house is extremely well maintained. The bedrooms are comfortable and the house is filled with historical info on the owners over time. Unfortunately, the owner was having a bad day when we stayed. She goes to tremendous effort to fix a hearty breakfast for guests. Unfortunately, she forgot that there were two of us staying in our room (she was no where to be seen when we arrived). When she discovered that there were two of us for breakfast, she got annoyed and suggested it was our fault. As there is only the one option for the meal (no dried cereal, toast, available) and since we also weren't asked at all about allergies, etc beforehand, it was difficult for the one of us that didn't eat eggs or meat. The house is up for sale and hopefully it will be under new ownership soon as the ambiance of the surroundings was a bit lessened by the current owner's demeanor.

Room Tip: Be sure to specify if you want a room with private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindytracey, Owner at Katy's Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
What a surprise to see this review!

We ask all our guests to fill out a registration form on arrival. On that form, its specially asks for all the names and the number of people staying in each room. It also asks if you have any dietary restrictions. Your registration form listed just one name. Number staying in the room was not filled out. Dietary restrictions list shellfish allergy only. I spoke to you in the morning and asked if you wanted to have a early breakfast. You said that you did. No comment about someone else staying in your room. So i was surprised (not having a bad day) when there was two of you for breakfast.

Your response was that it was not a problem, that you both were small eaters and you would be fine with sharing the breakfast. I had cereal, I had toast, would of made you anything you wanted, but you never asked. We accommodate many restricted diets and would have been very happy to accommodate yours, all you needed to do was ask.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights, only to wish we had stayed another. What a special place! From the instant you walked through the door you felt like you were walking through your own front door. full of character and oozing with charm, this b & b wins hands down. Walking distance to restaurants & the shops made our stay even more enjoyable. We stayed in the Rose bedroom, which was my favorite out of all the beautiful bedrooms. The breakfasts were amazing, Cindy the owner is an exceptional cook who was also an exceptional host. Having the hot tub and fire pit made our stay even more relaxing, we thoroughly enjoyed making use of these. We can't wait to go back for another visit as this was one of our favorite weekends away
by far....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, B.C.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

What a lovely home away from home. I've been here many times. It's the perfect girls getaway for great shopping in La Conner and the outlet malls. The Inn itself is about 2 blocks from the main street, so great to be able to walk everywhere. We stayed in the Garden room this time, so nice to have access to the upper wrap around balcony. Cindy does a great job with morning tea, coffee or hot chocolate and scones or muffins in your room before breakfast, then go down to the dining room for a lovely cheese souffle or blueberry blintz. No need to eat lunch! Plus there's always freshly baked cookies, or muffins in the kitchen if you feel like a snack later on. Guest have access to the kitchen, so you can bring a bottle of wine (or two!), and store your goodies. There's a hot tub, great deck and covered seating area outside with big comfy couches. Or wander out to the garden and sit on the wooden swing. Only 2 hours from Vancouver down I5, or take the scenic route through the sweet little town of Fairhaven, and drive the Chuckanut. It's good to go in April/May during the tulip/iris season as well. Katy's is a lovely B n' B!

Room Tip: The Garden and John Peck rooms have their own ensuite bathrooms. The other rooms upstairs have their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This house built in the late 1800's i believe, is oozing with character and charm. We stayed in the Rose room with our 6th month old and had a wonderful stay.

Unfortunately our little one decided not to sleep and cry all night so we had to leave early. We let Cindy (Owner)know and off we went, however once we got back to Vancovuer we had an email voucher from Cindy offering us to come back and stay for the night we missed. Cindy this is a womderful gesture and we will monst certainly be back (Without the kids!!!)

Room Tip: They are all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Our Ladies Book Club rented the whole house for the weekend and it was fantastic. House is old, but full of character. Rooms were comfortable and easily accomodated the 7 of us. Beds were cozy, comfortable with good linens. We enjoyed relaxing in the parlour, and out on the deck under the gazebo, around the outdoor fireplace. Also enjoyed the Hot Tub. The highlight was Cindy's amazing breakfasts - she really went out of her way to provide a special start to our day. Sat a.m. was May 5th and to celebrate Cinco de Mayo, she made a Baked egg souffle in a tortilla with mango salo - Yumm - and on Sunday a.m. we were treated to Bintz's with a fresh Skagit valley fruit topping, also fresh baked scones both mornings.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Arrived to find the Rose Room very dirty and extremely dusty. Dust hanging on the electric cords; and furniture, furnishings, and under the beds appeared to not have been cleaned in months. Dirty old vacuum cleaner in room; rug had not been vacuumed. Mold residue on the door to the balcony, and balcony and balcony furniture grimy and filthy. We left and found wonderful accommodations at the Fidalgo Country Inn.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindytracey, Owner at Katy's Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
In nine years of owning Katy's Inn we have not received a single complaint about the cleanliness of our house or rooms. In fact we have had nothing but compliments. The old vacuum cleaner is actually an antique 1920's vacuum that is in the room as a display. If you read further you will see nothing but compliments on our cleanliness. I examined the room while I was remaking the room after this customer had completely trashed the room. It was clean and tidy. Within 5 minutes we rented the room to a guest who was thrilled that she had the good fortune of finding a room in La Conner. The new guest commented that it was the Best Bed and Breakfast that she had ever stayed. This customer was looking for a way to cancel her reservation-her credit card was declined.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Katy's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katy's Inn

Address: 503 Third St, La Conner, WA 98257
Location: United States > Washington > La Conner
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in La Conner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katy's Inn has been a premier bed and breakfast in the quaint town of La Conner for 27 years. Located in the heart of La Conner, it offers guests a wonderful view of the Swinomish Channel. Within walking distance to all shops and restaurants. Four rooms all with private baths. Hot Tub. Cookies and milk served to your room at bedtime. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katy's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.