We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Quilt Museum, worth a stop!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Conner Quilt & Textile Museum

La Conner Quilt & Textile Museum
703 S. 2nd St, La Conner, WA 98257
360-466-4288
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in La Conner
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The La Conner Quilt & Textile Museum in the Historic Gaches Mansion, located in the beautiful waterfront town of La Conner, features rotating exhibits of quilts and textiles throughout the year. Shows change every three months, with pieces ranging from traditional American quilts to contemporary fiber art. The Gaches Mansion, built in 1891, is listed on the Washington Register of Historic Places. The first floor of the mansion retains the Victorian decor of the late 1800's/early 1900's.
Seattle
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Great Quilt Museum, worth a stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I live in No Seattle & we visit this super museum 2-3 times a year, and am never disappointed! Fabulous quilt exhibits with amazing stitching and a variety of styles and artists. Located in the historic well preserved 3 story Gaches mansion furnished in fine antiques. Definitely worth a stop & right around the corner from the main drag in La Conner. Ample free parking. For seniors: there are stairs to navigate. Great gift shop with lots of exotic fabric pieces, beads, books, art, etc to tempt the stitcher in me, always get a swatch! My husband enjoys this museum too. Small fee.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    14
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard, California
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful exhibits.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This museum is in an historic home in La Conner and it's well worth a visit. The exhibit that was there during my visit was excellent and it was interesting to be in such a beautiful home. There is a small store upstairs that has a great selection of quilting supplies and fabrics.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Wa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Suprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I must admit that I am not much of a quilting aficionado, but, the displays were unbelievable and well worth the money paid for entrance. The charm of the old building and the history of it really made the tour enjoyable. The restoration that has taken place is truly amazing. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting some history combined with some great quilting works.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“wonderful...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

this museum was a 'must see' on our quilters trip/tour(over 50 of us)...beautiful restored Victorian with furniture from the era....enhanced by beautiful old quilts...& modern works of fibre artists...I'm partial to the traditional but enjoy looking at the new art. Knowledgeable/friendly staff. Great gift shop! I want to live on the top floor!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizinlaconner, General Manager at La Conner Quilt & Textile Museum, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
What a nice review of the museum--thank you! We remember your group coming through and very much enjoyed the visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Beautifully maintained mansion, excellent exhibitions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The museum was our main destination on this visit. The current exhibits range from antique/traditional to contemporary whole cloth hand dyed wonders to truly unique work from an intriguing artist. This museum is dedicated to presenting the complete picture of textiles from long in our history to the present. It is worth the drive.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizinlaconner, General Manager at La Conner Quilt & Textile Museum, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We're very happy to know the museum was on your destination list--and we deeply appreciate our Seattle-based supporters! Thank you, and I hope you can make it back to the area for our next exhibits opening October 10, 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Conner Quilt & Textile Museum also viewed

 

Been to La Conner Quilt & Textile Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Conner Quilt & Textile Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.