We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Textile Treasures” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Conner Quilt & Textile Museum

La Conner Quilt & Textile Museum
703 S. 2nd St, La Conner, WA 98257
360-466-4288
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in La Conner
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The La Conner Quilt & Textile Museum in the Historic Gaches Mansion, located in the beautiful waterfront town of La Conner, features rotating exhibits of quilts and textiles throughout the year. Shows change every three months, with pieces ranging from traditional American quilts to contemporary fiber art. The Gaches Mansion, built in 1891, is listed on the Washington Register of Historic Places. The first floor of the mansion retains the Victorian decor of the late 1800's/early 1900's.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Textile Treasures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The colors and the designs on these quilts is worthwhile taking the time to see. They have very old quilts and new quilts with amazement of the older designs with such intricate handiwork that was done without machines. Nicely restored historic home as well.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizinlaconner, Manager at La Conner Quilt & Textile Museum, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We like to think of this as a colorful place; thank you for noticing! You might also enjoy the VERY colorful exhibit coming soon from NYC artist Liz Quisgard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    14
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Washington
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“If you love to quilt this is the stop for you.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My mom and wife like to sew and quilt and we have visited the museam twice in 3 years.

Climb to the top floor and check out the view from the turret.

There are 3 floors of great art in the form of quilts.

It is not wheel chair friendly, and you should plan on keeping a very close eye on your children, some of the quilts are over 100 years old and the "one finger touch rule" is not acceptable.

Men if you are not into quilting support your wife's desire to see this museum, but I suggest you check it out, because you will see some great art, and earn a few good husband points too.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizinlaconner, Manager at La Conner Quilt & Textile Museum, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thanks for the great review! Not only do many men accompany their significant others through our doors, some of them are quilters themselves! We're happy to know you enjoyed the visit. While we don't have wheelchair access up to the second- and third-floor levels, there is a DVD slide-show of all pieces in each exhibit that plays on the wheelchair-accessible first floor. We hope you and your family can visit us--and La Conner--again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, British Columbia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Quilts in a mansion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were charmed by the beauty of the house from the outside. Inside, there are exhibitions of magnificent quilts. The building was restored by local people determined to bring a fine old local house back to life. It was a pleasure to visit and inspiring to see what imagination and determination can do.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizinlaconner, Manager at La Conner Quilt & Textile Museum, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Rynt, thank you for the nice comments. I will pass them along to the volunteers who recently helped us repaint the walls! We hope you can visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coupeville, Washington
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beauty Within Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The old Victorian mansion houses an amazing rotation of quilts and fabric art. The folks involved are friendly and informative. This is not your basic craft show stuff--much of it is world-class art, rendered in fabric. It belongs on any tour of La Conner.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizinlaconner, Manager at La Conner Quilt & Textile Museum, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for taking time to comment on your visit! We think of your town, Coupeville, as a like-minded place with a focus on historic preservation :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth the Price of Admission”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I've been here several times. They have wonderful exhibitions and permanent collections. And a beautiful historic Victorian home to house them all in. The staff is very helpful and nice. There is a small store with some interesting things to peruse and buy.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizinlaconner, Manager at La Conner Quilt & Textile Museum, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments! 2013 is going to be an amazing year of exhibits, and the interior of the Gaches Mansion is receiving a historic "makeover" as I type this. We hope you can visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Conner Quilt & Textile Museum also viewed

 

Been to La Conner Quilt & Textile Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Conner Quilt & Textile Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.