We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful & relaxing, just what we wanted” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Heron Inn & Day Spa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Conner
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Heron Inn & Day Spa
117 Maple Ave, PO Box 724, La Conner, WA 98257   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 La Conner B&B and Inns
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
“Peaceful & relaxing, just what we wanted”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

The Heron Inn & Day Spa in La Conner was a nice spot. My husband & I went to celebrate our anniversary. We just wanted a comfortable place to nap, read, relax and be mellow. We live in a nearby town and wanted a quiet mini-getaway. The owners were awesome, very friendly & personable, but also gave us our space. Breakfast was delicious, especially the dutch baby pancake with fresh fruit. Yum. The room was comfortable. Great bed. Nice soaking tub. Great shower. Overall we had a lovely anniversary at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: We stayed in the queen room with a jet tub...good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
88
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

If you are particular about your coffee, and your bedding, and you need things quiet in order to fall asleep, I think you will love the Heron Inn as much as we did. Coffee is perfection, bedding is scrumptious, and sleep comes easy in this lovely home away from home. We will definately be back, Kate. Thanks for a wonderful retreat.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stayed at the Heron Inn in La Conner and loved it. Al and Kate couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. Our room (with 2 double beds) was lovely and beds so comfortable. Breakfast was huge and so delicious - different every day. We stopped the night at The Heron Inn planning to shop in La Conner the next day and carry on to somewhere else but we were so comfortable that we stayed another night and then another night. We just shopped and drove around the area and relaxed which is what we had wanted to do. La Conner is wonderful for shopping and The Heron Inn a great place to relax before and after. Can't say enough about how wonderful Al and Kate were to us. We'll be going back next time we return to La Conner.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C. Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

The Heron Inn's new innkeepers have paid beautiful attention to detail. The Heron is a cosy, intimate B&B. The surroundings are the magical Skagit Valley and the fun little town of La Conner.

Recently stayed for 3 nights and couldn't have been happier with the inn and the innkeepers. We were made to feel exceptionally welcome and pampered. Didn't have an opportunity to avail ourselves of the spa treatments this time - but will definitely want to next ... Can't say enough good things about the Heron. Great value, comfortable, welcoming surroundings. Wonderful (if a little too generous!) breakfasts (that's not a complaint) ... We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed in a large, beautiful, impeccably clean room with a King size bed that was like sleeping on a cloud. Best nights sleep in way to long. We had a leisurely morning with a gourmet breakfast made and served by the warm and delightful Innkeeper, Kate, in the lovely breakfast room on the main floor. The sweet and wonderfully landscaped backyard with an abundance of beautiful flowers, comfy seating areas and a fire pit for cool evenings was a most delightful place to enjoy a glass of wine. Whatever you do be sure and take advantage of the exceptional spa experiences - massages and or facials. While we were only an hour from Seattle it felt a world away. My husband, not a man known for strong feelings about accommodations said, "This place is wonderful!"

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Heron Inn on a trip to La Conner a couple of weeks ago. We were welcomed as if we were long-lost friends. We learned that the Inn has been recently re-opened by new management. Our room was impeccably clean and the breakfast was delicious. A great place to land. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

This was a "layover" place on our way to Orcas Island, but after being here, we both agreed that we would make this place our main destination! We were lucky to come the day of their grand opening and got to meet many of the locals. Kate & Al, the owners, are exceptional in their warmth & hospitality! The place is clean, homey & has wonderful character! Another big plus was that we could bring our new little pup along! Before taking off, we had the most delicious breakfast! We will definitely be back and will stay longer the next time we're in La Conner!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Heron Inn & Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heron Inn & Day Spa

Address: 117 Maple Ave, PO Box 724, La Conner, WA 98257
Location: United States > Washington > La Conner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in La Conner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re like us, memories of your favorite bed and breakfast include warm hospitality and quiet luxury. You enjoy being pampered when you travel: exquisite landscapes, comfortable beds, delicious home-cooked breakfasts, and other appreciated amenities. At the same time, you want to feel completely at ease, like you’re a guest in a dear friend’s home.Welcome to The Heron Inn & Day Spa, where your comfort is our pleasure. Our guests enjoy elegant rooms, each with unique decor. We serve a full breakfast, dine alfresco or room service if you prefer. Our day spa is staffed with talented, caring massage therapists and estheticians.Choose a casual queen guest room or suite with a king size bed and fireplace, or a queen with a spacious Jacuzzi and fireplace, or a room that allows for extra guests. Every suite has a private bath. Prefer a view of the garden, Mt Baker, or neighboring farmlands? We’ve got that too.If you’re familiar with La Conner, Washington, you already know it is a jewel of a community nestled in Skagit Valley, one of the sweetest natural settings in the Puget Sound (and home of the Skagit Valley Tulip Festival).Whether you’re planning a romantic getaway, an outing with family or friends, a commune with nature, as a guest at The Heron Inn & Day Spa, you are family. Visit us in La Conner, Washington and then — relax! We’ll take care of you ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Heron Inn & Day Hotel La Conner
The Heron Inn And Day Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heron Inn & Day Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Heron Inn & Day Spa to your Saves list