We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Lunch in Kirkland” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Olive You - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Olive You
89 Kirkland Ave, Kirkland, WA 98033-6420
425-250-1555
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $21 - $39
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 98033
Bellevue, WA
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Pleasant Lunch in Kirkland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We spent a pleasant Saturday walking through the many shops and sites in Kirkland, Washington and had an al fresco lunch at Olive You, a Mediterranean style restaurant in a locale with mostly cheap Asian and Mexican restaurants that cater to the young, hip crowd. My wife had the broiled lamb special and I had the Sardinian lamb, both of which were well prepared and well presented. The Sardinian lamb is really osso bucco and cooked to perfection, falling from the bone, and still moist. It was well accompanied by jasmine rice and vegetables at a reasonable price. My one disappointment was that they could have given more attention to herbs and spices. Understandably, this is a personal preference that I have with lamb; I like it with Greek oregano, rosemary, thyme, marjoram, etc..
The restaurant is located adjacent to one of the major parking areas and so there is a lot of vehicle traffic near the outdoor eating area, but it does have a pretty good view of the lake, which is close by. Also the restaurant has a large rotisserie unit on which they had a whole lamb rotating and sending forth tempting aromas to passersby.
Service was average; not their strong suit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    10
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, WA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Last time I was there the service was so bad...and food was average. Just not consistant.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“No breakfast; smaller menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I'm a big fan of Olive You. The last time my wife and I went there, the menu was much smaller than in the past. Originally the menu was so extensive it was hard to choose. And we also found out they are no longer open for breakfast, one of their great meals. Too bad, but it's a sign of the times. Plus this area of Kirkland has always been a challenge for restauranteurs, a challenge exacerbated by the limited amount of parking.

We went to Olive You this time because we had a Groupon for a 4-course meal. It was terrific! I still recommend Olive You!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pretty good setting that deserves more traffic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Went with the wife to use a long ago purchased Groupon dinner "deal".

Place was almost empty a late Saturday evening, but we were nicely greeted by Michael (?) and truly felt welcome. Had a few glasses of wine, salad, cheese plate, lamb shank, and dessert.. Nothing to brag about, but no major complaints either. Service was excellent. Personable but not pushy. Just the right blanance between interest and intrusion.

So this IS a nice place, but I think it might be better as a cocktail bar/lounge than a restaurant when only the section towards Lake Street is open. I could see myself spending an evening "hanging" with friends and having a good time.

I just hope they see enough traffic to "hang in there" and survive the dark days of late winter and early spring. Would be sad to see these (really nice guys) disappear.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Open your doors!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Tried to visit twice on separate occasions and found it closed.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive You also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olive You, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.