We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the food, not the ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Volterra Kirkland

Volterra Kirkland
121 Kirkland Ave., Kirkland, WA
425-202-7201
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Volterra Kirkland is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 234 Restaurants in Kirkland
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Go for the food, not the ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We took advantage of the Dine Around Seattle offer of three courses for $30 and were impressed by the outstanding selections and generous portions. (We've had experiences at other restaurants where portions were meager and choices very limited for the Dine Around special.) We started with the bread salad, nicely seasoned and dressed with an excellent olive oil. For our entrees we had the tender and flavorful lamb osso buco, and the wild boar, with rosy pink slices sitting atop a delectable sauce. We asked our server for a wine recommendation, and his choice was spot-on, adding to our enjoyment of the meal. It was hard to choose, but for dessert we went with the chocolate hazlenut torte and the lemon tart with blueberries--both winners. Like so many restaurants these days, Volterra has a somewhat "industrial" decor--open pipes, concrete floors, etc., and the tables are close together, so you can't help but hear the conversations around you. This is not the place to go for an intimate tete-a-tete. But the food is top-notch, making Volterra well worth a repeat visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    36
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Incredible food, sterile setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I won't go into too much detail about the food, because really, you can't go wrong here. Authentic dishes, well prepared with ingredients of exceptional quality. Try something you're just a little afraid to try. You won't regret it. Service is that just-right balance of attentive but not-too-pushy. I just wish that I wasn't eating such cozy, authentically Tuscan food in a cold, yuppified Eastside steel and glass, too-modern atmosphere. When I return to Volterra, I will choose the Ballard location.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Treat Guests Fairly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Four of us came in during Dine Around Seattle and asked to be seated at a 4-top in the bar area. Normally those tables are available to first come, first served. This particular night they had "reserved" signs on them. When we asked why they said they were expecting a larger than normal amount of diners because of Dine Around Seattle. While agreeing to seat us at one of those tables, we were told we had to be out by 6:30 to make room for "so-called reservations." We had our meal (some from the happy hour menu and some from the dinner menu) and were leaving by 6:30. When we left, bar tables were still open and the dining room was only half full. Instead of catering to guests who "might come," why not treat the guests well who are already there and probably spending as much as any other diners. Don't treat your guests like intruders!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, WA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Definite Special Occasion place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I went to this place for my birthday. This is probably the best restaurant in Kirkland! I cannot use enough superlatives. This place is amazing without being pretentious.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We came in after an event for a late dinner. Although the location itself has no outward perks, the interior offers low lighting, dark woods, and intimate tables. The dishes are good, with some unique and unexpected tasty twists, but not necessarily any better than other Kirkland restaurants. The wine list is nice, with selections at a variety of price points. Good for a group of couples, a mellow girls' night out, or a romantic interlude.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volterra Kirkland also viewed

 

Been to Volterra Kirkland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volterra Kirkland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.