We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic neighborhood diner on Seattle's Eastside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Couzin's Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Couzin's Cafe
12861 NE 85th St, Kirkland, WA 98033-8009
425-822-8803
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 234 Restaurants in Kirkland
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Authentic neighborhood diner on Seattle's Eastside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Terrific little cafe in an unassuming mini-mall setting that serves hearty fare with a smile! Wide variety of breakfast offerings on the menu, with decent coffee and friendly, efficient service. Nothing fancy here - but a great place to sit and eat and chat - esp. good place to bring guests who want an authentic U.S. neighborhood diner experience. Very popular, so expect to wait a bit for a table during rush times.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“High priced for a diner- keep driving”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

This diner is pretty pricey, considering what's NOT included. Interesting variety of waffles and pancakes, but almost nothing on the menu seemed to come with breakfast meat (sausage, bacon or ham). To order this with my blueberry compote French toast (already $9) it would have cost an additional 4.25. A half order of biscuits and gravy (unremarkable) was around $8, $2 less than the full order. I looked around, and not a single diner in sight had ordered the extra sides of meat. To top it off, ordering was slow, and breakfast even slower- over half and hour from getting our order, almost 45 min from arriving. BTW, the "silky" hollandaise is nothing more than gravy with yellow tint.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Bring your appetite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The short walk from our office next door has become a beaten path for our staff. Lunch portions are huge and delivered by smiling servers, many of whom are part of the owner's family. Breakfast is a similar treat...my spouse and I have to share an omelet because neither of us could finish the first time we went.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Neighborhood hole in the wall. Basic fare.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We love small restaurants that develop a character and niche among the food choices in the neighborhood. Couzin's didn't really have a stand-out draw other than being small, local and independent.

Breakfast choices had a few stand-out characters, lunch was very standard.

We went three times so we'd have a chance to compare and contrast.
Last time we visited they got three separate things wrong in our order, and haven't been back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“huge serving and friendly staffs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

My husband found this restaurant from tripadvisor reviews. We decided to give it a try since we don't know the area well enough. It's a small cafe and very cozy. The cafe started to get busy by the time we got there. We waited for only 5 minutes before we got a table. The food was delicious. The ham steak I ordered was very lean and the hash brown was yummy. My children love the pancakes. The staffs are very friendly and we told them that we were out of town folks and found this place through website. The owner was so happy to hear that.:) The coffee was good too.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Couzin's Cafe also viewed

 
 

Been to Couzin's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Couzin's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.