We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but not a five-star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Woodmark Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Woodmark Hotel to your Saves list
Woodmark Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Carillon Point, Kirkland, WA 98033   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$60 Resort Credit
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Kirkland
Bay Area, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nice place, but not a five-star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2007

Checked into the Woodmark and was made to pay a higher rate than I reserved the room at. I did not have the specific documentation at the time to prove my rate, so they would not honor my reserved rate. The front desk personnel were not particularly helpful with the whole matter. (I sent them an email about this with the supporting email reservation confirmation, but have not heard back yet; perhaps it takes them more than 24 hours to respond to an email). I must stay starting off with my first stay on that foot did not set the best tone.

The inside of the room was very nicely decorated and in very good condition and well maintained. The bed, while soft, felt like you were sleeping on a strange incline sloping from the center to the sides. Also, I personally didn't care for the large liquid soap dispensers that are not changed between guests with the cheesy warning of a $25 charge if pilfered; but maybe it's more ecologically friendly than replacing those little shampoo bottles and bars of hand soap all the time.

Reserved a "creekside" room type. The window looked out at some foliage but a big part of the view was the top of the gravel-covered roof of the structure below which was littered with cigarette butts and odd wads of paper. Other than the nit about litter on the roof, this not really a complaint given you can get a similar poor view at any hotel unless you pay extra for a premium view.

Had breakfast at the restaurant downstairs. Service was fine, poached eggs were overdone and cold, everything else was pretty good, and the coffee was very good.

Overall a nice place in a picturesque location, but the attention to detail and service is not as good as I’ve experienced at the top-tier hotels.

  • Liked — Nice Location
  • Disliked — Service Could be Better
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    100
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
69
228
14
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

The property is lovely and the beds are very comfortable. Staff was friendly. There were a two main things that disappointed me about the Woodmark.
1) My shower had not been cleaned before I checked into my room.
2) The gym closes early - at 9 pm - this seems very early when one is traveling for business.
3) Room service menu is very sparse - again - a bit annoying when one is working late and doesn't have dinner options.
While there there were pluses to the Woodmark, I think I'd opt for something that is more business-friendly next time I am in the Kirkland area.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham, Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2007

Wonderful location, nice comfortable room, large bathroom, beautiful view of lake. Only complaint was that we brought our four month old daughter, and the 'crib' that they supplied was a very old, rather haggard looking pack n play, which didn't come with bedding initially. When the bedding was brought to our room, it was a standard sized sheet and blanked (for a queen sized bed!). Obviously that kind of loose bedding would be a safety hazard so we didn't use it. We were able to fashion a crib sheet from a pillow case, and thankfully we had brought a few blankets and used those. We did receive a nice $25 gift card and welcome basket from a local baby shop, although I don't think that had anything to do with the crib bedding since we didn't complain about it. I would stay there again, but would bring our own pack and play!!!

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2007

HIgh quality all around. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family and stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2006

The Woodmark was everything i had hoped for and more. The place was quiet, except for a wedding going on in a tent outside one evening. but it was over by 9pm. the view was spectacular, and the room was so cozy, i never would have guessed i was so close to downtown Seattle. Great extras throughout the room and the hotel. The staff was helpful. My only complaints was the restaurant was pricey, expecially for breakfast. Otherwise a perfect stay all around! I can't wait to return

  • Liked — Amenities, staff, view
  • Disliked — restaurant prices, weddings in courtyard, location to downtown kirkland
  • Tips/Secrets — pay extra for a water view, it is worth every penny
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2006

I spent two weeks in a junior suite at The Woodmark. This is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. Everything was first class and I can't think of anything I would have wanted to be different. The people were incredible - always willing to do whatever you asked or needed. The room was great with twice daily maid service. The food at the hotel was excellent. Absolutely a phenomenal place to stay with beautiful views of Lake Washington. We took advantage of the complimentary boat tour of the lake on the hotel's boat. Only six people on the boat and the captain was great giving us all sorts of interesting pieces of information.

I would highly recommend the Woodmark for any occasion.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — There was no pool or hot tub
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2006

simply wonderful. luxury at a good price.

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodmark Hotel

Address: 1200 Carillon Point, Kirkland, WA 98033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Kirkland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Kirkland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodmark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is found in Kirkland, a little suburb of Lake Washington. It is near a marina, which has restaurants, shops, and a spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Woodmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodmark Hotel Kirkland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodmark Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.