We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping in the City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of KOA Seattle / Tacoma

KOA Seattle / Tacoma
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kent
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
KOA Seattle / Tacoma
Save
You added KOA Seattle / Tacoma to your Saves list
5801 S 212th St, Kent, WA 98032   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Kent
calgary, alberta, canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Camping in the City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Like a lot of the other reviews mention it is pricey and cramped but your also in Seattle and surrounding area which almost by definition when you have the ocean on one side and mountains surrounding it space will be at a premium, but as a jumping off point to explore Seattle it was great. It took us about 35 min to get downtown. Note even parking a F150 is a bit of a challenge in Seatte. Parking spots are made for Smart Cars not Supercabs but with some wiggling we managed to get parked every day. The kids liked the pool, $1 ice cream, and maybe beacuse we were out full days we never heard the traffic even though we were near the front. There are lots of ammenities in the area and I saw a few RV dealers within a ~1km/mile radius. If your there to see the sites of Seattle this is a great place if you plan to site outside your RV and relax there is lots of wilderness elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    7
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
12
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Sites were too small,too close and far too costly! The picnic table was right by neighbours sewer! this place needs to update for proper size of units today! the bathrooms and showers were nice and clean as was the whole campground. Lots of noise from roadway or should I say 4 lane hi way. 24/7. Staff friendly and it is located close to the Flight Museum.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix AZ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at this KOA for our visit to the City of Seattle. The staff was friendly and helpful. The resort had grass and trees in and around the sites. The bathrooms and laundry room were clean and modern. As most KOAs, it too was located next to a busy road and traffic at night was loud and the 18 wheelers traveling the road would make the ground shake. The wifi connection was iffy and not all sites come with cable. I would stay here again in the future when in Seattle but request a site located away from the street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have a 25 ft trailer and the first site we were assigned could barely accommodate our truck, let alone the trailer. So, after paying another $10/night, on top of the $50 we already paid we got a site between two other trailers and we could barely put out our awning without touching the trailer next to us. We wouldn't sit outside anyways because the neighbours sewer hose ran right to our picnic table, an ugly smell and sight on our doorstep. The only sites without a sewer hose at your front door are the end sites. Why not design the sites (like anywhere else) where trailers are parked facing opposite to each other? Two good things are the proximity to the Museum of Flight and a nice park down the road where I could run the dogs. We won't be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souther California
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

As long as you like tight turns, very narrow sites, poor Wifi and Cable, high prices ($60 per night) and sites that are paved with small patio's and the rest of the site is a combination of some gravel, a lot of dirt and a really lot of small wood chips, this is your place. You have to wonder why anyone would put a mixture of wood chips and dirt in an area that rains over 50% of the time, very messy. Staff is friendly. Don't have a dog so I did not pay extra. Did not use restrooms are showers. Would not be back and not allow friends to stay until things improve.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Camped here for 2 nights. It is an hour by bus to city centre after a 10 minute walk from site. Nice pool and nice surrounds. Naively thought it was within shorter distance to city centre, but you won't get much closer to a city when camping.

Good bathroom and kitchen facilities, in fact the best KOA stayed at over a 3 week period.

Wifi does not cover the full extent of campsite. Very good over all.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We reserved a tent spot but when we arrived we were put in overflow. This area is not suitable for camping, it is basically in the freeway ditch and is super crowded. A street light and illuminated billboard were also adjacent to the overflow area making it bright at night. We booked for 4 nights but left after 1. We barely slept the first night due to the extremily loud road & fear of getting hit by a car if it left the road. We were given only 1 night refund out of 4 nights! We had no fire pit, no picnic table (we had to move a picnic table to our site from a vacant site). Spotty wifi. Campers are crammed in very tightly too. In the RV spots many awnings almost touched the RVs next to them. We were happy to go out further from Seattle and stayed in a very affordable and clean Howard Johnson in Tacoma instead.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to KOA Seattle / Tacoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KOA Seattle / Tacoma

Address: 5801 S 212th St, Kent, WA 98032
Location: United States > Washington > Kent
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KOA Seattle / Tacoma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.