We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Masala Indian Cuisine

Masala Indian Cuisine
3321 W Kennewick Ave, Ste 100, Kennewick, WA 99336
509-737-9999
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 185 Restaurants in Kennewick
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Helena, Montana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The highlight of our trip was the food. Everything we tried was delicious, prepared quickly, and served hot. I have no experience with Indian restaurants, though I do enjoy preparing recipes at home, but my husband assured me that the quality was on par with a good quality Indian restaurants elsewhere.
The value was also excellent, we ordered 2 dinners & an appetizer, and we had plenty of leftovers for lunch the next day.
The wine & beer list was somewhat lacking, but that's to be expected, and didn't put a damper on our visit, it's just something to be noted if you're picky about wines (for instance, the only merlot available at our visit was the Columbia Crest, and there were only about 4 beers on the menu- though they were all Indian, which was nice).
The ambiance was also lacking a bit. It's located in a strip mall & the decor is not very elegant, but don't let that turn you off! I've found that a lack of traditional ambiance can mean that the focus & energy is really on quality food, and we found this to be the case, here.
The service was very friendly, but it seemed they were slightly understaffed. It was a Friday night at peak dinner time, so we were patient, but that was something we think could have been easily improved. It seemed they only had 3 people to serve, expedite and seat people. Not a huge deal if you can be patient, but I wouldn't recommend going on a Friday night if you're in a rush.
We would definitely visit again & would recommend to others. Our hometown has no Indian options, so this was really a treat, and we weren't disappointed by the food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    13
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kennewick, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Had a great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Great food great experience decent price will go back again for sure. I had the buffet they had plenty of dishes to choose from very good food. Next time I'm going to have to take the whole family seems like it would be a good place for a family meal. I went there with my friends and we had a good time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Excellent family friendly atmosphere. Good Indian food and appetizers. Also serves beer and wine. Open for lunch and dinner with lunch buffett. During the recent visit we made a reservation and on arrival we were immediately seated. Service was quick.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, WA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Two thumbs up!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I like this place! Good food and attentive service. A very nice change from the usual Tri-cities "style." I had the lamb vindaloo and it was quite tasty. Definitely recommend that you give this place a try!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I've lived in the Tri-Cities for 3 years and am so glad this placed opened. Basically if you are not familiar with the Tri-Cities, it is typically not very kind to small business owners and Independent restaurants with most people preferring to eat at big, cookie cutter chain restaurants. Example, when I moved here from the Midwest I asked where can I get a good steak..."Outback Steakhouse." How about some good BBQ? "Famous Daves". Seriously? Any way, rant aside Masala has been a hidden gem since opening a little over a year ago. They serve up some of the best Indian food that I have had since I lived in England for a year and as able to enjoy truly authentic Indian. The service is always friendly and attentive. The buffet food is not as good as ordering off the menu but when is it really, and the buffet is kept well stocked, fresh, and warm. Can't recommend this place enough. So happy to finally get a little culture in the Tri-Cities and just wish people would skip there trip to PF Chang's or Appleby's and give something new a try. They won't be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masala Indian Cuisine also viewed

Kennewick, Tri-Cities
Kennewick, Tri-Cities
 
Kennewick, Tri-Cities
Pasco, Tri-Cities
 

Been to Masala Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masala Indian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.