We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clover Island Inn Kennewick

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clover Island Inn Kennewick to your Saves list
Clover Island Inn Kennewick
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   435 Clover Island Drive, Kennewick, WA 99336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Kennewick
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Nice big hotel with a great view of the Columbia River (for $10 extra). Nice people at reception, large clean room. Air conditioner worked great. Pool was packed so took advantage of the Crow's Nest restaurant, good food and great views again. Big hot breakfast in the morning, too. Only negative was pretty thin walls. Could hear the neighbors doing the dirty and then snoring.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LairdCamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Good place if you like being by water; the hotel is located on Clover Island between the Columbia River and a marina. The man-made island has a long bike/walking path with lots of plants, bird-watching and a pretty 'sail bridge' close to the hotel. The hotel itself is perfectly adequate for a couple nights. But when it comes to the reception desk, I've felt more welcome at convenience stores.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Clover Island Inn Kennewick, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi Brenda,
Thanks for being a guest of ours the other day! I read every review, and take them seriously. I am sorry that you didn't feel welcome by our front desk staff. I will share your comments with our Front Office Manager and her staff. One thing that we really try to be is friendly.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

From the shanty look of the weird wooden cribs on the outside of the concrete building, to the moronic 'slippery when wet' ceramic tile entry, to the aged carpets, and finally the backward-plumbed sink in the room that drains slower than molasses in January, this place is old and tired and it shows. TINIEST TVs I've ever seen in a hotel and the non-smoking room is perfumed with an overpowering cover up that smells like mom was trying to hide cigarettes or a worse odor from the in-laws in town unexpectedly. On-site restaurant but no room service, and not even a computer with printer for guest use or wi-fi!! Dumb to have an outdoor-only pool and hot tub overlooked by the entire section of riverside guest rooms too.

They need to pony up some serious capital for this place to even stay in business.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Clover Island Inn Kennewick, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi Heather,
Thank you for staying with us. I just wanted to clarify that we do have a business computer, with a printer, and free Wi-Fi. The wooden slats on the perimeter of the building are to cover the a/c units, and look nautical. The ' slippery when wet ' signs at our tiled entrance were recommended by our attorney. The T.V.s are 26" flat screen, wall mount. Yes, we are an older property, but we try our best to keep it clean, updated as we can, and a great value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I know, I know, Kennewick isn't exactly a primary destination....Hawaii? Kennewick! .... Disneyland? No! Let's go to Kennewick this year! But I must say, kudos to management - the Clover Island Inn knows what they're doing and they do it right.

I had to work this past weekend and obviously something else had filled the usual hotels weeks in advance (I later learned there were baseball tournaments and a squaredance convention in town), but I'm glad because it forced me outside the city's core on Columbia Center Blvd and to the Clover Island Inn. Just think, 'controlled chaos' and follow that up with 'absolutely phenomenal staff'. Every person I encountered was above and beyond - totally! This is a great hotel that a family would have an absolute BLAST at - it has a big outdoor pool that overlooks the river with tons of seating and lounge area, and it's also pet-friendly!

Just watching people checking in with their kids and pets was an adventure! And here again, I commend the front desk staff (I so wish I could remember the woman's name who assisted me because she was amazing.) It was a very busy Friday evening with a nearly filled waiting room and yet when I stepped up to the counter, this woman was totally focused, efficient, and dealt with every query knowledgeably with what appeared to be sincere patience. (And remember, we're talking tons of kids, pet crates, and parents along with everyone else checking in!)

It's a beautiful setting and the nearby Columbia Park is gorgeous - acres and acres of shady areas, bike and walking trails, and room to just get off by oneself.

I was on the (top) fourth floor and the Crow's Nest restaurant was just steps down the hall so decided to partake - plus you get a discount just for being a guest. Again, the customer service was heartwarming - and the food was delicious! Prime rib and lobster was the special which my friend chose, and I ordered the seared Ahi tuna with new red potatoes and sauteed vegetables - just excellent. Watching the sun go down with the river glistening below, having some great chow and a tall glass of beer - what else can I say? Just wish I hadn't had to work the next day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DictionaryDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
197 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is a decent hotel overall and for two nights it served our purpose. We had a suite on the top (4th) floor with a great view of the Columbia passing by, but there was no outside seating area for the room. It was a large room with separate bedroom and a huge bathroom with double sinks and separate shower from the tub. The shower had plenty of water pressure, but the shower head was way to low for me and I'm only 6' tall. The room was very clean and the sleep quality was fine, other than a lot of train whistles in the middle of the night. The hotel was pretty quiet other than the trains and I know it was full. The room amenities were fine.

The property could use some updating as others have commented on, but it's not in bad shape, just showing its age in places. I found the staff to be very helpful and pleasant. We ate dinner in the Crows Nest restaurant and it was excellent food and service. I probably will have no reason to return to the particular hotel, but if I did I would certainly consider it again and watch the "Columbia Roll On."

Room Tip: Any room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Major12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Had a fantastic 2 days at the Clover Island Inn in Kennewick...Dishes enjoyed in the Crows Nest were top 5 of all time (my band-mates and myself speak from experience of 2000+ restaurants in our travels). the Hotel is super-quiet with a warm nautical feel, Perks like free bicycles pool and exercise facilities are exemplary.The staff's hospitality is unmatched and Mark the Manager proudly monitors the pulse of the music scene and regularly creates events featuring local and international recording acts. A picturesque view of the Columbia river, cradled by it's beautifully lite cable bridges, offers an irresistible invitation to enjoy romantic and memorable walks along its paths...see you all there again soon!

Room Tip: maybe get one on the Colombia river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The view of the river was very nice and the place was clean. The outdoor pool and hot tub looked very nice but it was too chilly outside for my husband and I to try. Our 13 year old son enjoyed the pool. The hotel is very dated and it's sad because the location is awesome and they could have a gold mine there. The mattress and pillows were not comfortable. We stayed for two nights and I didn't have a very good sleep on either night. The continental breakfast didn't thrill me or my family. There's nothing wrong with the hotel, but if we come back for another baseball tournament, I'll choose a different hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jane850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennewick
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Kennewick at Southridge
3.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kennewick
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tri-Cities/Kennewick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Kennewick
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kennewick Inn
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Richland / Tri-Cities
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clover Island Inn Kennewick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clover Island Inn Kennewick

Address: 435 Clover Island Drive, Kennewick, WA 99336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tri-Cities > Kennewick
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Kennewick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clover Island Inn Kennewick 2.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Clover Island Inn Kennewick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clover Island Inn Kennewick Hotel Kennewick
Clover Island Hotel Kennewick
Clover Island Kennewick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing