We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neglected Dog & Rude Staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of GuestHouse Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added GuestHouse Inn & Suites to your Saves list
GuestHouse Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5616 Clearwater Ave, Kennewick, WA 99336 (Formerly Best Value Clearwater Inn)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Kennewick
Hood River, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Neglected Dog & Rude Staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The room was a great, ample size, although curtains were broken. Two big downsides, however:
1) The night manager apparently keeps her dog, Max, confined in a boarded up outdoor, kennel right on the property, right next to our room. And she did so while being out of town all Labor Day weekend. Dogs don't have much legal protection (all that's required is shelter, food and water), but poor Max didn't have water throughout the two days we were there and checked on him -- despite temperatures in the mid-90s. Not surprisingly, he barked a lot at night out of loneliness (dogs ARE social animals!) and boredom (they DO need exercise and mental stimulation). I had to call the front desk twice to express my concern for his welfare and hint that Animal Control could be called.
2) some maid supervisor with an inflated ego and no apparent customer service skills came to our door 5 minutes after checkout time (11:05 a.m.) on Labor Day, rapped loudly on our door with a metal ring, and announced brusquely that it was past checkout time. When my husband attempted to convey our dismay at her rudeness a few minutes later at the front desk during checkout, she was unapologetic.
We travel a lot, and we've never encountered a hotel or motel with such a rigid and discourteous adherence to checkout time. A hotel is not a military institution. It's there to provide rest, relaxation and hospitality to paying guests.

Room Tip: Stay away from the Northeast corner of the building, where they confine and neglect the poor dog who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie P, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feelings and concerns. Please accept my sincere apology that your stay was less than what you had hoped. Please feel free to contact me at guesthousekennewick@hotmail.com We do strive to make every guests experience a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    19
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
9
10
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nampa, Idaho
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I was very impressed with the Manager Debbie Pierce. The weekend that my Husband & I was planning to stay at the Inn it was booked solid. We try to stay at the Guesthouse every year when we have our Jehovah"s Witness Convention in Kennewick. I have extreme allergies to smoking & pets, so it is very hard for me to stay in rooms that pets or smokers have been in. Debbie took the time out off her busy schedule to rearrange the room schedule to get me in a different room then the one planned. I greatly greatly appreciated her help, she went above & beyond to make our stay a enjoyable one. The staff there is also very friendly & helpful. I would definitely try to stay there again next year!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie P, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
I am so glad I was able to help you get the room of your choice! Also glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We will look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I have stayed here on business for 3 nights a week for several weeks now and have stayed in three different rooms during that time. Each time each room was spacious, clean, quiet, and comfortable. The breakfast offerings are more than adequate with something to suit a variety of tastes. This property is well maintained and has very gracious staff. The location is very convenient and is probably no more than 15 minutes away from anywhere you want to go in the Tri-Cities. In addition, I feel safe staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie P, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for the compliment on our property. We love to make all our guests comfortable. We do appreciate our return guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MORENO VALLEY
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
167 hotel reviews
Reviews in 170 cities Reviews in 170 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very big suite with living area including couch and long wet bar. Separating wall make it hard to get AC into bedroom (it was in the high 90s when I was there). Uncomfortable bed, sheets didn't seem to fit, and really bad mattress pad. End table at bed is not at end of bed. Couch is located right in front of AC unit, and it blows directly on you. I finally rearranged the liv area, as I don't like to watch TV from the bed. Flat screen with lots of TV stations. Really solid WIFI. Well insulated walls as I never heard any noise from my neighbors (other than through the door when housekeepers were making noise in the hallways) even though I know the hotel was completely full for at least three days of nice day. Good location near lots of restaurants, grocery store, and about a mile from Columbia Park, good place to walk/run/bike.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie P, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay. We were completely full with a convention group that weekend.
Thank you for sharing your insight on the room. We hope you will stay again with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We only stayed one night when passing through Kennewick. It was a very clean spacious room - more than we expected. The management was friendly and they had a nice breakfast. We also took advantage of the laundry room, a nice feature for travelers. Will stay there again, for sure. For the money, it was a good bargain.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie P, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for the gracious compliment, we will look forward to your return stay and please feel free to let us know how we can help you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Great service Good breakfast, cool drinks and warm cookies! Great rates and modern clean rooms not beat to death! No need to look elsewhere! Wish they had an elevator so my wife could visit me sometimes , but still a great place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie P, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We are glad you had an enjoyable stay. We work hard to provide an enjoyable experience for each guest. We hope to see you next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My stay was great, although I would've had a hard time finding it without my navigation.
Very large, clean room. Friendly young lady at the front desk which was great since i arrived very late. Complementary breakfast was nothing special.
I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie P, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing GuestHouse Inn & Suites for your stay. We are glad our Front Desk made you feel at home and look forward to your next visit. I would be interested in your feed back regarding the Breakfast please email me at guesthousekennewick@hotmail.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GuestHouse Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn & Suites

Address: 5616 Clearwater Ave, Kennewick, WA 99336 (Formerly Best Value Clearwater Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tri-Cities > Kennewick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Kennewick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — GuestHouse Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your GuestHouse Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GuestHouse Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.